Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The staff won’t clean the rooms and refused several requests for the little bit of service that was offered at check in.

The hotel is immaculate. The staff was helpful and friendly. Convenient to the old port shopping and dining. I had some mixed feelings about the room. It was exceptionally clean and in perfect order. Bed was great. No issues. Unfortunately there is not much sound insulation in the walls. I could easily hear my neighbors having a good time. I would expect the room to be more quite in a hotel of this quality. I personally was not happy with ultra modern stark interior either. Definitely not the least bit cozy fore sure.

We stayed in a suite with water view and it was absolutely breathtaking. The room was huge with large windows that wrapped around the corner. We will definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to visit Portland.

Great service

Did not like the surprise of $32 a night for valet parking, the only option available. Did not receive the promised breakfast to-go bag.

The large lobby was very nice, but the main attraction was the proximity to downtown Portland

the hotel and room was nice, only problem was with what is going on in the world there was no room service and no breakfast available, and no discounts was offered for the inconvenience

I loved everything about this hotel! It was near everything and they had an amazing shuttle service. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

Place was new and clean, but we found blond hairs on the bed cover sheet (my husband and I have black and brown hair). Except for that, everything else was great.

Good partial view of the bay. All the staff was very nice.

I checked out at 6:30 AM then said I was going grab something to eat before the cab came and she said that I did not get the breakfast. I was under the impression that the room came with breakfast....but maybe not...she did not help me understand.

I loved the modern style to the hotel, it was designed very well loved the room itself big screen tv and the flooring was very nice. The sent as soon as you walked into the hotel was very pleasant as well. One downside was every time and I mean every time u walked out of the entrance it smelled like cigarettes I’d put up no smoking signs

Brand new and impeccably clean. Parking across the srreet

Great location and ambiance, fast check in/out and valet service.

The hotel is in a great location for walking around. The room was nice and clean. The design was odd - there was a safe, a nice refrigerator with a coffee maker above and iron in an open closet area but no outlets to plug either in. We had bad creamers in the coffee station. But overall nice but pricey for what you get.

I was unhappily surprised by several things. There are some general expectations you have when you go to an expensive hotel; a pool and complimentary breakfast. They don't have either. I'm sure it's technically somewhere in their site, but if they are going against standard expectations, it should be crystal clear. Also, I didn't know that parking was $30 a night. We rented a car because we needed to drive to see family, but it would've been so expensive that it wasn't worth it. It may be also good to note that if you're expecting a view of the water, there isn't one. Also, while the rooms are stunning, there only two drawers for undergarments, so if you bring a lot of clothes, and storage space is important to you, then you'll be disappointed. On a positive note the place is beautiful. The people are extremely friendly. The bathroom has plenty of space for toiletries, the shower is luxurious. Free internet. Instead of an alarm clock (which I hate bc I'm always woken up by a residual alarm the from the previous guest) they have internet options on the tv like Pandora.

Fore St Portland ME

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Cross Insurance Arena
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle

AC Hotel by Marriott Portland Downtown/Waterfront, ME places you within a 5-minute walk of Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum and Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal. This 178-room, 3.5-star hotel has free in-room WiFi along with a free airport shuttle and a fitness center.


Dining

In addition to a meal at the onsite restaurant, you can also enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. To-go breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

AC Hotel by Marriott Portland Downtown/Waterfront, ME's 178 rooms provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and free bottled water. TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, phones, and ironing boards are also available. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

AC Hotel by Marriott Portland Downtown/Waterfront, ME features a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Valet parking is USD 32.00 per night if you plan to drive, or hop aboard the free airport shuttle (available on request). The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning or laundry, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

City Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, City View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking, View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

City Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking, City View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for AC Hotel by Marriott Portland Downtown/Waterfront, ME

Everyone (10) Couples (8) Family (7)
3
Family Family with small children

The staff won’t clean the rooms and refused several requests for the little bit of service that was offered at check in.

By on Jul 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2021

Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to see that your stay with us was less than perfect.Thank you for taking a moment to review our Hotel. We are very thankful for the opportunity to welcome you to our property while visiting Portland. I am very sorry to see that your experience with us not perfect nor what we strive for as cleanliness Is very important, especially more than ever currently. We do appreciate your feedback I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future as we are committed to making the proper adjustments to match our guest's needs.

3
Friends

The hotel is immaculate. The staff was helpful and friendly. Convenient to the old port shopping and dining. I had some mixed feelings about the room. It was exceptionally clean and in perfect order. Bed was great. No issues. Unfortunately there is not much sound insulation in the walls. I could easily hear my neighbors having a good time. I would expect the room to be more quite in a hotel of this quality. I personally was not happy with ultra modern stark interior either. Definitely not the least bit cozy fore sure.

By on May 14, 2021

Review comment responded on May 20, 2021

Greetings, Thank you so much for your feedback. I apologize that your stay was subpar. We strive to always be the best we can be and make sure our guests are enjoying their stay. We hope you chose the AC Hotel again as we strive to make it a perfect stay for all. Please feel free to reach out personally if you have questions. Thank you.

5
Family with small children

We stayed in a suite with water view and it was absolutely breathtaking. The room was huge with large windows that wrapped around the corner. We will definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to visit Portland.

By on Apr 9, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Great service

By on Apr 7, 2021

3
Business Business

Did not like the surprise of $32 a night for valet parking, the only option available. Did not receive the promised breakfast to-go bag.

By , from Pennsylvania on Jan 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 19, 2021

Dear John, Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your stay with us. I am very sorry to see that we failed to make you aware of our Valet parking price. We do our best to advertise directly with the parking options in Portland being scarce due to development. I do hope this does not keep you from booking with us in the future and we have an opportunity to welcome you back to our property. Thank you again for your honest feedback. Best, Seamus

5
Partner Couples

The large lobby was very nice, but the main attraction was the proximity to downtown Portland

By , from Washington, D.C. on Oct 17, 2020

3
Partner Couples

the hotel and room was nice, only problem was with what is going on in the world there was no room service and no breakfast available, and no discounts was offered for the inconvenience

By , from gloversville on Jul 29, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Mar 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2020

It was a pleasure to serve as your home-away-from-home and we thank you for taking a moment to share your perfect score. We hope our hotel will be one you return to should your travels ever bring you back to the area.

5
Partner Couples

I loved everything about this hotel! It was near everything and they had an amazing shuttle service. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

By on Feb 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2020

We're elated to hear that our terrific location, helpful amenities, and wonderful service allowed you to enjoy a five-star stay! Thank you for sharing your thoughts, as reviews like yours help other guests discover us and enjoy peaceful, refreshing getaways. We would love to welcome you back to the AC Hotel Portland Downtown/Waterfront anytime!

5
Everyone

By on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 13, 2020

Thank you very much for your five-star rating and hope it won’t be long before we are welcoming you back to make more memories with us!

AC Hotel by Marriott Portland Downtown/Waterfront, ME

158 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Portland-Hotels-AC-Hotel-by-Marriott-Portland-Downtown/Waterfront,-ME.h22514704-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Portland-Hotels-AC-Hotel-by-Marriott-Portland-Downtown/Waterfront,-ME.h22514704-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Portland-Hotels-AC-Hotel-by-Marriott-Portland-Downtown/Waterfront,-ME.h22514704-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions