Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The picture that is posted in Orbbitz site is not the real picture, the picture show the bed is big, but when we went there the bed was smaller then that you photos show.

Staff’s attitude is not professional. Breakfast was a joke. It was a zipper bag of plain bread.

Did not like location, was not expecting a motel

This is a great, quiet little property not far from San Francisco. Parking is free and Wi-Fi is strong. We had some troubles at check in (they accidentally gave us the wrong room type and then when switched they gave a room that smelled strong of cigarettes, then the third room worked!) I understand mistakes happen and some guests will break the rules, so I'm not stressing and staff were very nice and accommodating. Place is clean, the shower is confusing lol, bed and pillows are comfy. Overall, when I need to travel to the city, I will continue staying here because it's affordable, comfortable, and quiet. I hate the parking/prices in SF and would rather be here.

The property is not like what is advertised. Wall unit heating/AC not working in the first room. Moved to a new room with standing water in the shower and toilet flush problem. Too much noise coming through from other rooms. Housekeeping did a great job and came through every day.

Hotel was clean. Room smelled great but walls very thin. Had some noisy neighbors. I wish the lady at check in smiled more. It takes more muscles to frown than to smile....

Very quaint accomodation. Room was extremely clean and comfortable. Not bad for a short jaunt.

I really wish they had excellent customer service that is the only thing that is affecting this hotels five star review from me

There was a guy upstairs above me making a lot of noise walking around really hard on the floor being rude I asked the lady at the counter if she could do something about it wow that never got done I will not be coming back there for sure

Very nice clean room quiet would be coming back again to stay there very nice lady at the counter

I love The Milwood! It’s not very big. The staff are friendly. Rooms are updated and very current! There’s also a free shuttle that would pick you up and take you to the airport for free! I only availed the going to the airport. Free parking! And I love that they have this glass walls with doors for protection and security yet it doesn’t impede the view of the parking lot and the plants that line the walkway. I will definitely stay again when visiting family!

The bed was pretty good and the room was very clean was well

The property was nothing like the description on the Orbitz site. It is not a 3-star hotel, rather a 2-star motor inn. On the website it calls itself a “boutique” hotel. It is definitely not.

Complimentary breakfast quality was not good. I passed.

Decent hotel for its price. Good breakfast for its class of hotels. On time shuttle service to the airport.

It’s clean and quiet room. The size of the room is not too big but it’s not too small, the design is very efficient. The bed has 4 pillows, they are too high for me, it’s better if they are in different height so i can choose the one I like.

Location , breakfast , clean , fireplace , near Chinese restaurants (“Broadway”) that we did not expect.

El Camino Real Millbrae CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Fitness center

Located 2.3 mi (3.7 km) from The Shops at Tanforan, The Millwood- A Boutique Hotel is within a 10-minute drive of South San Francisco Convention Center. This 34-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is served each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or make new friends at the free daily manager's reception.


Rooms

All 34 rooms feature iPod docks, microwaves, and refrigerators. 45-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Coffee makers, free newspapers, and free local calls are other standard amenities.


Property features

The Millwood- A Boutique Hotel features a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with securing valuables, luggage storage, and tours or tickets. Additional amenities include express check-in, express check-out, and free newspapers.

Room options

Deluxe Suite, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Single Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Single Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Millwood- A Boutique Hotel

Everyone (26) Couples (6) Family (14)
3
Family

The picture that is posted in Orbbitz site is not the real picture, the picture show the bed is big, but when we went there the bed was smaller then that you photos show.

By on Aug 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2021

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like your time with us did not meet your expectations entirely. We apologize for the disappointment you describe with the size of the bed, and we regret any inconvenience caused. Upon receipt of your comments, we checked the photos on Orbitz and found the pictures of the beds to be accurate. Seems like the angle of the photo may have confused you. The description does indicate whether it is a Queen bed, a King bed, or 2 Double beds. We hope this information is helpful, and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back and hope to delight you with a superior experience during your next trip to the area. Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

2
Family with small children

Staff’s attitude is not professional. Breakfast was a joke. It was a zipper bag of plain bread.

By on Jul 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2021

Dear guest, We are sorry to hear that you did not experience the usual level of satisfaction that other guests have with their stays with us. At The Millwood, we generally receive numerous compliments for our professional, friendly, and helpful staff, and we are disappointed to hear that this was not your experience. We will ensure that our staff is aware of your impression and see to it that all of our team members endeavor to make sure that each guest has the positive experience that we aim to provide. We apologize for the disappointment you describe with our breakfast offering. Due to the pandemic, we are currently providing a grab-n-go breakfast option to ensure a healthy, safe breakfast experience for our guests. We regret the inconvenience caused, and we appreciate the opportunity to improve future guest satisfaction. It is disappointing if a guest leaves with less than first-rate experience - this is very unlike us. We hope for a chance to redeem ourselves with you and delight you with the top-notch stay that the vast majority of our guests usually have with us. Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

2
Everyone

Did not like location, was not expecting a motel

By on May 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing to us about your recent stay. We're extremely sorry to hear that you did not have a quality experience at our property. We regret the inconvenience caused to you! We will surely work hard to enhance your next experience. We hope that you will give us another chance! Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

5
Family

This is a great, quiet little property not far from San Francisco. Parking is free and Wi-Fi is strong. We had some troubles at check in (they accidentally gave us the wrong room type and then when switched they gave a room that smelled strong of cigarettes, then the third room worked!) I understand mistakes happen and some guests will break the rules, so I'm not stressing and staff were very nice and accommodating. Place is clean, the shower is confusing lol, bed and pillows are comfy. Overall, when I need to travel to the city, I will continue staying here because it's affordable, comfortable, and quiet. I hate the parking/prices in SF and would rather be here.

By on Mar 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2021

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and we truly value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We are glad that you found our property clean, quiet, and affordable, the bed and pillows comfortable, and the staff accommodating, and it's nice to read that our WIFI signal strength and complimentary parking facility suited you. We apologize for the fact that you had to change rooms thrice and we deeply regret the inconvenience caused. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, as this allows us the opportunity to improve future guest satisfaction. We are happy to know that we remain your accommodation of choice here for future visits, despite this issue, and we look forward to having you back soon and hope to make the next stay just perfect for you. Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

2
Partner Couples Family

The property is not like what is advertised. Wall unit heating/AC not working in the first room. Moved to a new room with standing water in the shower and toilet flush problem. Too much noise coming through from other rooms. Housekeeping did a great job and came through every day.

By on Dec 31, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2021

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words for our daily housekeeping service. At Millwood Inn and Suites, our aim is to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like your time with us did not meet your expectations entirely. Please know that the maintenance conditions that you describe are an exception to our guest commitment, and we sincerely apologize for any failure in delivering on our commitment to provide you with a clean, comfortable, and pleasant place to stay. We take guest feedback very seriously, and we have forwarded your comments to our maintenance department so that they can take immediate action to address the issues that you have highlighted. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by other guests. We do ask all guests to respect one another and keep the noise level to a minimum, but, unfortunately, not all of our guests abide by all rules. It is disappointing if a guest leaves with less than first-rate experience - this is very unlike us. We know we can do better, and it would be an honor to have a chance to redeem ourselves with you and restore your faith in our facility and hospitality. Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

3
Partner Couples Friends

Hotel was clean. Room smelled great but walls very thin. Had some noisy neighbors. I wish the lady at check in smiled more. It takes more muscles to frown than to smile....

By , from Huntington Beach, ca on Aug 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and letting us know that you found our accommodation clean and the room fresh-smelling. We appreciate it. While it appears from your rating that your overall experience was satisfactory, we really would have wanted you to love your time with us. We apologize for the issue you describe with the walls, and we are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by other guests. We do ask all guests to respect one another and keep the noise level to a minimum, but, unfortunately, not all of our guests abide by our rule. Should you plan another visit, and if there is ever any issue with loud neighbors, just let us know. Our staff will be happy to take care of the issue and request the concerned guests to keep the noise down or to move you to another room to ensure a pleasant stay for you. We have also noted your feedback about our check-in staff, and we will ensure that the concerned team member is fully briefed on your comments and is more conscious of this going forward. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back and hope to delight you with a superior experience during your next trip to the area. Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

4
Family

Very quaint accomodation. Room was extremely clean and comfortable. Not bad for a short jaunt.

By on Aug 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We appreciate it. We are glad that you liked our accommodation and found the room clean and comfortable, and we hope your stay was relaxing and you had easy access to everything you needed. Please do let us know if there is anything that we can do to make the next experience even more enjoyable for you. We look forward to having you back soon for another pleasant stay during your next trip to the area. Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

2
Everyone

By on Jul 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2020

Dear guest, we are so disappointed to read your experience with us. We aim to provide a top-notch stay for all our guests, so we sincerely apologize that we did not achieve that goal on your visit. We hope that you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Please do feel free to connect if there is anything we can do to help. Thanks again. Best Regards, Customer Care Team

2
Everyone

I really wish they had excellent customer service that is the only thing that is affecting this hotels five star review from me

By on May 27, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not achieve our goal on this occasion. At Millwood Inn and Suites, we pride ourselves on our exemplary service, and we are sorry to read that the level of service that you received did not quite meet your expectations. This is not the usual feedback that we get, and we apologize if our hospitality or attention to detail left something to be desired in this case. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and we have taken your feedback on board for the betterment of the guest experience. We will also ensure that our staff is fully briefed on your comments, and see to it that we provide better customer service moving forward. It is disappointing if a guest leaves with less than first-rate experience - this is very unlike us. We sincerely hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves with you and restore your faith in our hospitality and service. Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

3
Everyone

There was a guy upstairs above me making a lot of noise walking around really hard on the floor being rude I asked the lady at the counter if she could do something about it wow that never got done I will not be coming back there for sure

By , from Modesto on Apr 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like your time with us did not meet your expectations entirely. We apologize for the noise issues that you encountered during your visit, and we are sorry that our staff was not proactive in shifting you to a more peaceful room to ensure a pleasant stay for you. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and we have taken your feedback on board for the betterment of the guest experience. We are saddened to read that you feel you wouldn't stay with us again. We are sure that you would not have the same experience on another occasion, and we hope you would reconsider. We know we can do better, and it would be an honor to have another chance to change your perception and delight you with the top-notch stay that the vast majority of our guests usually have with us. Kind Regards, Vijay Patel General Manager

The Millwood- A Boutique Hotel

1375 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-The-Millwood--A-Boutique-Hotel.h181120-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-The-Millwood--A-Boutique-Hotel.h181120-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-The-Millwood--A-Boutique-Hotel.h181120-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions