Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

What i didnt like, was that i paid $200/night and the pool was closed. This shouldnt reflect just the properties negligence

The property was ok. I had a problem with my sink flooding everytime it was turned on. Room was cleaned ok, The breakfast was average.

Didn’t check in, parking lot was full of people during a pandemic. Didn’t look safe at all. It’s very unfortunate that refunds aren’t allowed.

The pool and splash pad are why we picked this hotel. My kids loved it, but the water fountain at the pool didn't work and was in horrible condition. There was no soap andbyou could see water damage in the roof. Our room also smelled of water damage though the decor was modern and updated

The front desk lady was nice. The room smelled horrible like fried food and the carpet was disgusting. I had to wear shoes to walk on it.

We picked this hotel because of the pool with slash pad. Pool area was nice, but 2 features on the splash pad were broken and it ran out of towels quickly. Paying $160 plus tax for the room i expected more. Fans in room were covered in dust, carpet was ripped, light fixtures were rusted, wood finishes were very worn, walls were cracking, breakfast dining chairs were almost all peeling, game room floor was dirty and vent in there was coming off the wall. At this price point i expected alot more, but i didnt receive it.

It was perfect for a good nights sleep before tournament

Nice staff but otherwise I have nothing to say!!!!!!!

Nice close to beach and love the pool and kiddy pool .. very quite!!! Def will stay again and recommend

The hotel is modern and nice. Just a couple things were bad. One bed was dirty, looked like there was lipstick and some dark spots. The room phone didn’t work so we called the front desk with our phone. The clock was set to the wrong time. It was your standard alarm clock so it took some time to get it corrected. You would expect the maid to correct it when cleaning the room. The biggest problem is they tried to ‘refresh’ the pool area by coating the floor tile with a rubber asphalt type material. It’s not durable and was coming apart and was in the pool, in your saddles. It’s was unfortunate. The pool was warm and the kids still loved it.

The staff was all about helping others at check in instead of completing my check in I had to ask for my keys. Didn't keep up with towels in pool area and allowed too many people in at a time. Why give wristbands if no one checks

Clean room. Breakfast was not good and the area was filthy.

Could use more chairs in the room for when you go visiting people in other rooms

Staff helpful and corteous. One night stay; no complaints.

Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone with kids. They will enjoy the splash pool, parents will love the hot tub. The game room was nice too, although the games are a little dated for today generation. Definitely will be going back again to visit the Indiana Dunes longer!

staff was friendly and the breakfast selection was good

Decided to take the kids (ages 10 and 13) for a weekend getaway not too far from home (less than hour) to help burn off some cabin fever. This hotel was perfect for just that. Our room was the perfect size to enjoy our time as family (when not in the pool and hot tub) and the room rate fit into our budget.

Melton Rd Portage IN

Hotel highlights

  • Free self-serve breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Bar/lounge

Located 2.4 mi (3.8 km) from Indiana Dunes National Park, Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites is within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like Chellberg Farm. This 100-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free self-serve breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM. Quench your thirst with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All 100 soundproofed rooms feature washers/dryers, microwaves, and refrigerators. Guests can expect 32-inch LCD TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport down comforters and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites features an indoor pool, a children's pool, and a fitness center. There's free parking and limo/town car service. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with securing valuables and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Bathtub (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Suite, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (with Sofabed)

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

Everyone (16) Couples (2) Family (14) Other (1)
3
Everyone

What i didnt like, was that i paid $200/night and the pool was closed. This shouldnt reflect just the properties negligence

By on Aug 8, 2021

4
Everyone

By on Jul 10, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2021

Dear Stephanie Taylor, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Management - Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

4
Family with small children

By on Mar 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests here at the BW Plus. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Sincerely, Management - Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

3
Family

The property was ok. I had a problem with my sink flooding everytime it was turned on. Room was cleaned ok, The breakfast was average.

By , from urbana on Aug 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2020

Apello, I'm sorry to hear about the sink being clogged. We hope you will visit us again soon so we can have another opportunity to exceed your expectations!

1
Family Family

Didn’t check in, parking lot was full of people during a pandemic. Didn’t look safe at all. It’s very unfortunate that refunds aren’t allowed.

By on Jun 28, 2020

4
Family Family with small children Family

The pool and splash pad are why we picked this hotel. My kids loved it, but the water fountain at the pool didn't work and was in horrible condition. There was no soap andbyou could see water damage in the roof. Our room also smelled of water damage though the decor was modern and updated

By on Aug 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 26, 2019

Thank you for your response. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than superior. We appreciate your feedback and by providing details, we are given an opportunity for improvement for the future. Thank you for letting us know, and we hope to host you again in the future!

4
Everyone

By on May 28, 2019

Review comment responded on May 29, 2019

Thank you for your response. We appreciate your feedback!

2
Everyone

The front desk lady was nice. The room smelled horrible like fried food and the carpet was disgusting. I had to wear shoes to walk on it.

By on Dec 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 2, 2019

We’re sorry you were unhappy. We will work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Thanks for letting us know!

2
Everyone

We picked this hotel because of the pool with slash pad. Pool area was nice, but 2 features on the splash pad were broken and it ran out of towels quickly. Paying $160 plus tax for the room i expected more. Fans in room were covered in dust, carpet was ripped, light fixtures were rusted, wood finishes were very worn, walls were cracking, breakfast dining chairs were almost all peeling, game room floor was dirty and vent in there was coming off the wall. At this price point i expected alot more, but i didnt receive it.

By on Oct 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 16, 2018

We're sorry you were unhappy. We will work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Thank you for letting us know!

4
Everyone

It was perfect for a good nights sleep before tournament

By on Oct 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 16, 2018

Thank you for your response. We appreciate your feedback!

Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

6200 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Portage-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Portage-Hotel-&-Suites.h40472-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Portage-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Portage-Hotel-&-Suites.h40472-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Portage-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Portage-Hotel-&-Suites.h40472-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions