Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This is not a kimpton, this is truly a motel. Very off putting. Surrounding area also awful. People staying were off putting - our neighbors when we arrived had their dirty towels on our door, a box of glass bottles and finished liquor on our side, they slammed the door repeatedly as they went drunkenly in and out of their room and smell of weed drifted out. Dogs off leash. This a motel. Do not pay for this and stay here. We left first thing in AM

Amazing place

Cute, funky vibe. Close to downtown Santa Barbara and UC Santa Barbara.

No table in my room. No counter by the sink. Not much room to hang clothes. Ambient music too loud— particularly in the dining room. No breakfast on weekday.. No complimentary coffee on Monday. Staff were positive and helpful.

The property was all decked out in a surfer/60's theme. I wasn't necessarily looking for anything like that, but they did a nice job of pulling it of, including a retro-looking turntable and a few 60's LPs in the room. The one thing I wasn't a fan of is the fully stocked fridge and snacks on the counter, all of which have a hefty price tag (very small water $4, 1L bottle $6, or a couple of candy bars @ $5 each)

bathroom sink smelled of sewer, I did report this and it was fixed. Shower head was broken (water just trickling out) on the last morning we were there. overall very nice place, probably needs a little more upgrading.

Quirky and fun place. Nicely idiosyncratic. Liked the normal Kimpton stuff like happy hour

The property was old, but I could tell they had fixed it up to look nicer. The pool was nice, but there was no jacuzzi. Also, there were no towels to dry off at the pool. The staff was not real attentive to the things I asked for. When I asked about getting a roll-away bed, they never got back to me on my request. I had to contact the office to get my question answered. When I asked for an extra pillow, they again did not get back to me, I had to contact the office again to get my extra pillow. In the bathroom there were no individual bottles of shampoo and conditioner. There were large bottles that everyone had to "share". Also, I did not like the hard wood floors. i guess they put them in, because the hotel is "pet friendly".

It was great. The heater was pretty loud so I didn’t sleep as well as I hoped but it was fine. Overall it was great! I love Kimpton properties. The wine hour and appetizer was delicious.

Older hotel, but the chic vibe made worth the stay.

Great value for the area; excellent staff and pool area.

It’s a motel designed hotel, you have to drive to your room! Breakfast during the week is only very limited and I wouldn’t recommend it at all. Staff is not very helpful and caring. I had mold in my firstborn room, changed it to a room with almost no water pressure, changed again with no difference and no one caring about it. It’s not a „real“ Kimpton and not worth the money. Restaurant closes during the week at 9pm - it’s ridiculous. I’d recommend the Best Western Plus next door or the Hampton Inn if you don’t have to be in that particular area.

Calle Real Goleta CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool
  • 24-hour fitness center

Kimpton Goodland, an IHG Hotel places you within 3 miles (5 km) of popular attractions like Santa Barbara Orchid Estate and University of California, Santa Barbara. This 158-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour gym.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a restaurant, which has pool views and specializes in Californian cuisine, along with a lobby lounge. For your convenience, a local cuisine breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM and on weekends from 8:00 AM to 1:00 PM.


Rooms

The 158 accommodations feature a separate bedroom. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Other standard amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Kimpton Goodland, an IHG Hotel features an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and a meeting room. Free parking is included with your stay. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with luggage storage, concierge services, and securing valuables. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls and litter boxes. Other amenities at this hot springs hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, free use of bicycles, and a terrace.

Room options

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Patio (Courtyard)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, Patio (Courtyard)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Pool View (Upper Floor)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Patio (Courtyard)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Kimpton Goodland, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (22) Couples (4) Family (8) Other (1)
1
Family with small children

This is not a kimpton, this is truly a motel. Very off putting. Surrounding area also awful. People staying were off putting - our neighbors when we arrived had their dirty towels on our door, a box of glass bottles and finished liquor on our side, they slammed the door repeatedly as they went drunkenly in and out of their room and smell of weed drifted out. Dogs off leash. This a motel. Do not pay for this and stay here. We left first thing in AM

By on Jul 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2021

Thank you for choosing The Goodland! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you had to deal with unruly neighbors. We appreciate the feedback and will let the team know about your experience so that we can make improvements.

5
Everyone

Amazing place

By on Jul 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2021

Thank you for choosing The Goodland! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you back soon.

4
Family

Cute, funky vibe. Close to downtown Santa Barbara and UC Santa Barbara.

By on Mar 17, 2021

4
Everyone

By on Feb 17, 2021

4
Everyone

By on Oct 20, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Mar 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2020

I appreciate your positive feedback! We hope to see you again in the future!

5
Everyone

By on Dec 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 6, 2020

We appreciate your positive feedback! Thank you for staying with us!

5
Everyone

By on Dec 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 6, 2020

We appreciate your positive feedback! Thank you for staying with us!

5
Everyone

By on Nov 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 13, 2019

I appreciate your positive feedback! We hope to see you again in the future!

3
Family

No table in my room. No counter by the sink. Not much room to hang clothes. Ambient music too loud— particularly in the dining room. No breakfast on weekday.. No complimentary coffee on Monday. Staff were positive and helpful.

By on Nov 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 20, 2019

I appreciate you taking the time to give us such valuable feedback. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have complimentary coffee 7 days a week starting at 6am on the Weekdays. Please feel free to reach out to us further to discuss your stay.

Kimpton Goodland, an IHG Hotel

5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Goleta-Hotels-Kimpton-Goodland,-an-IHG-Hotel.h21076-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Goleta-Hotels-Kimpton-Goodland,-an-IHG-Hotel.h21076-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Goleta-Hotels-Kimpton-Goodland,-an-IHG-Hotel.h21076-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions