Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Rooms have been refurbished with a very cheap mindset. For the price I paid its not worth it.

No one at front desk had to wait 19 minutes for someone to arrive

The hotel was small and the guests were extremely loud. The hotel seemed to be packed full of pets which made for a lot of barking at all hours. Every night cars would drag race in Gandy Blvd. it was extremely loud and hard to sleep.

Checked in on Friday, December 27. There was no hot water. Hot water was not fixed throughout the duration of my stay. I complained three times, and was never offered another room with hot water. It wasn't until my return to Colorado that the manager contacted me and offered a discount when I return, unacceptable.

Very nice accomadations. Staff was very helpful. I would recommend to others.

The staff was especially helpful and pleasant. Also convenient to the airport.

It was great, but they could put a few more towels in the bathroom. Also, why is there no exhaust fan in the bathroom?

Pool was filthy. Parking is terrible and breakfast was limited. No bar or resturaunt. I would look for something else next time but it was convienient for what I was there for.

The place is always very clean and neat. The staff is great and friendly. The breakfast is okay too. Would recommend it over the other places in the area especially the cheaper ones.

In town to visit family in south Tampa and St. Pete. This was a perfect spot! The room was very nice!! We got in very late and the front desk lady was very courteous!! Clean and comfortable. A nice breakfast included. This was a great hotel for the price.

I was traveling with my elderly mother. This is a nice, clean hotel and the staff was very friendly to us.

Great hotel. Owner takes a lot of pride in ensuring everything is well taken care of. Staff was excellent and was always very helpful and friendly during the week I stayed.

Bed was comfy > big positive! Only complaint was the shower. We had requested a handicap assessible room. The shower curtain wasn't long enough, so every shower flooded the bathroom. Management was very attentive and brought extra towels and offered room change. Breakfast was good, also

Very personable, friendly staff. Room was very clean and toothpaste/shampoo samples were a neat touch. Very close to base and not far from downtown (10min drive).

Immediately the room had a moldy stale smell. Nauseating. Had to change rooms because the fleas in the bed were biting me. Was supposed to be pet free room. I would not stay here again.

Staff are friendly. Room is clean and service good. Bit pricy for simple accommodation. Will probably stay again.

The room was clean, the staff was helpful. The air conditioning was not easy to deal with. The breakfast bar left much to be desired.

W Gandy Blvd Tampa FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Tampa Bay
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Sun Bay South within a short walk of Tampa Bay, La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tampa Bay Area-Tampa South is within a few miles (5 km) of other popular sights such as MacDill Air Force Base. This hotel has 54 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free on-the-go breakfast, served each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM.


Rooms

All 54 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Desks are also available.


Property features

At La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tampa Bay Area-Tampa South, guests have access to a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include a computer station, laundry facilities, and a convenience store.

Room options

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Superior)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking (Mobility,Hearing,Shower,1st Floor)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking (Mobility,Hearing,Shower,1st Floor)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tampa Bay Area-Tampa South

Everyone (8) Couples (4) Business (4) Family (9) Other (2)
3
Family

Rooms have been refurbished with a very cheap mindset. For the price I paid its not worth it.

By on Oct 25, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 26, 2021

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways at our always-improving hotel. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the guest experience better than ever before. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

2
Everyone

No one at front desk had to wait 19 minutes for someone to arrive

By on Aug 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 18, 2021

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations and didn't meet your needs. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the future so we can do a better job of satisfying you. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

2
Family

The hotel was small and the guests were extremely loud. The hotel seemed to be packed full of pets which made for a lot of barking at all hours. Every night cars would drag race in Gandy Blvd. it was extremely loud and hard to sleep.

By on Mar 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2021

Dear Guest, We are very sorry to read about the poor experience you had. Please accept our sincere apologies, this is indeed very unfortunate. Rest assured, I fully understand your disappointment and frustration due to the issues you have mentioned. We would like to inform that this is not a regular feature of our hospitality and we will properly check your comments with the team and implement appropriate solutions to please our guest. I hope you do consider us again in the future as we would love the chance to change your impression of our property. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

2
Everyone

By on Oct 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 23, 2020

Hello Guest, Thanks for the stay but sad to see the 2 stars. Please share us what made you dissatisfied so that we can address the same. Your satisfaction is prime to us. Please revert. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

4
Everyone

By on Mar 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for the stay at our hotel and the feedback with 4 stars. I hope you had a satisfactory stay. You can expect a still better experience next time. Visit us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

2
Family with small children Family

Checked in on Friday, December 27. There was no hot water. Hot water was not fixed throughout the duration of my stay. I complained three times, and was never offered another room with hot water. It wasn't until my return to Colorado that the manager contacted me and offered a discount when I return, unacceptable.

By on Jan 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 6, 2020

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing our property. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to us, as they will help us to improve our services and our guest experience even more. We hope that you will visit us again. Sincerely Hotel Manager

4
Everyone

By on Jun 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 27, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable time to leave a rating on your stay at our hotel. If you can think of anything to bring our guest satisfaction score from 4 to 5, please be sure to let us know. We appreciate your business. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

4
Everyone

Very nice accomadations. Staff was very helpful. I would recommend to others.

By on Dec 10, 2018

5
Everyone

The staff was especially helpful and pleasant. Also convenient to the airport.

By , from Alamo, California on Oct 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Tampa Bay Area- Tampa South La Quinta. Our Team looks forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future. It’s our commitment to serve our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations. We will see you soon.

4
Everyone

It was great, but they could put a few more towels in the bathroom. Also, why is there no exhaust fan in the bathroom?

By on Mar 21, 2018

La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tampa Bay Area-Tampa South

4620 W Gandy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33611
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Tampa-Hotels-La-Quinta-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Tampa-Bay-Area-Tampa-South.h910355-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Tampa-Hotels-La-Quinta-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Tampa-Bay-Area-Tampa-South.h910355-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Tampa-Hotels-La-Quinta-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Tampa-Bay-Area-Tampa-South.h910355-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions