Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I did not like anything. I paid in full my reservation but they kicked me out because I am a black man.

They had to trow out a homeless person who got in the first night I was there. Otherwise the carpet in my room was moldy.

Great position but really dirty. My sheets were linen and the room was super small. Only one bathroom for a lot of people.

NO towels! gygtioy78oy7opphil yufyug g78ony78y78n 67gyuo

The staff is extremely friendly, and helpful. Surab, and David went out of their way to make me feel at home. I would stay there again, because of the excellent staff. The vibes are very positive. I really liked how all of the guests socialized: sharing cooking tips, and food with each other.

I felt like the property could have been cleaner and the restrooms could have used better tools (i.e. a plunger so people could plunge the toilet themselves if clogged). Overall I had a good experience. It's definitely a price point.

Wonderful Staff. Quiet and relatively clean. It has an oddly charming ‘feel’ about it which keeps me coming back when I visit SF!

bathroom was dirty, sheets were dirty, whole floor shared one bathroom.

I was trying to find some hotel in San Francisco for one night, yet all hotels were either very expensive or in a far location to what interested me. This one was relatively close to the Piers and you can take a cable train from there directly to the Pier 39, Pier 33 etc, for $2.25 one way. Its just a little scary on the street this hostel is at, but I comfortably got there. There is no parking, you need to pay for a parking separately somewhere else, if you have a car. I booked only females room, and there were two other girls there already, both very kind and quiet, I would not even know that they are in the room. The only issue is that you don't have your own bathroom, so you need to wait, if its occupied, but for $28 I paid I was very happy with my stay. Everyone were nice and non disturbing, looked like everyone just wanted a cheap place to sleep while visiting, no parties. I slept very good.

Not helpful or polite. Didn't help me with luggage either

The guy at the check in wasn't really friendly. Roommates very friendly. Bed was not comfortable.

The location is good. But the hotel facilities and condition are poor.

Minna Street San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Concierge services
  • Airport shuttle (fees apply)

Located in Downtown San Francisco, European Hostel is within a 10-minute stroll of sights such as Orpheum Theater and Bill Graham Civic Auditorium. This 25-room hostel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, concierge services, and a microwave in a common area.


Rooms

All 25 shared rooms provide safes and ironing boards. Guests can stay connected with free WiFi.


Property features

Guests of European Hostel enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, microwave in a common area, and refrigerator in a common area. Airport transportation is made easy with an airport shuttle for a fee. Front-desk staff can assist with concierge services and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a TV in a common area and an ATM.

Room options

Shared Dormitory, Mixed Dorm (2-Bed)

1 Twin Bunk Bed | Sleeps 1

Room

1 Twin Bunk Bed | Sleeps 2

Room

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Shared Dormitory, Women only (6-Bed)

3 Twin Bunk Beds | Sleeps 1

Guest reviews for European Hostel

Everyone (13)
1
Everyone

I did not like anything. I paid in full my reservation but they kicked me out because I am a black man.

By , from San Francisco on Aug 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. You were escorted out by authorities because of other reasons and it did not have anything to do with race

1
Everyone

By on May 6, 2020

2
Business Business

They had to trow out a homeless person who got in the first night I was there. Otherwise the carpet in my room was moldy.

By on Dec 13, 2019

1
Everyone

Great position but really dirty. My sheets were linen and the room was super small. Only one bathroom for a lot of people.

By , from San Diego on Nov 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2019

Hi, we are sorry for your unpleasant experience. We clean the hostel multiple times but as a policy the guest must clean up the shared space after use so that the other guests should not face the inconvenience as happened with you. We are a no frills budget hostel and provide basic amenities within the minimum rates in this expensive city. Nowhere in the city can you have a place to stay in a cost which is less than the car parking charges. Moreover, we have two bathrooms on each floor except first floor. We will look into the matter about the issues you have mentioned and also expect you to align your desired standards according to the price you are paying for the stay.

2
Everyone

NO towels! gygtioy78oy7opphil yufyug g78ony78y78n 67gyuo

By on Nov 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 3, 2019

Hi, We provide towels upon request free of charge. Generally guests ask for them.

4
Everyone

By on Oct 18, 2019

4
Friends Business Business

The staff is extremely friendly, and helpful. Surab, and David went out of their way to make me feel at home. I would stay there again, because of the excellent staff. The vibes are very positive. I really liked how all of the guests socialized: sharing cooking tips, and food with each other.

By on Aug 31, 2019

4
Business Business

I felt like the property could have been cleaner and the restrooms could have used better tools (i.e. a plunger so people could plunge the toilet themselves if clogged). Overall I had a good experience. It's definitely a price point.

By , from San Francisco on Jun 11, 2019

2
Everyone

By on Feb 16, 2019

4
Everyone

Wonderful Staff. Quiet and relatively clean. It has an oddly charming ‘feel’ about it which keeps me coming back when I visit SF!

By on Feb 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2019

Thank you for staying with us and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the old world charm in our wonderful city

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-European-Hostel.h7807544-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-European-Hostel.h7807544-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-European-Hostel.h7807544-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions