Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I loved the devor in the hotel. It was really beautiful. I love how walkable to location is. We didn't have to drive most of our entire stay. The water while bathing was a good temperature which is pretty rare in hotels I've noticed so that's nice. The only complaints I have are the beds are very uncomfortable. Also, If you are physically disabled in a way that prohibits you from walking on stairs then this is not the place for you as they don't have an elevator. Other than that, the hotel is wonderful and I recommend it to anyone who is visiting Port Townsend.

Had an apartment room and loved it. Nice big windows, full kitchen, comfy living space, good beds, large bathroom and we could walk to most anywhere in town.

It’s a Victorian hotel. The room is spacious.

Victorian era “hotel” (operated as a bordello at one point) with 18 foot high ceilings. Each room is named for one of the “girls” (ours was Miss Colleen). Nicely furnished and comfortable.

No elevator, so this old person struggled just a little (3rd floor). Otherwise, it's charming and is in the best location possible, if you like Port Townsend. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, but that sea air made me sleep like a baby. I would come again, if I could get a lower floor.

Great location Clean Lovely common spaces Only drawback....steep staircase and I didn't pack light.

Had a great experience here the only thing odd was the water shut off at about 9:30pm and didn’t come back on till the next morning

Well maintained historic building, right downtown close to everything

We LOVED our stay here! The staff is super friendly, and the cleaning crew does a phenomenal job at keeping the rooms clean. Our loft was spotless! Great location, super charming, love the old feel of the hotel. We had a room that overlooked the harbor, and it was amazing. Highly recommend. We'll be back!

Unique former bordello with extra character and architecture.

Spacious room, nice bed and bathroom with clawfoot tub. Also the rooms were very clean and no mold or dust which is pretty amazing for a historic old hotel. Right on the historic street and parking in back. Just a warning there is a huge staircase and no elevator. I will definitely stay again!

We loved the ambience and the majestic interiors. The staff was terrific!

easy access - walking to food and shops. Victorian design pleasing.

Water St Port Townsend WA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Port Townsend Historic District within a mile (2 km) of Kah Tai Lagoon Nature Park, Palace Hotel Port Townsend is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as Fort Worden State Park. This hotel has 19 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like a coffee shop/café, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 19 rooms have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

At Palace Hotel Port Townsend, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking if you drive. Staff members can answer questions about accommodations, and also provide front-desk service during limited hours.

Room options

Premium Room (2nd and 3rd Floors)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Comfort Studio Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Partial Ocean View

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Apartment (2nd and 3rd Floors)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds (2nd and 3rd Floors)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Everyone (9) Couples (5) Family (4)
4
Partner Couples

I loved the devor in the hotel. It was really beautiful. I love how walkable to location is. We didn't have to drive most of our entire stay. The water while bathing was a good temperature which is pretty rare in hotels I've noticed so that's nice. The only complaints I have are the beds are very uncomfortable. Also, If you are physically disabled in a way that prohibits you from walking on stairs then this is not the place for you as they don't have an elevator. Other than that, the hotel is wonderful and I recommend it to anyone who is visiting Port Townsend.

By on Nov 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 1, 2021

Hello Vatsana: Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts and let us know how your experience at the Palace Hotel was. We are sorry that you found your bed to be "uncomfortable"; we hope that you were able to get some sleep. Bed comfort seems to be such an individual thing...all of our beds have medium-firm, Sealy Posture Pedic mattresses with pillow-top; some love them and obviously others, like yourself, would rather have some other type of bedding. You are right, we do not have an elevator and plenty of stairs....66 to be exact to the 3rd-floor guestrooms. If you do come back for another visit, be sure to ask for assistance at the front desk; our staff are very obliging when it comes to assisting guests with their luggage. We hope to see you soon again! Cheers, Ruthie

5
Family

Had an apartment room and loved it. Nice big windows, full kitchen, comfy living space, good beds, large bathroom and we could walk to most anywhere in town.

By on Aug 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2021

Hello Anonymous: Lovely to receive your 5-star rating. We are delighted that you loved your apartment guestroom, as well as our central downtown location. Hurry on back and come and stay with us again! Cheers, Ruthie.

5
Family

It’s a Victorian hotel. The room is spacious.

By on Jul 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2021

Hi Anonymous: Thank you for submitting your review; we appreciate you taking a moment to let us know how your experience was at the Palace Hotel. We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future. Enjoy the remainder of the summer. Cheers, Ruthie.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2021

Hi Anonymous: Thank you for the perfect score! We are delighted and hope to see you again at the Palace Hotel. Cheers, Ruthie.

5
Partner Couples

Victorian era “hotel” (operated as a bordello at one point) with 18 foot high ceilings. Each room is named for one of the “girls” (ours was Miss Colleen). Nicely furnished and comfortable.

By on Jun 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2021

Hello Anonymous: Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see that your stay at the hotel was pleasant and that you appreciated the historical legacy of this old building. There are a lot of stories to tell from 1889 forwards. Please do come and see us again. All the best, Ruthie.

5
Family

No elevator, so this old person struggled just a little (3rd floor). Otherwise, it's charming and is in the best location possible, if you like Port Townsend. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, but that sea air made me sleep like a baby. I would come again, if I could get a lower floor.

By on May 13, 2021

Review comment responded on May 13, 2021

Hello there Anonymous: We are delighted that in spite of there being no elevator and no air conditioning that you awarded us with 5 stars. It sounds as though you enjoyed the central downtown location and the sea breeze! We hope that you will come and see us again, and if you do, please don't hesitate to ask the front desk staff to assist you with your luggage. We will be bringing our bellhop back once the pandemic is tamped down. Oh, and we do provide fans in every room in case we ever get a warm week of weather! All the best, Ruthie.

5
Everyone

By on Apr 20, 2021

Review comment responded on May 1, 2021

Hello Anonymous: Many thanks for taking a moment to let us know how we rate. We truly appreciate the high score, and hope that you will come and see us again. All the best, Ruthie.

5
Everyone

By on Apr 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2021

Hi Anonymous: Many thanks for sending along your terrific rating. We are thrilled to receive a perfect score. We sure hope that you will come and see us when you are back in Port Townsend. All the best, Ruthie.

5
Friends

Great location Clean Lovely common spaces Only drawback....steep staircase and I didn't pack light.

By on Mar 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 24, 2021

Hello Anonymous: Love seeing the 5-out-of 5 rating! Many thanks for letting us know that we are on track in so far as the guest experience goes. We are glad to know that you found the hotel clean and that the common areas spoke to you. Yes, we do have loads of stairs....15 step to the MZ level, 33 steps to the second floor and 66 steps to the third floor. If you come back to see us, please don't hesitate to ask the front desk staff to assist you with your bags. We did have a bellhop pre-covid who helped us in the high season; hopefully, that service will return once the pandemic is tamped down. Cheers, Ruthie.

4
Friends

Had a great experience here the only thing odd was the water shut off at about 9:30pm and didn’t come back on till the next morning

By on Feb 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 10, 2021

Hello Anonymous: Many thanks for the input; we value your feedback! Unfortunately you stayed with us for the one night that the water was turned off. A large water main broke and the Port Townsend city workers apparently worked on it the entire night. We are so sorry that your visit coincided with this rare event. We hope that you will come back and see us soon again, and take a good long hot bath! All the best, Ruthie.

Palace Hotel Port Townsend

1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Port-Townsend-Hotels-Palace-Hotel-Port-Townsend.h1189819-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Port-Townsend-Hotels-Palace-Hotel-Port-Townsend.h1189819-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Port-Townsend-Hotels-Palace-Hotel-Port-Townsend.h1189819-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions