Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It was within walking distance of restaurants and the Red Hat. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. I didn’t like having to pay extra for parking but it was downtown and that’s to be expected.

No mini fridge, microwave, fan in bathroom, and restaurant was shut down..

One person on the hotel staff was rude and inconsiderate. The tub was backed up, bathroom was dirty. Will not stay here again.

Very Disappointed. Did not have a trash can inside the room and had to ask for one which they brought. Bathroom was very tiny where the door was a few cm from hitting the toilet. No mini refrigerator to store drinks. No breakfast as their restaurant was closed. Also saw a roach exiting our room when we had got back. Wouldn’t stay here again. Also would stay outside downtown as it’s cheaper and offers more amenities.

Location is great with planty of eating options

Between me and a friend we had

We checked in snd we’re in our room for 10 minutes and saw a bedbug on the comforter. We checked out and thankfully received a refund

A short walk from the train station with lots of dining and sightseeing options (Capital, museums, parks) nearby. Nice sheets and towels, strong and hot water, clean property and friendly staff. Mini fridge and wifi in the room. Great view from our room on the 17th floor. Highly recommend Morgan Street food hall-- the burgers and fries at Cow Bar are amazing!

The hotel is old and desperately needs renovating. The swimming pool and restaurant were closed. Our room did not have things like toilet paper, towels, shampoo, pillows and we had to call at least three times each time for them to deliver the items for us and they made it seem like we were annoying them by asking for things such as toilet paper. I will never go to this hotel again. They are rude and do not care about their guests.

Everything was clean, easy to park, bed was comfortable and clean. Staff was nice

Site is old and tired. Paint chips on bathroom floor, damaged trim, scraped walls. Caulking around toilet smeared all over floor. Hallway smelled with soiled carpets and damaged trim.

The view was amazing but the windows were very dirty on the inside. Hand prints all over so it was hard to see the view. Free breakfast was good. Charles at the front desk was amazing!

Great location. Good value for money. Little hiccup on check-in, but staff worked quickly to make it right.

The location near the legislature was perfect for me. The only real problem was that only one elevator was working and I was on the 15th floor, so there were delays going up and down. I liked the buffet breakfast, especially the grits.

My stay was great. The only thing is that I was awoken by a early morning banging and knocking on the outside of my window. I was instructed that this will end at 1700 hours. So I went walking and shopping earl in the morning.

Hotel is older and definitely could use some renovation . When you first pull up and see the building it looks really dingy but once you get in the rooms they're much cleaner than it expected . The rooms are clean and functional but they are very basic and could use updating especially the bathrooms. The staff is nice and the restaurant upstairs on the 20th floor wasl really good for breakfast.

Hillsborough St Raleigh NC

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Raleigh Convention Center and Red Hat Amphitheater
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located in Downtown Raleigh, Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown - Capital, an IHG Hotel is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as North Carolina State Capitol and Raleigh Convention Center. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 203 rooms and conveniences like a 24-hour gym, free in-room WiFi, and a 24-hour business center.


Dining

This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

The 203 rooms are heated and have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, free newspapers, and safes. Guests can expect 32-inch flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Phones, ironing boards, and desks are also standard.


Property features

Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown - Capital, an IHG Hotel features a 24-hour gym, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Self parking is offered for USD 10.00 per night. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, express check-in, and express check-out.

Room options

Standard Room, Accessible (Accessible Tub)

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed (Leisure)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown - Capital, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (31) Business (1) Couples (9) Family (7)
5
Family

It was within walking distance of restaurants and the Red Hat. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. I didn’t like having to pay extra for parking but it was downtown and that’s to be expected.

By on Oct 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 22, 2021

Good morning thank you for your feedback and recent visit with us we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your experience will encourage you to come back again

2
Family

No mini fridge, microwave, fan in bathroom, and restaurant was shut down..

By on Sep 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2021

Good morning on behalf of Holiday Inn Downtown Raleigh we would like to apologize for not meeting your standards as we strive to make sure that we meet each guest standards. We do have rooms with mini refrigerators on the higher floors and we are currently working on getting them in every room there is a special request section when booking reservations that you can request a room with a mini refrigerator. None of our rooms have microwaves in them and we apologize for not having them in the room. Our restaurant is currently under renovations and is temporarily closed which should be indicated on our third party partner sites but rest assure we are working as quickly as possible to get our restaurant back open. We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback as we use it to make the necessary improvements and hope that you will come back in the near future

2
Friends

One person on the hotel staff was rude and inconsiderate. The tub was backed up, bathroom was dirty. Will not stay here again.

By on Sep 3, 2021

1
Family with small children

Very Disappointed. Did not have a trash can inside the room and had to ask for one which they brought. Bathroom was very tiny where the door was a few cm from hitting the toilet. No mini refrigerator to store drinks. No breakfast as their restaurant was closed. Also saw a roach exiting our room when we had got back. Wouldn’t stay here again. Also would stay outside downtown as it’s cheaper and offers more amenities.

By , from Hubert on Aug 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2021

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn RALEIGH DOWNTOWN. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Again, thank you for sharing your comments, and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at 9198320501 or sapphirebluenj@icloud.com. Sincerely, Noel Jennings Front Desk Supervisor 9198320501 sapphirebluenj@icloud.com

5
Business Business

Location is great with planty of eating options

By on Aug 25, 2021

3
Everyone

Between me and a friend we had

By on Jul 27, 2021

2
Friends

We checked in snd we’re in our room for 10 minutes and saw a bedbug on the comforter. We checked out and thankfully received a refund

By on Jul 26, 2021

4
Family

A short walk from the train station with lots of dining and sightseeing options (Capital, museums, parks) nearby. Nice sheets and towels, strong and hot water, clean property and friendly staff. Mini fridge and wifi in the room. Great view from our room on the 17th floor. Highly recommend Morgan Street food hall-- the burgers and fries at Cow Bar are amazing!

By on Jun 1, 2021

1
Partner Couples

The hotel is old and desperately needs renovating. The swimming pool and restaurant were closed. Our room did not have things like toilet paper, towels, shampoo, pillows and we had to call at least three times each time for them to deliver the items for us and they made it seem like we were annoying them by asking for things such as toilet paper. I will never go to this hotel again. They are rude and do not care about their guests.

By , from Cary, NC on Jul 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 11, 2020

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. Our restaurant is indeed closed due to Covid, but we do not have a pool at our property. Should you stay with us next time you are in Raleigh, we'd love to make your stay great and give you an all star experience!

4
Partner Couples

Everything was clean, easy to park, bed was comfortable and clean. Staff was nice

By on Jul 6, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 11, 2020

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please relax again with us soon.

Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown - Capital, an IHG Hotel

320 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27603
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Raleigh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Raleigh-Downtown---Capital,-an-IHG-Hotel.h1757-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Raleigh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Raleigh-Downtown---Capital,-an-IHG-Hotel.h1757-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Raleigh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Raleigh-Downtown---Capital,-an-IHG-Hotel.h1757-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions