Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I stayed at the Iris Hotel maybe a year ago it wasn’t as bad as this trip. My TV didn’t work properly, my bathroom tub had a very slow drain and you don’t get maid service I was told afterwards when I ask why my room wasn’t cleaned I was told due to COVID-19 someone should have told me this at check in. Now I know why it took so long to come stay again. Nice looking hotel but the service is horrible!!!!

Alright for the money but the property is in need of repairs overall and specifically in the rooms.

Unique, the weed smell at the front desk when I checked in, never experienced that before 😡. Dirty, smells, NO towels, one hand towel, not worth a fight to call the front desk, electric outlets loose, hard to charge your phones, kept waking up the AC made an awful noise, worst experience ever. Never going back, will NOT recommend!

It was a nice place. But the towels and linens were stained. Washed but stained. Hot tub broken and laundry broken.

Towels were stained. No refrigerator even though they say they have it wasn’t even mentioned that the room wouldn’t have it. No shampoo or conditioner

Did not like anything the place had no towels upon check in. Then when we got them they were terrible and not enough to accomadate my family .

The towels we received were stained, the first room we were given had a broken refrigerator and once we went to bring it up they told us they were not suppose to even give us that room, that was 4 hours after we checked in. Couldnt they have come said something before we unpacked? The coffee cups also leaked, 3 out of 4 of them. Just a sad state, we used to come stay here every year for a Trade Show and next year I will not

Easy to book. Carpets were dirty, bed wasn’t comfortable enough. Good enough to spend the night.

When we checked in there was no towels in the room, the smoke alarm was covered, the tv wasn’t working and the carpet was dirty.

It’s a decent stay, there’s a lot of improvements that can take place. There was no ice machine available to my knowledge on the property. There was no telephone in the room to contact the front desk if needed. In the room there were 2 bath towels and one rag and the rag was dirty. On 4 different occasions there was someone forcing a flyer through my door which woke me up on 2 different occasions. It’s not the worst hotel I’ve stayed in but there are a few simple changes that can be done to improve the quality of the stay.

Great clean newer property. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Nice and clean hotel room. Staff was very friendly.

front desk staff was very nice. There towels in the room had to go ask at the front desk. The next day after the room was cleaned we had only one towel very upsetting.

Rooms were big and clean. I like the art deco design. Big TV. Beds could be better. Convenient to get to freeway.

There was no hair dryer in the room, and one of our outlets did not work. One of the EV charger was broken so there was only 1 useable charger. Staff was very friendly and the room was visibly clean

I enjoyed the stay ! Clean room everyday , there was no breakfast in the morning but other than it the property was amazing !

Hotel Cir S San Diego CA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Hotel Circle
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Mission Valley, Hotel Iris - San Diego is adjacent to Hotel Circle and within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights like Fashion Valley Mall. This 79-room hotel has in-room conveniences like microwaves, coffee makers, and LCD TVs.


Rooms

Hotel Iris - San Diego's 79 rooms provide microwaves, coffee makers, and phones. Guests can expect free WiFi and 50-inch LCD TVs with cable channels. Other standard amenities include ironing boards and free toiletries.


Property features

Renovated in 2015, Hotel Iris - San Diego offers an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. Extended parking is available for a fee. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with tours/tickets and luggage storage. Additional amenities include laundry facilities and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel Iris - San Diego

Everyone (33) Couples (10) Family (8)
1
Everyone

I stayed at the Iris Hotel maybe a year ago it wasn’t as bad as this trip. My TV didn’t work properly, my bathroom tub had a very slow drain and you don’t get maid service I was told afterwards when I ask why my room wasn’t cleaned I was told due to COVID-19 someone should have told me this at check in. Now I know why it took so long to come stay again. Nice looking hotel but the service is horrible!!!!

By on Jul 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2021

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We greatly value your continued loyalty as a returning guest and apologize wholeheartedly for your unsatisfactory experience. As you mentioned, housekeeping services are currently limited during these uncertain times, and we'll make sure our front desk attendants are relaying this information to guests during check-in. Our maintenance team is also glad to address any repair issues when notified. It saddens us that this detracted from your enjoyment of our attractive property. We welcome your input and hope for a chance to deliver a better stay in the future.

3
Partner Couples

Alright for the money but the property is in need of repairs overall and specifically in the rooms.

By on Jul 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2021

Thank you for the feedback concerning our property. All guests' comments are highly valued and yours will be shared with our team as we work towards continuously improving guest accommodations. Given the opportunity, we would like to host you again when you are visiting San Diego.

1
Family with small children

Unique, the weed smell at the front desk when I checked in, never experienced that before 😡. Dirty, smells, NO towels, one hand towel, not worth a fight to call the front desk, electric outlets loose, hard to charge your phones, kept waking up the AC made an awful noise, worst experience ever. Never going back, will NOT recommend!

By on Jul 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2021

The concerns you raise are of great importance to us, so please accept our apologies if we fell short for you this time around. We do not allow smoking on our property so we'll be sure to address this matter, along with the other ones you've addressed, with our team so we can ensure we learn from this. We can do so much better than this, so it's our hope you'll consider revisiting us to prove it to you.

4
Partner Couples

It was a nice place. But the towels and linens were stained. Washed but stained. Hot tub broken and laundry broken.

By on Jun 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2021

We always appreciate feedback from our guests, and we're happy to see aspects of your stay were pleasant. However, we apologize for any issues with the linens and onsite amenities. We'll look into your comments further, and we invite you to stay with us again should you be back in the area.

2
Everyone

By on May 4, 2021

2
Family Business Business

Towels were stained. No refrigerator even though they say they have it wasn’t even mentioned that the room wouldn’t have it. No shampoo or conditioner

By on Mar 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2020

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback from your recent stay. Our apologies that the room amenities did not meet your needs. We do have kitchen suites that are available upon request. We hope you will consider visiting us again, as we'd love a chance to improve your experience.

1
Family

Did not like anything the place had no towels upon check in. Then when we got them they were terrible and not enough to accomadate my family .

By on Mar 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that we fell short in terms of our bathing essentials. This has been sent to the team for review and resolution. Please give us a second chance to impress you on your return to San Diego.

2
Family Business Business

The towels we received were stained, the first room we were given had a broken refrigerator and once we went to bring it up they told us they were not suppose to even give us that room, that was 4 hours after we checked in. Couldnt they have come said something before we unpacked? The coffee cups also leaked, 3 out of 4 of them. Just a sad state, we used to come stay here every year for a Trade Show and next year I will not

By on Mar 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2020

Providing clean and comfortable accommodations is our primary concern, and we regret to read that we could not achieve that for you. Please accept our apologies for the issues you raised throughout your stay. Our team will look into what you've discussed and work toward a remedy as soon as possible. We are not able to change the past, but we hope you will give us another chance to impress you next time you're visiting the area.

3
Partner Couples Family

Easy to book. Carpets were dirty, bed wasn’t comfortable enough. Good enough to spend the night.

By on Mar 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and we value your input. Feedback helps us to continually improve our services, and we will take your concerns regarding the carpets and bed into consideration. Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts, and we wish you all the best in your future travels.

3
Partner Couples

When we checked in there was no towels in the room, the smoke alarm was covered, the tv wasn’t working and the carpet was dirty.

By , from Los Ángeles on Feb 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2020

Dear Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We want to sincerely apologize for the state of your room upon check-in; your situation is not typical nor reflective of our standards. Our staff is always on hand to address any issues as they arise, and we encourage guests to reach out during their stay so we can help. We know we can provide you with a comfortable, relaxing experience, and we are eager to earn a second chance from you to do so.

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Diego-Hotels-Hotel-Iris---San-Diego.h40539-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Diego-Hotels-Hotel-Iris---San-Diego.h40539-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/San-Diego-Hotels-Hotel-Iris---San-Diego.h40539-p2.Hotel-Reviews