Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The elevator was out of service and my room was on the fifth floor and I had to take the stairs every time. The room is very small and its door did not lock properly. I have to make sure the door is closed or not. Having a sink inside it makes it worse because water splashes out on the floor. The room has a bad smell. The bathroom is shared and very small. There was a window in the bathroom where you can hear sounds that seems like some mice. Finally, the neighborhood is not quite good and there are a lot of people sleeping on the streets and they listen to music all the night.

It was dirty. The carpet throughout the building was crusty like a dog that has never been washed or groomed. They had no pride in their business. The shower was horrible and hot water took over 25 minutes to start up. The shower was not kept. Things were rusty. The bathrooms had no sinks to wash your hands, so you could imagine how dirty the door knobs are. The direct TV only had local channels and HBO. All other channels were locked out. I told the owner but he did not know what to do.

The list of negatives about this hotel is appauling there is not enough space in this sqaure to write the horror novel of experience that I endured during my stay . I travel a lot and have been to LOTS of hotels and this one by FAR HANDS DOWN IS THE WORST .

Centrally locally. Close to everything. Homeless are settle right outside the hotel day and night and they are loud. They did not bother me, but I was kind of scared specially at night. Room was clean and roomy; it a microwave, mini fridge, but it very hot, not AC. Staff was nice.

Great price, and room amenities include mini frig and microwave. There's a secure overnight parking lot for pay behind the building open 24hrs

OMG! I can deal with a not so good hotel, however one that has a dozen homeless people outside of it, 2 crackheads having sex in the lobby and a crack sell going on while on the phone with the Orbitz people is a bit much. Then all you guys could offer was a $25 coupon?! That was insulting.

I like how thick the bedding is I stayed warm all night and the pillows are very soft

I forgot my charger in my room. I called them after I checked out and just asked them to save it for me, or just go to the room and get it. They refused to provide any help. I think they just wanted to take it for themselves.

Lots of homeless people around, streets smell like gross cleaners and feces. The hotel is blocks away from a better area, but still not in great area. The rooms only have sink, you have to share the bathroom and shower with other guests. Shower was disgusting, so dirty. There was even a peep hole so people could see in while you shower.

Good location. Close to CIIS. Great for people coming into the city for only one or a few nights

The price and the quality of the room is unbeatable. My room was clean and linens were changed on a daily basis. The bathrooms and showers were well maintained.. be aware, this is an older San Francisco building from years past So rooms tend to be smaller..street parking is a challenge, but there are many pay lots in the area..

Basic room for the price.. safe neighborhood....great proximity to Chinatown and Little Italy

I was not informed thata there was a 250.00 cash deposit required until I'd already run my card. I WANT A REFUND OR MY LAWYER WILL BE CALLING YOU !

Hotel is in on a bad block with lots of homeless. Cops out arresting people. Noisy guests above us, the staff called the police on at 1am on them. No free parking. You pay $20-30 for parking a few blocks away in a lot. Room was clean with a sink. Shared bathroom was ok and down the hall. There is an elevator.

Do not book here! This place is an absolute dump. We just needed a quick place for the night and thought this place would do, but when we checked into the first room we were given it had not been cleaned. Bed dirty and unmade dirty used towels, a garbage bag left in the room with needles in it and dried vomit on the floor. When we went to complain to the receptionist, she didn't believe us and had to go check for her self. She had us set up in another room that was equally if not more dirty. The bed was a disaster, there was booze and food every where. When we went down to complain again, she offered us a third room which we absolutely declined. We had already paid in full and were refused a refund & we walked away anyways. Do yourselves the favour, and avoid this place.

The hotel was a perfect location to mellow down and just REST. And the receptionis/clerk ( Indian man) was very nice except that he has a daughter who was mean and snobbish when she is at the front desk and a wife who makersd faces and speaks Hindu in front of guest to attend to the needs of the guests. This is unethical and not needed in a business like a hotel Although, the father was very nice.. and the hotel room was clean and moisturized.

The worst thing about this motel is location. You might think it's convenient and close to the city center but the area is swamped with beggars, stoners and feels extremely unsafe at night. The room is tiny and dirty, but for that price is ok.

I stayed in the hotel (with a friend), because it wasn't to expensive for being in san francisco. The location is in the heart of downtown so is very easy to take the bus to go everywhere, but outside are a lot of homeless!! (As we were two girls, we avoid going out at night because of them) The third night there, I left my bag open and I has a chocolate inside (the package was open) in the middle of the night I hear some rare noise and I found the mose in my bag!!!! It was eating the chocolate (or at least the package). I told the guy on the reception, he put a rat trump.. But the next days I'm sure the mouse was still there.. In fact the last day, behind the bed table there was mouse poop. Also you should know you have to share the shower and bathroom (but in my case it wasn't to busy so it wasn't a problem) Also people in the hotel make a lot of noise (maybe because our room was close to the reception..but there was noise almost the whole day) and our room has a window but there was a wall outside the window so it hasn't good ventilation.

6th Street San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Airport shuttle (fees apply)

Located in Downtown San Francisco, Desmond Hotel is adjacent to Warfield Theater and within a 10-minute stroll of Westfield San Francisco Centre. This 28-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a 24-hour front desk.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi. Bathrooms are shared.


Property features

Guests of Desmond Hotel enjoy features like free WiFi in public areas. Airport transportation is made easy with an airport shuttle for a fee. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Standard Room, Shared Bathroom

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed, Shared Bathroom

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Twin Beds, Shared Bathroom

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Desmond Hotel

Everyone (13) Family (1)
2
Business Business

The elevator was out of service and my room was on the fifth floor and I had to take the stairs every time. The room is very small and its door did not lock properly. I have to make sure the door is closed or not. Having a sink inside it makes it worse because water splashes out on the floor. The room has a bad smell. The bathroom is shared and very small. There was a window in the bathroom where you can hear sounds that seems like some mice. Finally, the neighborhood is not quite good and there are a lot of people sleeping on the streets and they listen to music all the night.

By on Feb 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 6, 2020

Dear Guest, We love hearing back from you about your recent stay with us. We always look forward to feedback about how we can make things better for our guests and how we can improve. Your comment about the elevator, room door, and bad odor are noted and we will see to it that our team does a better job maintaining the area moving forward. We will also see what we can do about having some updates soon. Your feedback about the external noise is noted and we will see what we can do about improving. While we don't have full control over what's going on outside the property, we can probably assign a quieter room for you next time and rest assured that we have measures in place to ensure that our guests are safe and secure. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and we hope you consider staying with us again. Best regards, Desmond Hotel Customer Care Team

2
Business Business

It was dirty. The carpet throughout the building was crusty like a dog that has never been washed or groomed. They had no pride in their business. The shower was horrible and hot water took over 25 minutes to start up. The shower was not kept. Things were rusty. The bathrooms had no sinks to wash your hands, so you could imagine how dirty the door knobs are. The direct TV only had local channels and HBO. All other channels were locked out. I told the owner but he did not know what to do.

By on Nov 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 25, 2019

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments - thank you for taking the time to leave us with feedback about your recent visit. It's unfortunate that you did not experience the usual level of satisfaction that other guests have but we love that you have pointed out the things that we can improve on. Your concern about cleanliness is noted and we will see to it that our team does a better job preparing the rooms. We will also see what we can do about having some updates soon. Your concern about the TV channels is also noted and we will see what we can do about this matter. We hope you consider staying with us again soon. Best regards, Desmond Hotel Customer Care Team

1
Family

The list of negatives about this hotel is appauling there is not enough space in this sqaure to write the horror novel of experience that I endured during my stay . I travel a lot and have been to LOTS of hotels and this one by FAR HANDS DOWN IS THE WORST .

By on Aug 23, 2019

2
Friends

Centrally locally. Close to everything. Homeless are settle right outside the hotel day and night and they are loud. They did not bother me, but I was kind of scared specially at night. Room was clean and roomy; it a microwave, mini fridge, but it very hot, not AC. Staff was nice.

By on Aug 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 19, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you don't seem to have had the wonderful experience that the vast majority of our guests do. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality.

4
Business Business

Great price, and room amenities include mini frig and microwave. There's a secure overnight parking lot for pay behind the building open 24hrs

By on Jun 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2019

Dear Ed, Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that you had a great stay, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

3
Everyone

By on May 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you don't seem to have had the wonderful experience that the vast majority of our guests do, but we hope to have an opportunity to change your impression of our property on a future stay. Best regards, Desmond Hotel Customer Care Team

1
Everyone

OMG! I can deal with a not so good hotel, however one that has a dozen homeless people outside of it, 2 crackheads having sex in the lobby and a crack sell going on while on the phone with the Orbitz people is a bit much. Then all you guys could offer was a $25 coupon?! That was insulting.

By on Mar 19, 2019

5
Business Business

I like how thick the bedding is I stayed warm all night and the pillows are very soft

By on Feb 28, 2019

1
Everyone

I forgot my charger in my room. I called them after I checked out and just asked them to save it for me, or just go to the room and get it. They refused to provide any help. I think they just wanted to take it for themselves.

By on Feb 14, 2019

2
Everyone

Lots of homeless people around, streets smell like gross cleaners and feces. The hotel is blocks away from a better area, but still not in great area. The rooms only have sink, you have to share the bathroom and shower with other guests. Shower was disgusting, so dirty. There was even a peep hole so people could see in while you shower.

By , from Texas on Nov 2, 2018

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Desmond-Hotel.h11275483-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-Desmond-Hotel.h11275483-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Desmond-Hotel.h11275483-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions