Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Close to the water, but restaurant was not so good. Also, no room heating and so it was cold at night

The view

Hotel room was muggy with poor ventilation. Surfaces were visibly dusty and carpet was not clean. There was poor lighting in the room.

Great location with room facing ocean. But no daily housekeeping service!

The room smelled of stinky feet. $200? Very disappointed.

Our 4-night stay at Spyglass was disappointing. We paid $400 per night for a deluxe two queen bedroom facing the pool. We did lots of research before choosing the motel. It seems most of the good reviews are for the rooms facing the ocean. So if you are choosing more than one night in this hotel, please consider the following facts. - No AC (was a big surprise for us. This is a new thing to check for us). - Can we be noisy at night. Your poolside view is a parking lot view. Any car/truck coming and going in the night will cause you disturbance. facing the front door was a gas station. - Balcony doors are thin and not secure - No Housekeeping in the name of Covid shortage - Deluxe means with balcony. Orbitz writes recently renovated for Deluxe. - Furniture was really old and out of place - If you peak behind the bulky TV stand, you may leave the room right away - No proper electric plugs or place to plug your coffee or notebook - Untrained hospitality staff in the morning hours Things we like: - Next door restaurant with the same name is good - place is in a great neighborhood and next to the ocean. - evening staff were good If you are paying $150 for this place, you were paying too much. Suggestion to the hotel/Pacifica management: We have stayed 2-3 places of your chain. The same issue with all. You need to invest in your property.

Amazing hotel right in the edge of the coast. Comfy. Gorgeous rooms. Need AC though. Otherwise absolutely perfect.

It was bit quiet Lots of spider webs on the balcony and no beach access

The hotel website is much nicer than the hotel rooms itself. The carpet is damp - should be removed. The furniture is old, the refrigerator makes a lot of noise. I did not have time to enjoy the pool so I can’t comment on that. The view and location is amazing, but for $700 a night I expect more.

The location of this property was amazing. Close to Pismo Pier, Avila, SLO. The path behind the hotel is so nice and the views are fantastic. We upgraded to an ocean view room and it really was worth it. The hotel itself is a little run down and doesn't feel very fresh. Might need new pillows, and new carpeting. The pool in the parking lot was good for the kids, and the temps were nice and warm. Complimentary coffee in the morning was a nice touch. Overall would stay again but the hotels next to this one seemed little nicer.

Check-in was quick and easy. We spent 5 days and stayed in room 126. Nice large, clean room with a fireplace. Nice size patio with a beautiful view. This is our second stay at the Spyglass Inn and it was definitely worth it. We like staying on the first floor because of the direct access to the fire pits.

Fantastic views from the 'view rooms'.

This is the first huge miss for Orbitz. This is a redecorated motel. And so over priced! The photos are misleading. Example- that pool photo shows a fence around it but not the fact that the pool and fence is in the middle of the parking lot. The staff was not trained well enough to change our room and when we called for shampoo as there wasn’t any, the staff said she would bring some right up, but never showed. Sooo over priced!!!

It was so beautiful the location short walk to the cliffs to the beach. They were so kind to put my two rooms that rent it together next to each other the restaurant the spyglass restaurant was a short walking distance from the hotel with beautiful ocean view the food was fantastic taste so good our bedroom beautiful and large two queen-size beds so comfy . Will definitely come back again will do again

Bad: do NOT stay on the first floor. We did and you could hear every movement the people upstairs were making. Good: Property was very nice and close to the beach, which is what we wanted.

Room not ready. property needs repair. Bathrooms old. Great view.

Spyglass Dr Pismo Beach CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in public areas (speed: 25+ Mbps)
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Spyglass Inn places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Avila Hot Springs and Margo Dodd Park. This 82-room, 3-star motel welcomes guests with a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free self parking.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All 82 rooms provide MP3 docks, coffee makers, and free local calls. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers, free toiletries, and bathrobes. Portable fans, ironing boards, and desks are also standard. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests staying at Spyglass Inn enjoy an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a spa tub. There's free parking if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with luggage storage and securing valuables. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and free newspapers.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

King Ocean View, Fireplace

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

2 Queen Partial Ocean View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Spyglass Inn

Everyone (11) Couples (14) Family (26)
4
Family

Close to the water, but restaurant was not so good. Also, no room heating and so it was cold at night

By on Nov 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed our property and apologize that we couldn't earn the perfect 5 star rating, but hope that we can earn it on your next stay with us! Please come visit again soon!

4
Family

The view

By on Nov 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2021

Thank you for your great score! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your overall stay here at the Spyglass Inn and hope that you come and visit us again sometime soon!

2
Family

Hotel room was muggy with poor ventilation. Surfaces were visibly dusty and carpet was not clean. There was poor lighting in the room.

By on Nov 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2021

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! We are sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations (or ours!) and we can assure you that this comment will be shared with the appropriate department to ensure that we do everything we can to make your next stay with us a brilliant one.

4
Family

Great location with room facing ocean. But no daily housekeeping service!

By on Sep 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2021

Thank you so much for your review! We apologize for not automatically doing stayover service yet, however, if you request stayover service, we would be more than happy to give you housekeeping stayover service. We are working to navigate around the safety of our guests and employees, along with providing the best customer service we can offer during this time. We do hope that you come and visit us again soon!

2
Business Business

The room smelled of stinky feet. $200? Very disappointed.

By on Sep 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2021

Thank you so much for your review Elizabeth. We are so sorry that you experienced an issue with your stay. We would love to know more about your concerns so we can further address them. Please reach out to the hotel so we can take a deeper dive into what went wrong. We hope that you consider giving us another shot next time you return to the area.

2
Family with small children

Our 4-night stay at Spyglass was disappointing. We paid $400 per night for a deluxe two queen bedroom facing the pool. We did lots of research before choosing the motel. It seems most of the good reviews are for the rooms facing the ocean. So if you are choosing more than one night in this hotel, please consider the following facts. - No AC (was a big surprise for us. This is a new thing to check for us). - Can we be noisy at night. Your poolside view is a parking lot view. Any car/truck coming and going in the night will cause you disturbance. facing the front door was a gas station. - Balcony doors are thin and not secure - No Housekeeping in the name of Covid shortage - Deluxe means with balcony. Orbitz writes recently renovated for Deluxe. - Furniture was really old and out of place - If you peak behind the bulky TV stand, you may leave the room right away - No proper electric plugs or place to plug your coffee or notebook - Untrained hospitality staff in the morning hours Things we like: - Next door restaurant with the same name is good - place is in a great neighborhood and next to the ocean. - evening staff were good If you are paying $150 for this place, you were paying too much. Suggestion to the hotel/Pacifica management: We have stayed 2-3 places of your chain. The same issue with all. You need to invest in your property.

By on Aug 31, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2021

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are so sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations (or ours!). We are always working to improve our guests' experiences and therefore I will share this feedback with the appropriate parties and ensure we work harder for future guest stays. We do hope that you will give us another chance next time you are in the area.

5
Family

Amazing hotel right in the edge of the coast. Comfy. Gorgeous rooms. Need AC though. Otherwise absolutely perfect.

By on Aug 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate you staying with us and hope to have you back again soon!

4
Partner Couples

It was bit quiet Lots of spider webs on the balcony and no beach access

By on Aug 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 22, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am sorry to hear you didn't make it to our nearby beach! There is beach access within a 10 minute walk from the hotel and we have a pathway that leads you directly to the sand. I hope that you can visit us again soon!

3
Family

The hotel website is much nicer than the hotel rooms itself. The carpet is damp - should be removed. The furniture is old, the refrigerator makes a lot of noise. I did not have time to enjoy the pool so I can’t comment on that. The view and location is amazing, but for $700 a night I expect more.

By on Aug 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2021

Thank you so much for your review! We understand that these issues can be frustrating but we will continue to work to improve them for future guests. We do hope that you come to stay with us again next time you are in the area!

4
Everyone

By on Jul 28, 2021

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Pismo-Beach-Hotels-Spyglass-Inn.h41235-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Pismo-Beach-Hotels-Spyglass-Inn.h41235-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Pismo-Beach-Hotels-Spyglass-Inn.h41235-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions