Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Management was very friendly and showed us best walking directions to our destination. We also left an item behind in our room and they were very helpful.

Being in the heart of the city, the street noise would have been loud. But they thoughtfully provided earplugs for us and that blocked the noise very well. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the location was very convenient to the Orpheum Theater, as well as dozens of restaurants.

Nice room good price good location everything was good

Parking was an issue. The spots were tight and no obvious signage. it was not clear upon booking that parking was an extra $25 per day. There are garages that are cheaper nearby. The room seemed newly remodeled and was nice, though some things like fixtures were janky and the shower was funky. I don't think I'd stay here again unless I didn't have an alternative.

The temperature was awesome. The people were nice. The room was big. I lobed it. The lady in the front desk was very nice and informative

It’s convenient, staff was polite but just the homeless was just to much. Stayed two nights and for the price it was good.

Great service and friendly staff clean rooms close to train station

Good room for a one night stay. Parking is $25. Room was clean and staff was friendly.

I found part of a condom wrapper on the bed when I checked in. Otherwise, the room looked clean. The TV didn't work. The hair dryer didn't work. Otherwise the room was ok. I am very familiar with SF, so it didn't bother me that it's sort of a sketchy area (a lot of crazies wandering and hanging out on the street, a lot of homeless, noisy street, filthy sidewalks, etc.) but I definitely wouldn't recommend this area for anyone who's unfamiliar with SF or not used to the ugliness of a big city.

Tia, front desk woman at the hotel is a very, very helpful, kind, warm person. Bought a 3 day pass for city transportation, took the cable car to China Town and the trolly to Fishermen Wharf.

The staff was very friendly. The location was near enough to where my conference was being held but far away enough that I could find reasonably priced places to eat. The internet worked well. I noticed that a number of people complained about smelling Indian food when they checked in, but I only noticed this in the front office and it smelled delicious.

Really disappointing experience despite the efficiency of the clerk. It’s just run-down and unkempt. The only redeeming freatures were the availability of parking, the hotel’s proximity to the Orpheum Theatre, and the grocery selling beer just a few doors down the street. The homeless population and the smell of urine permeating the sidewalks were all par for the course. Nothing the hotel could do about it but, just pack-and-parcel for the overall stay... Housekeeping was sweet and I really appreciated the complimentary Wall Street Journals!

Excellent place to stay. The staff was very kind and the room was clean.

I wish there were breakfast but it is a good hotel, many restaurants all around

The location fo this hotel is terrible, in the center of SF's homeless epidemic, very noisy as it is on a busy intersection with car and trucks going all night. The hotel family (this is a family operation) were not unfriendly and were helpful but because of the context this place is dangerous and scary....

Hotel was in a bad neighborhood, with a lot of homeless hanging out immediately in the hotel area. When I checked-in they were still preparing my room. Then, on one of the nights, they did not clean my room.

SOMA is ran by a nice and friendly family, SF is a busy city, it was nice to park the car and walk or Muni everywhere I needed to go. Yes there is homeless as with most big cities now days, They are harmless. I think the location of the liquor Store across the street dose kinda keep them around the hotel. I felt having key access locks on the doors to the room floors made the hotel a bit safer. Nothing fancy, but the room work for me and was on budget for my visit. Housekeeping was friendly and helpful too!

If you are comfortable being in an urban environment this is a great price and location for the City. We used all public transportation, 5 minute walk to BART and MUNI station with luggage. On the bus line. If you are not used to folks who live on the street look elsewhere. We returned late at night and never felt unsafe but we are used to urban settings. Staff was attentive and helpful. Room was large and had a microwave and small fridge.

I was pleased upgrades were done to the rooms, updated bathrooms etc. The place looks like the photos, all rooms look into a central courtyard/parking lot. Some noise from street and people parking. For the money, a good value, rooms very clean and smoke free. For older people use of stairs or clunky elevator could be a nuisance. More broken into cars in the area than I remember, but its kinda the price of living here.

9th St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Bill Graham Civic Auditorium and Orpheum Theater
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Downtown San Francisco, SOMA Park Inn – Civic Center is within a 5-minute walk of popular attractions such as Bill Graham Civic Auditorium and Orpheum Theater. This 34-room hotel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Rooms

All of SOMA Park Inn – Civic Center's 34 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and hair dryers are other standard amenities.


Property features

At SOMA Park Inn – Civic Center, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and free newspapers. Self parking is offered for USD 25 per night. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with luggage storage and securing valuables.

Room options

Double Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 Large Twin Bed, Accessible

1 Large Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for SOMA Park Inn – Civic Center

Everyone (19) Couples (2) Family (4)
5
Family Business Business

Management was very friendly and showed us best walking directions to our destination. We also left an item behind in our room and they were very helpful.

By on Sep 9, 2021

4
Partner Couples

Being in the heart of the city, the street noise would have been loud. But they thoughtfully provided earplugs for us and that blocked the noise very well. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the location was very convenient to the Orpheum Theater, as well as dozens of restaurants.

By on Aug 28, 2019

4
Friends Business Business

Nice room good price good location everything was good

By on Jul 19, 2019

3
Everyone

By on Jul 12, 2019

3
Friends

Parking was an issue. The spots were tight and no obvious signage. it was not clear upon booking that parking was an extra $25 per day. There are garages that are cheaper nearby. The room seemed newly remodeled and was nice, though some things like fixtures were janky and the shower was funky. I don't think I'd stay here again unless I didn't have an alternative.

By on Jun 27, 2019

5
Family

The temperature was awesome. The people were nice. The room was big. I lobed it. The lady in the front desk was very nice and informative

By on Jun 7, 2019

4
Family Family

It’s convenient, staff was polite but just the homeless was just to much. Stayed two nights and for the price it was good.

By on May 30, 2019

5
Partner Couples

Great service and friendly staff clean rooms close to train station

By on May 14, 2019

4
Everyone

Good room for a one night stay. Parking is $25. Room was clean and staff was friendly.

By on Sep 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 10, 2018

Dear KC, We appreciate you to get time to write a good review about soma park inn.we glad to know that you like our staff and find our rooms clean.Thank you for choosing soma park inn for your stay and looking forward to see you again.

3

sketchy area

Everyone

I found part of a condom wrapper on the bed when I checked in. Otherwise, the room looked clean. The TV didn't work. The hair dryer didn't work. Otherwise the room was ok. I am very familiar with SF, so it didn't bother me that it's sort of a sketchy area (a lot of crazies wandering and hanging out on the street, a lot of homeless, noisy street, filthy sidewalks, etc.) but I definitely wouldn't recommend this area for anyone who's unfamiliar with SF or not used to the ugliness of a big city.

By on Aug 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2018

Thank you for taking your time and wriiting a review about soma park inn.I am sorry that you had some trouble connecting to the front desk for issues you had but we had dial guidelines pasted on the phone and it clearly says "press 0" to connect to front desk and also we have 24 hours open front desk office.we are sorry about TV and hair dryer but we regularly check our amenties working conditions and their is no complian from any room so far. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing soma park inn for your stay.

SOMA Park Inn – Civic Center

101 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-SOMA-Park-Inn-–-Civic-Center.h41832-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-SOMA-Park-Inn-–-Civic-Center.h41832-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-SOMA-Park-Inn-–-Civic-Center.h41832-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions