Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I recently had a horrible experience here. On 6/6/21 I had arranged for my parents to stay here as part of their 30th anniversary celebration. Upon arrival the staff incorrectly told them that their reservation had been cancelled. In booking the reservation early, I provided a credit card to both hold the room and be used for payment. The day before the anniversary I called just to make sure ever was fine and to specifically add my fathers name to the reservation so there was no confusion when my parents tried to check-in. They told me they did but they lied. So because the names didn’t match up the hotel continually insisted they were committing fraud! Even after speaking with me on the phone, the card holder, they refused to let me pay for my parents hotel stay. After about an hour of debate and embarrassment my father acquiesced and agreed to pay for the stay himself. Absolutely awful. To make things worse, I called the hotel after all was said and done to express my displeasure and was lied to again. They said they would have something nice sent up to my parents room to rectify the situation and I later found out from my parents that they received nothing. I’ve stayed here many times and always had good experiences. I hold no malice towards the hotel itself. My sole purpose in writing this review is to call attention to the people working front desk that day and hope it doesn’t happen to anyone else. This is an excellent hotel but what happened this day was unacceptable.

We love Kimpton hotels, top notch as expected!

Nicest staff. Amazing king size bed! The hotel is so nice and I will be returning

They were supposed to bring extra sheets for the pull out couch and never did but the room was clean, the bed comfy and the king spa bathroom was spectacular.

Very convenient location. Close to parks, shopping and attractions. Room was small but clean & neat.

Upon arrival it appeared we were greeted warmly by the bell staff and front desk associates. There was 2 different chilled waters available to cool the days heat. A lemon/Cucumber and citrus tea. Both excellent. A wonderful way to quench the heat. Reminded me of arrival at the Ritz Carlton in Maui. A lovely touch! Heading to our room we noticed a lovely restaurant next to connected to the hotel lobby. We did not dine during our stay however we had a wonderful meal there a few years ago when visiting friends. Once we arrived to our room it was a city view as we had requested. Two issues we encountered was the bathroom and the size of the actual room. The bathroom looked nothing like the pictures on the website. Those showed a grand bathing experience and we had a standard tub with an average shower-head. Not quite we had expected. The room itself -quite nice however was exceptionally small. The bedding was excellent and the room was quite clean. One suggestion to set the hotel apart from its peers would be a turndown service. We have been in a few hotels this past year that do this and it is quite a wonderful touch. The valet service for the cars was prompt when called down to request your vehicle. The valets themselves were not very friendly or warm. They were thorough though. The hotels service does not stand up to industry standards such as Ritz/Four seasons however it is a nice stay in a city with many choices for lodging.

Great location near Rittenhouse. Very friendly staff. $50 for overnight parking seemed a bit steep

Your reservation had not come through at hotel. Even though i had confirmation. Check-in took half an hour and became very unpleasant. Will not stay here again and will likely stop using orbitz

The property was very dog-friendly and the staff were friendly.

Short stay but check in was quick and welcoming and room was nicely appointed.

Good location - room bathroom could use updating. Small rooms.

S 17th St Philadelphia PA

Hotel highlights

  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • WiFi in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • Business center

Located in Center City, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, an IHG Hotel is next to Walnut Street and Art Institute of Philadelphia. This 230-room, 4.5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and a 24-hour fitness center.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or make new friends at the free daily manager's reception. For your convenience, a local cuisine breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM and on weekends from 7:30 AM to 1 PM.


Rooms

All of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, an IHG Hotel's 230 air-conditioned rooms provide iPod docks, minibars, and free newspapers. 37-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Beds are dressed in Frette Italian sheets and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Laptop-compatible safes, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, an IHG Hotel, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Valet parking is offered for USD 58 per night. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and concierge services. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and free use of bicycles.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Mobility)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, City View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, City View (Roll In)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed, City View

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (19) Couples (4) Family (6)
2
Partner Couples

I recently had a horrible experience here. On 6/6/21 I had arranged for my parents to stay here as part of their 30th anniversary celebration. Upon arrival the staff incorrectly told them that their reservation had been cancelled. In booking the reservation early, I provided a credit card to both hold the room and be used for payment. The day before the anniversary I called just to make sure ever was fine and to specifically add my fathers name to the reservation so there was no confusion when my parents tried to check-in. They told me they did but they lied. So because the names didn’t match up the hotel continually insisted they were committing fraud! Even after speaking with me on the phone, the card holder, they refused to let me pay for my parents hotel stay. After about an hour of debate and embarrassment my father acquiesced and agreed to pay for the stay himself. Absolutely awful. To make things worse, I called the hotel after all was said and done to express my displeasure and was lied to again. They said they would have something nice sent up to my parents room to rectify the situation and I later found out from my parents that they received nothing. I’ve stayed here many times and always had good experiences. I hold no malice towards the hotel itself. My sole purpose in writing this review is to call attention to the people working front desk that day and hope it doesn’t happen to anyone else. This is an excellent hotel but what happened this day was unacceptable.

By on Jun 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding you recent stay, both positive and negative. I was deeply saddened to see the details of your negative experience. It deeply saddened me to hear of the issues you encountered regarding the check in process. We have reviewed your experience with our front office supervisors who have refocused staff training in the areas of check in as a result. It is our sincere belief that this will improve our standards and prevent our future guests from having similar experiences. We never want our guests to feel as though they are uncomfortable during their stay. It is feedback such as yours that allows us to fine-tune the Kimpton experience and better provide for our guests. We are happiest when guests let us know exactly how to make their next stay with us even better.

5
Family

We love Kimpton hotels, top notch as expected!

By on May 9, 2021

Review comment responded on May 12, 2021

Thank you for the amazing review! We hope to see you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2021

Thanks for the great review!

3
Everyone

By on Oct 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 4, 2020

Thank you for your review!

5
Everyone

By on Oct 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2020

Thanks for the great review!

5
Partner Couples

Nicest staff. Amazing king size bed! The hotel is so nice and I will be returning

By , from New Jersey on Oct 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2020

Meghan, thank you for the fantastic review! We're looking forward to your next stay.

3
Everyone

By on Sep 27, 2020

4
Family with small children

They were supposed to bring extra sheets for the pull out couch and never did but the room was clean, the bed comfy and the king spa bathroom was spectacular.

By on Jul 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2020

Thank you for such a kind review! We hope you can join us again soon.

5
Partner Couples

Very convenient location. Close to parks, shopping and attractions. Room was small but clean & neat.

By on Oct 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 1, 2019

Thank you so much for your review. Please come back and stay with us again.

4
Family Family

Upon arrival it appeared we were greeted warmly by the bell staff and front desk associates. There was 2 different chilled waters available to cool the days heat. A lemon/Cucumber and citrus tea. Both excellent. A wonderful way to quench the heat. Reminded me of arrival at the Ritz Carlton in Maui. A lovely touch! Heading to our room we noticed a lovely restaurant next to connected to the hotel lobby. We did not dine during our stay however we had a wonderful meal there a few years ago when visiting friends. Once we arrived to our room it was a city view as we had requested. Two issues we encountered was the bathroom and the size of the actual room. The bathroom looked nothing like the pictures on the website. Those showed a grand bathing experience and we had a standard tub with an average shower-head. Not quite we had expected. The room itself -quite nice however was exceptionally small. The bedding was excellent and the room was quite clean. One suggestion to set the hotel apart from its peers would be a turndown service. We have been in a few hotels this past year that do this and it is quite a wonderful touch. The valet service for the cars was prompt when called down to request your vehicle. The valets themselves were not very friendly or warm. They were thorough though. The hotels service does not stand up to industry standards such as Ritz/Four seasons however it is a nice stay in a city with many choices for lodging.

By on Jul 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2019

Wow! Thanks for the great review and staying with us. We appreciate all your feedback! Please come back and stay with us again!

Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, an IHG Hotel

117 S 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Philadelphia-Hotels-Kimpton-Hotel-Palomar-Philadelphia,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2946511-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Philadelphia-Hotels-Kimpton-Hotel-Palomar-Philadelphia,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2946511-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Philadelphia-Hotels-Kimpton-Hotel-Palomar-Philadelphia,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2946511-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions