Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The staff was ok. No air conditioner at the room. Just a fan. Room was very small. Even though the location is pretty good, there was a lot of noise and homeless in the area.

Very old, dirty, bad smell lingered in the rooms. But staff was friendly.

Very clean and everything is great! Thank you so much I will be back✅

The hotel is old. It does seem to have been upgraded and as such the room is nice but no better than any other room. But there is virtually no lobby, no bell service, no luggage cart, tiny elevator, no services available from the front desk. No AC or heat unit in the room, just a standing fan. Not even the customary box of kleenex in the bathroom. Only one washcloth for 2 people and rough towels. The coffee in the lobby ran out in the morning and no one restocked the cream and sugar. Parking is at a garage 2 blocks up the street which is supposed to be $30/night for guests. We were charged $35/night. Then since we couldn't check our bags after checkout while we attended a game, we took our luggage to the car at the garage only to find that the windows were open and the doors were unlocked. We had to "request" that they lock our car and keep the keys in their office. The location across from the Curran theater is good and Uber picks up 2 doors away. But for the rate, I've had more comfort at a Travelodge for less money. I wont stay there again.

It was very clean and quiet. Nice staff. They were very helpful with directions and suggestions.

Paid for the room with a queen bed, got a full bed instead. Very noisy outside. Old windows even closed doesn’t exclude the noise from the street and San Francisco is the city which never sleeps so all night you hear a lot of noise outside from people, cars, garbage trucks. Location is great everything is in walking distance, a lot of food options.

Close to J P Morgan Conference and related activities.

Very good location to visit many places. Elevator is slow so be patient or use the stairs.

Location is great, room is small and sparse. Staff was very good.

Old hotel. Small rooms, smaller bathrooms. No amenities. People friendly and helpful though. Close to worse crime and drug area of San Francisco in a sanctuary city that ignores its problems

Excellent location, quiet, clean and friendly staff. This was my third JPM stay.

Nice hotel, great walking distance to union square. Very close to restaurants. Nice expierence

Located close to Union Square! Parking nearby for great price!

This is an older hotel and typical "boutique hotel" small rooms, older furniture, tiny closet (with 2 hangers!) but large screen TV. For avg rate+ taxes and fees I got an ok room, great location convenient to Union Square, and most important NO indication of BED Bugs. I found the staff particularly the morning desk attendant to be VERY helpful. For those not familiar with San Francisco hotels in the summer this was a reasonable value. The only complaint I had was that during a shower the water suddenly turned off. A couple of minutes later it came back on. Not sure if this was the fault of the hotel or the city (water pipe construction in the nearby vicinity)

This hotel is in a very convenient area, we use for sleep and shower, is quiet and clean, We love the experience!

Geary St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to SHN Curran Theatre and San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Concierge services
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Downtown San Francisco, Union Square Plaza Hotel is adjacent to SHN Curran Theatre and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like Westfield San Francisco Centre. This 72-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, concierge services, and a 24-hour front desk.


Rooms

Union Square Plaza Hotel's 72 heated rooms provide portable fans, phones, and ironing boards. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Desks are also standard.


Property features

At Union Square Plaza Hotel, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, self parking is USD 45 per day, or you can take advantage of the shuttle from the hotel to the airport (available on request) for USD 16 per person. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours/tickets and luggage storage.

Room options

Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Room

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 Queen Bed (Extended Stay)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Union Square Plaza Hotel

Everyone (13) Couples (4) Business (2) Family (2)
1
Everyone

By on Mar 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2021

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you don't seem to have had the wonderful experience that the vast majority of our guests do. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Best Regards, Customer Care Team

4
Everyone

By on Feb 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 6, 2020

Many thanks for your positive rating – we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our property so much. We hope to host you again successfully in the near future. Best Regards, Customer Care Team

2
Partner Couples

The staff was ok. No air conditioner at the room. Just a fan. Room was very small. Even though the location is pretty good, there was a lot of noise and homeless in the area.

By on Jan 27, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2020

Dear MR, Thank you for reviewing us. We are sorry that you did not really enjoy your experience with us. We apologize if our personnel failed to leave a positive impression on you. Although this has never been the case, we will still have a word with our team to ensure that this does not happen again. Again, we are sorry for the absence of an air conditioner in the room. Given the weather conditions, we do not have this amenity. However, we will definitely pass your feedback in this regard to the management as a future improvement. Also, we are sorry if the room size was not as per your preference. Wish you'd told this to us earlier and we would have tried our best to allot a bigger room to you. Please know that we are always there to assist you with your needs. Thank you for appreciating the location though. Again, we are sorry about the inconvenience you faced as a result of the noise. Next time, you can surely ask our staff for a room change. We hope to be able to serve you more successfully in the future! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team

1
Everyone

Very old, dirty, bad smell lingered in the rooms. But staff was friendly.

By on Jan 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 23, 2020

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to review us. We are sorry if your experience did not meet your expectations. We take cleanliness very seriously. However, we apologize for missing the mark this time. We will definitely ask our housekeeping to be more attentive to this. Again, we are sorry about the issue with smell. Wish you'd told this to us earlier which, in turn, would have enabled us to shift you to a better room. Please know that we are always there to assist you with your needs. We also appreciate your positive comment regarding the staff service. We hope that you will give us a second chance to host you more successfully! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team

5
Everyone

By on Jan 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 22, 2020

Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your exceptional rating. We are glad that we could win your trust and provide you with the best. We hope to enhance this experience even further in the future. We are surely looking forward to your next visit! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team

5
Everyone

By on Dec 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 11, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your exceptional rating. We are glad that we could win your trust and provide you with the best. We hope to enhance this experience even further in the future. We are surely looking forward to your next visit! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team

5
Business Business

Very clean and everything is great! Thank you so much I will be back✅

By on Nov 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your generous rating and response. We are glad that you liked the place and found it immaculate. We also appreciate your kind words regarding the overall experience and are thrilled to learn that you left us immensely satisfied with the service and overall hospitality. We wish you to see you here once more! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team

2
Partner Couples

The hotel is old. It does seem to have been upgraded and as such the room is nice but no better than any other room. But there is virtually no lobby, no bell service, no luggage cart, tiny elevator, no services available from the front desk. No AC or heat unit in the room, just a standing fan. Not even the customary box of kleenex in the bathroom. Only one washcloth for 2 people and rough towels. The coffee in the lobby ran out in the morning and no one restocked the cream and sugar. Parking is at a garage 2 blocks up the street which is supposed to be $30/night for guests. We were charged $35/night. Then since we couldn't check our bags after checkout while we attended a game, we took our luggage to the car at the garage only to find that the windows were open and the doors were unlocked. We had to "request" that they lock our car and keep the keys in their office. The location across from the Curran theater is good and Uber picks up 2 doors away. But for the rate, I've had more comfort at a Travelodge for less money. I wont stay there again.

By on Sep 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 2, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you don't seem to have had the wonderful experience that the vast majority of our guests do. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality.

4
Everyone

By on Jul 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2019

Dear guest, We are delighted to have provided you with suitable accommodation for your trip here. We appreciate your kind rating, and we hope to welcome you back again before long.

4
Family Family

It was very clean and quiet. Nice staff. They were very helpful with directions and suggestions.

By , from Wolf Creek on Jul 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2019

Dear Phenix, We are delighted to have provided you with suitable accommodation for your trip here. We appreciate your kind rating, and we hope to welcome you back again before long.

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Union-Square-Plaza-Hotel.h84522-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-Union-Square-Plaza-Hotel.h84522-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Union-Square-Plaza-Hotel.h84522-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions