Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The cleaning staff was very rude, the fridge was not stocked daily, the tv didn’t work, I asked for service for 3 out of the 4 days to get someone to help with remote and no one came. Good was good- wish there were more options for lunch. Most dinners were also buffet styles no nightclub or dancing. Pools were great and the staff there were amazing and friendly.

Animation team

The area were the hotel was located was not so great but the hotel was beautiful. The people at the reception were welcoming but not very informative about where things were located or what they offer. You had to rely on a map. The rooms were nice and comfortable but the pictures did it justice. Loved the many pools, water park was closed, food was amazing, enjoyed the sports bar, pool staff and entertainment staff was great. Everything was cleaned in order. So overall I had an amazing time.

Nice

Cleanliness and friendliness

The pools were great and the swim up bar was so cool to hang at. The water slides were fun! The beach access is nice as well. The bartenders were extremely friendly (and handsome). The masseuses at the spa were excellent. Beautiful property!

The property is nice but the rooms are outdated. Our first day the shower clogged balcony didn’t lock. The tv is very small and most of the channels are snow. Buffet food was okay all restaurants close at 10 pm so if your hungry after that you have to starve till Morning. Best thing is the pools are all night.

I like the easy beach access. I did not like upon arrival there was no transfer from the airport to the resort.

The staff and service was very nice. The beach and off resort excursions were fun. The technology needs to be updated. Not enough outlets to charge devices, the television has horrible cable service. You could barely see the screen due to the fuzz. The pools need cooling elements. They are extremely hot; almost commensurate to that of a hot tub. The Buffett for breakfast, lunch and dinner was just ok. The food should be upgraded. Lastly, the liquor options should be drastically upgraded. The cocktails were subpar, in my opinion.

Great Vibes

The property was dingy and dirty also in my room the door wouldn’t close so the air conditioner never turned on the food was terrible in the Buffet. Also there is no food after 10 o’clock unless you go to a sports bar were they serve you nachos with squeeze cheese. The beach was full of seaweed and drug dealers so yeah not the best experience

This hotel was not what we were expecting. This was a girls trip. We had to change rooms 3 times because the rooms were broken or dirty. They try to clean the pool area as much as possible but people are slobs and there are cups and plates everywhere. They reuse the plastic cups and don’t give straws. Bring yourself a tumbler or straw. The hotel at the time 8/19-8/24/21 the pools were open but the swim up bars are not. The food at the resort is just not good. I ate mashed potatoes and rice the whole week i was there because it was the only good thing to eat. The jerk chicken by the beach is also very good but that closes at a certain time. As far as nightlife the shows are good but the discos are closed.. there is a sports bar we hung out in, played pool and hung out. Overall i probably wouldn’t stay here again

The service and care excellence that were provided

Cons: 1. COVID test situation is outrageous (one nurse for 200-300 people, one 2-hour line of all people cramped in a hall with no room to breathe) 2. Electrical sockets have been a big problem of this place. I brought it to the management last time I was there, but the issue seems to be persistent across the hotel, even in the main hall. Ended up charging all my stuff fin the bathroom, it was the only socket that could hold a charger. 3. Stuff takes half empty plates and glasses without letting me finish my dinner, feels like they are rushing you to leave or something (please, train them to ask guests if they finished or not before taking their dinner of the table lol). Pros: 1. Great vibe and people, lots of events (they really upped their game in 9:30PM events...that stuff is top-notch) 2. Food is pretty good once you try everything and know your favorites. 3. Staff is super friendly, these guys work hard, please DO NOT forget t tip them, they deserve it. 4. Decent GYM area. There are barely any people, feels like you work out in a personal gym. Awesome! 5. Weather, beach and pools. what can I say..you get a lot of vacation for fair money. Overall great deal! Keep up good work RIU. Fix the negatives, and you will be even better.

Property is very beautiful with lush palm trees, beach right there, many pools to choose from and no kids. lol

Everything was excellent The check in took too much time more than 1 hours . And there were not that many people. But the person who was helping with the check in move back and forth. Other way I love it. Customer services I general need to improve it.

This resort did not disappoint! Staff was very friendly and helpful. I do recommend getting an ocean view room my view was breathtaking!

The property was amazing clean and well maintained. Everything was spotless, room, restaurant, bathroom.. etc. The food was fresh and very varied. The personal was very friendly and welcoming. The beach very clean as well a special thanks to Esmeralda, our waitress for brekfast and dinner.. she was awesome

The resort was cute, but customer service was terrible. Check in was long. There were other workers there not assisting anyone, but they didn’t try to get us checked in. We had to wait for the one worker that was already assisting someone else. Nobody apologized for the long wait. Also, when we would call to the front desk for issues, it would never get resolved right away. We would have to call multiple times before it would get resolved; still with no apology. Once I was even hung up on. But the bar tenders, and everyone in the restaurants were super sweet. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves.

Staff friendly but weekend felt like a college party. To many loud groups with their music blaring in lobby area. First time staying at a Riu property not sure will do it again.

Playa Arena Gorda Punta Cana

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Free water park

Within a short walk of Hard Rock Golf Club at Cana Bay, Riu Republica - Adults only - All Inclusive is within 2 miles (3 km) of Arena Gorda Beach. This 1382-room, 4-star property has 8 outdoor pools along with a free water park and 9 restaurants.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served each morning from 7 AM to 11 AM. Relish the regional cuisine at La Altagracia, one of 9 onsite restaurants.


Rooms

The 1382 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including furnished balconies or patios, minibars, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers, free toiletries, and slippers. Ceiling fans, safes, and phones are also available.


Property features

Guests of Riu Republica - Adults only - All Inclusive have access to 8 outdoor pools, a free water park, and a nightclub. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with concierge services, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this adults-only property include a gym, a spa tub, and a steam room.

Room options

Triple Room (L)

2 Double Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Double Room, Partial Ocean View (U)

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Family Room, 2 Bedrooms (L)

2 Double Beds and 1 King Bed | Sleeps 6

Double Room, Ocean View (E)

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Riu Republica - Adults only - All Inclusive

Everyone (87) Couples (48) Family (31)
3
Friends

The cleaning staff was very rude, the fridge was not stocked daily, the tv didn’t work, I asked for service for 3 out of the 4 days to get someone to help with remote and no one came. Good was good- wish there were more options for lunch. Most dinners were also buffet styles no nightclub or dancing. Pools were great and the staff there were amazing and friendly.

By on Oct 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2021

Dear Alexis, Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit. Although we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pools, we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the services you received during your stay and we are surprised that our staff did not react to your requests. This is certainly not the standard we are used to and we apologise if you did not feel you were properly attended. We will share your experience with the relevant department for follow-up. We´d like to point out that some of our services, as the nightly entertaiment, may be restricted due to the covid protocols. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon and assure you a true RIU experience. Best regards, Hotel Riu Republica Online Reputation Manager

5
Family

Animation team

By on Oct 10, 2021

4
Family

The area were the hotel was located was not so great but the hotel was beautiful. The people at the reception were welcoming but not very informative about where things were located or what they offer. You had to rely on a map. The rooms were nice and comfortable but the pictures did it justice. Loved the many pools, water park was closed, food was amazing, enjoyed the sports bar, pool staff and entertainment staff was great. Everything was cleaned in order. So overall I had an amazing time.

By on Oct 6, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Nice

By on Oct 5, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Cleanliness and friendliness

By on Sep 19, 2021

5
Friends

The pools were great and the swim up bar was so cool to hang at. The water slides were fun! The beach access is nice as well. The bartenders were extremely friendly (and handsome). The masseuses at the spa were excellent. Beautiful property!

By on Sep 15, 2021

3
Partner Couples

The property is nice but the rooms are outdated. Our first day the shower clogged balcony didn’t lock. The tv is very small and most of the channels are snow. Buffet food was okay all restaurants close at 10 pm so if your hungry after that you have to starve till Morning. Best thing is the pools are all night.

By on Sep 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2021

Dear akeemah, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that not all the aspects of your experience did meet your expectations. We hope our team did turn around this situation to your complete satisfaction during your stay! Also, we please hope for your understanding that the reason behind the lack or reduction of some of our services is to keep our strict anti-covid-19-protocols, which has been implemented to safeguard our guests and employees. We regret the inconvenience this caused and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide a better experience. All the best! Hotel Riu Republica Online Reputation Manager

4
Friends

I like the easy beach access. I did not like upon arrival there was no transfer from the airport to the resort.

By on Sep 1, 2021

3
Partner Couples Friends

The staff and service was very nice. The beach and off resort excursions were fun. The technology needs to be updated. Not enough outlets to charge devices, the television has horrible cable service. You could barely see the screen due to the fuzz. The pools need cooling elements. They are extremely hot; almost commensurate to that of a hot tub. The Buffett for breakfast, lunch and dinner was just ok. The food should be upgraded. Lastly, the liquor options should be drastically upgraded. The cocktails were subpar, in my opinion.

By on Sep 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2021

Dear Darrell, Thank you for sharing a review with us. Even though we are glad to read your words about our staff and service, we regret that there were other aspects that brought down your overall experience. We will surely follow up on your words since we understand that there is always room for improvement since we would love to welcome you back. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Republica Online Reputation Manager

5
Family Friends

Great Vibes

By on Aug 30, 2021

Riu Republica - Adults only - All Inclusive

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, 23000
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Punta-Cana-Hotels-Riu-Republica---Adults-only---All-Inclusive.h12848883-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Punta-Cana-Hotels-Riu-Republica---Adults-only---All-Inclusive.h12848883-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Punta-Cana-Hotels-Riu-Republica---Adults-only---All-Inclusive.h12848883-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions