Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Towels not clean

Staff was great…

I didnt like that I reserved 2 rooms and they didn't have them when we got there. They'll do that to me...once.

Terrific last-minute booking for us. Beautiful property and accommodations! Will definitely return!

Location to cal poly

Nice hotel good looking. I always staying there when i go to Pismo

Helpful staff. Quiet room. Covienient parking. Thats it.

It is nice I would stay again. A bit dated , clean.

The unit above us had some plumbing issues at 3:00am and flooded our bathroom through the light fixtures and AC. Contacted the "Emergency" number posted outside the lobby 4 times and got no response. Multiple calls to contact the manager to resolve the issue went unreturned. Very disappointed in the lack of response to a safety issue for my family. Wont be back!

reasonable location, staff was friendly, but the building itself is just terrible--at least the back section. Carpet was old and moldy, and the overall condition of the building is just really poor. Overall vibe is just as shady as most Motel 6, and at least there they've gone to Pergo wipe-down floors vs. the "how many dead bodies have been here" carpet vibe... really can't recommend this place.

Great location working to town nice stuffgood room have pool

The property was excellent. The rooms are clean, the front desk person was efficient, professional and welcoming. The hot tub was nice. The bed was comfortable, and there were adequate supplies such as TP and clean towels. The breakfast was very good. This is the 4th time I have stayed here for good reason!

The location of the property was great. The staff was attentive when they finally came to the front desk. It took 30 minutes for staff to arrive at the desk for check in. Room are dated and not very clean 3 out of 10. The overall price did not represent the value 190 dollars was too much. The property did not match the Orbitz description. However they were renovating a few rooms, perhaps mine has been in the rotation yet.

The hot tub was super clean, allowing us to really relax and unwind. The staff was cheerfully accommodating about early check in and late checkout and extending our stay. The breakfast buffet is a full breakfast with well cooked (not overcooked) hot eggs and sausage and fresh fruit, as well as the usual continental fare and waffles. Good place to stay.

Room was nice and comfortable after we moved rooms...the first room had a strong cigarette smell so we got another room(which staff was very accomodating) froze for a while in our rooms waiting for staff to help us work the heater in the room...took an hour for a staff to get to our room to help with working the thermostat

Orbitz needs to add a banner to this listing on the website informing travelers that there major construction going on. the property is very noisy. room availability on the first floor is limited due to the construction project. I am very dissatisfied with the level of noise I had to tolerate.

Large bathroom quiet Clean good location Great cookies

Monterey Street San Luis Obispo CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Within a short walk of California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, Sands Inn & Suites is within a mile (2 km) of Fremont Theater. This 70-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Rooms

All 70 rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with digital channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep and bathrooms offer hair dryers. Free local calls, ironing boards, and wardrobes or closets are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Sands Inn & Suites have access to an outdoor pool, a gym, and a spa tub. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with luggage storage and securing valuables. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Sands Inn & Suites

Everyone (17) Couples (7) Family (15)
1
Partner Couples

Towels not clean

By on Oct 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2021

Thank you for your review and comments regarding our towels. I hope that we will impress you with exemplary service during future visits.

5
Friends

Staff was great…

By on Sep 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 29, 2021

We sincerely appreciate your valued business and thank you for taking the time to rate your stay. It was wonderful to have you and we would like to invite you back the next time you are in the area.

1
Everyone

I didnt like that I reserved 2 rooms and they didn't have them when we got there. They'll do that to me...once.

By on Jun 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. The fact that we have failed to meet your full expectations is disappointing and we are determined to work even harder towards ensuring that each guest enjoys a great experience. I hope you will find your expectations to be far surpassed if you ever return to the area, we would like to invite you back for another stay.

5
Friends

Terrific last-minute booking for us. Beautiful property and accommodations! Will definitely return!

By on Jun 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2021

It is really heartwarming to see such a wonderful rating. We truly appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience. We hope you will come back to see us again on your next trip to the area!

4
Partner Couples Family

Location to cal poly

By on Apr 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our location. Guest comments such as yours help us to continuously improve. Thank you for your business.

5
Partner Couples Family

Nice hotel good looking. I always staying there when i go to Pismo

By on Mar 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2021

It was our pleasure to provide you with such a wonderful experience. Please do come see us again very soon!

4
Business Business

Helpful staff. Quiet room. Covienient parking. Thats it.

By on Mar 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2021

Thank you for sharing this experience with us. We truly value you feedback with regards to our staff and your comments about our parking. We hope to see you again in the future.

4
Partner Couples

It is nice I would stay again. A bit dated , clean.

By on Mar 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 5, 2021

Thank you for being a valued guest and for providing us the feedback regarding our hotel. Your voice is so important to us and we hope you'll return so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with a five star experience.

1
Family

The unit above us had some plumbing issues at 3:00am and flooded our bathroom through the light fixtures and AC. Contacted the "Emergency" number posted outside the lobby 4 times and got no response. Multiple calls to contact the manager to resolve the issue went unreturned. Very disappointed in the lack of response to a safety issue for my family. Wont be back!

By , from Bay Area on Oct 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2020

Thank you so much for bringing to our attention the issues that you encountered with our appliance and electronics. Your comfort and convenience is our top priority, as always. We will address the maintenance task right away for the benefit of our future guests, which hopefully will include yourself.

2
Everyone

reasonable location, staff was friendly, but the building itself is just terrible--at least the back section. Carpet was old and moldy, and the overall condition of the building is just really poor. Overall vibe is just as shady as most Motel 6, and at least there they've gone to Pergo wipe-down floors vs. the "how many dead bodies have been here" carpet vibe... really can't recommend this place.

By , from Seattle on Sep 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 10, 2020

Through feedback like yours we are able to address our weaknesses and to improve upon them and we thank you for taking the time to write. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Luis-Obispo-Hotels-Sands-Inn-&-Suites.h2202688-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Luis-Obispo-Hotels-Sands-Inn-&-Suites.h2202688-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Luis-Obispo-Hotels-Sands-Inn-&-Suites.h2202688-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions