Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Very understated, simple, small, cute. Adorable fireplace. It was perfect for my needs. I love the location because it’s a safe and charming block.

Rude and slow check in, given a loud room even with an empty hotel, and overcharged my credit card for my stay even though I had prepaid fully with Orbitz.

Staff were really nice and helpful! The place is sooooo gorgeous, definitely coming back!

The elevator was awesome. Such an old beautiful building. Staff was great. They offered a complimentary Wine and hors d'oeuvres. The complimentary breakfast was perfect. The location is in a great spot.Knowing that the building is old we expected noises of the city. Price was perfect! Overall very satisfied with everything.

no access to filtered water, had to go next door to get access to a person. Room and bathroom were clean but curtains were dingy yellow dirty. I could see the place has character but needs a refresh. Not worth the hefty price tag per night.

Great breakfast, nice fireplace, friendly staff, nice evening snacks

The place was incredible! They offered great afternoon wine and hors d’oeuvres, along with complimentary luggage service where they keep your luggage safe after you check-out, so that you can return for them at the end of the day. While the building was a bit dated, the noise and facility conditions were both acceptable!

The building has serious old world charm!! We loved it. No AC, but fans are offered and in June, we were chilly at night. The rooms were small but that was expected. The staff was awesome and accommodating. Our housekeeper, Tina, was a doll!

This is one of the most intimate and lovely places you will find in a large city. The staff is superb and the experience similar to being transported to another time and place entirely. The amenities such as breakfast and the reading room (in the White Swan) are lovely, gracious additions to the overall experience. Right now it is under renovation which is taxing for staff and patrons alike. Once it is fully restored this is definitely a destination for the traveler seeking something out of the sterile ordinary. Due to some issues with service interrupted etc we received a discount on our final bill. We stayed 8 days and would do so again since our concerns were handled so professionally and kindly.

Centrally located, and just a steep walk up to Knob Hill, down to Union Square, and five minutes from Chinatown. Great breakfast.

Full access to the white swan and petite auberge. Free breakfast and bottled waters. saved us some money also. Staff were great and very helpful. two blocks from union square.

This was nice hotel that was much more interesting then the normal chain hotels. The rooms were nice but small but I didn't spend time in the room anyway.

Cool place. Great location. Friendly staff. Quite romantic. One minor quibble. The quality of the breakfast is average. Great wine reception. Would recommend the hotel!

Pros: first and foremost, amazing staff! From the front desk to the housekeeping, every single staff that we encountered during our stay was very professional and super friendly. Every time a hotel staff passed by us, they would say hi and ask if there was anything we needed. On our last day, housekeeping grandmother knocked on our door just to say good bye. How amazing is that?! Free bottled water and soda were welcomed refreshments after a long day of sightseeing. Second: great location. Easy walk to Chinatown, little Italy, North Beach, pier and shopping. Con: very small and little outdated hotel. Altho it is very charming, our standard room with queen size bed was very small with an extremely small bathroom, especially the shower. I am 5'3 and medium build and I felt little claustrophobic every time I took a shower. Bed was uncomfortable and there is no air conditioner in the room. I think normally it won't b a problem but it was in the 80's during our stay and the room was very uncomfortable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Great location, beautiful Bed & Breakfast for my program in San Francisco was a working holiday - very nice room with the fireplace samll and very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice, plus afternoon wine and cheese tasting, so nice...perhaps I, we ll have a wine tasting again next time I, we are in San Francisco! : )

I stayed for 2 nights 3 days with my partner and had a great time. The hotel is located in a great spot in downtown, walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in union square. The staff was very very very friendly and helpful! The hotel clean and quiet, really nice for a couples getaway.

Bush St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free local cuisine breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Concierge services
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Downtown San Francisco, Petite Auberge is within a 5-minute walk of sights such as Grace Cathedral and SF Masonic Auditorium. This 26-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and concierge services.


Dining

Free local cuisine breakfast is served on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 8:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All 26 rooms provide safes. 32-inch TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries.


Property features

At Petite Auberge, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, free newspapers, and laundry facilities. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a picnic area, a garden, and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Fireplace

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Fireplace

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Studio Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Petite Auberge

Everyone (10) Couples (23) Business (7) Family (2) Friends (2) Other (3)
4
Everyone

Very understated, simple, small, cute. Adorable fireplace. It was perfect for my needs. I love the location because it’s a safe and charming block.

By on Jun 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 9, 2021

Thank you for your comments. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our special hotel and it's location. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to San Francisco.

1
Partner Couples

Rude and slow check in, given a loud room even with an empty hotel, and overcharged my credit card for my stay even though I had prepaid fully with Orbitz.

By on May 4, 2021

Review comment responded on May 4, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. I really apologize for your stay and would very much like to talk with you if you are able.

5
Family

Staff were really nice and helpful! The place is sooooo gorgeous, definitely coming back!

By on Apr 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 27, 2021

So pleased to receive your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to San Francisco.

5
Everyone

By on Dec 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2020

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us, and we thank you for taking time to submit such a gracious review. We are committed to providing friendly, personalized service to help make the most of each guest's time in our hotel. Safe travels and we all look forward in welcoming you back.

5
Partner Couples

The elevator was awesome. Such an old beautiful building. Staff was great. They offered a complimentary Wine and hors d'oeuvres. The complimentary breakfast was perfect. The location is in a great spot.Knowing that the building is old we expected noises of the city. Price was perfect! Overall very satisfied with everything.

By , from San Leandro, CA on Mar 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 5, 2020

Greetings Anna, Thank you for your kind words! We are elated to hear you had a great time with us. We hope you had a great time exploring San Francisco!

3
Business Business

no access to filtered water, had to go next door to get access to a person. Room and bathroom were clean but curtains were dingy yellow dirty. I could see the place has character but needs a refresh. Not worth the hefty price tag per night.

By on Feb 7, 2020

4
Partner Couples Family

Great breakfast, nice fireplace, friendly staff, nice evening snacks

By on Oct 2, 2019

5
Everyone

By on Sep 24, 2019

5
Partner Couples

The place was incredible! They offered great afternoon wine and hors d’oeuvres, along with complimentary luggage service where they keep your luggage safe after you check-out, so that you can return for them at the end of the day. While the building was a bit dated, the noise and facility conditions were both acceptable!

By on Aug 10, 2019

5
Everyone

By on Jul 18, 2019

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Petite-Auberge.h24970-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-Petite-Auberge.h24970-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Petite-Auberge.h24970-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions