Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The Hotel room is very clean. But, request to deposit $50.00 dollars. If, use any thing in The hotel room the deposit will not return, and also early morning hang the paper telling check out, if check out after at 11:00am may delay.

*

Bathroom lights too dim. Lights over wet bar were brighter. Perhaps the bulbs should be switched. No tv channel guide. ABC not available on TV system. Rattling noise from AC unit. Cabinet door access to fridge needs attention. Only one small trash can (in the BA). I didn't understand the sheet covering the bed comforter. I admit, i was traveling on a budget. Everything appeared clean and the bed was comfortable. 2.5 stars.

Good

Front desk staff member was excellent! Very personable & engaging, knowledgeable, and efficient. Witnessed him jump in to assist another Spanish-speaking guest as well when others could not. However, wouldn’t recommend this hotel. Carpet was dirty & sticky (as in feel & see dirt on your feet after getting out of the shower and walking across the carpet, plus the sticky parts), mold/mildew very present in the shower (and on the ceiling although someone had tried to paint over it), key-entry only exterior doors where left open frequently (if that is a concern to you), and AC when turned all the way down would not cool the room past 73 (for any cold-room sleepers).

I haven’t seen a hotel with such kind staff in a while. The were always smiling and up to do whatever to make us feel comfortable. Also, many of them are brazilian so you have English, portugues, and Spanish at the front desk at all times. No complains at all!

The front desk staff was very kind and offered us an early check-in. They also responded quickly to quiet down an unruly group of teenagers in the pool late at night. The pool stays open until 11:00 p.m., so beware pool side rooms if you plan to sleep before pool closing. The hotel is in desperate need of a deep clean. The room was humid and musty, the carpet was not vacuumed thoroughly, the curtains had large stains, and there was mold and mildew growing in the corners of the bathroom and the exposed sink drain pipes. We made it work for a few nights but I wouldn't recommend.

Like that the rooms was clean

The rooms smelled like cigarettes and marijuana. My rug in between the bed became wet at night. Bathroom door gets stuck when closed. Fromt desk would not answer the phone. Called them multiple times for a tv remote

My first room smellled like mildew/mold, but I was moved and very happy with new room, clean and updated.

This hotel is just OK at best. It is very dated and reminds me of late 80's or early 90's. The room was musty smelling and not very clean. Whlie anytime you are in the hallway is smells like a straight up weed festival is going on. I believe this hotel is also a place where locals live at full time. The staff was friendly enough but i would not stay here again. If you have children and are looking for a very nice clean family friendly hotel this is not the the place for you!!

I don’t get refund, even though I canceled reservation on time

Roach in room. Dirty sheets. Didn’t accommodate me in any way.... never again... worst western should be the name

Location was nice and getting to and from places was easy. Staff was friendly. For some reason, there was very little hot water in the room. Shower & sink had no hot water on final morning before leaving.

Rita at the front desk was excellent. Courteous, professional, prompt.

It was wonderful and I really enjoyed myself can't wait to come again very clean room and wonderful staff I denifenliy come back

The desk clerk denied my having a prepaid reservation. When shown my receipt, she said it was for another branch - that did not exist. An orbitz representative was appealed to in late afternoon but reported the property management said she was lying and the room was ready for occupancy. I no longer trusted the property and was refused a refund. I suggest Orbitz obtain a connection with a student legal clinic to have "counsel call properties when problems arise. Attorneys might garner more respect for real complaints.

Universal Blvd Orlando FL

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Southwest Orlando, Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is 1.5 mi (2.5 km) from Universal Studios Florida and within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like SeaWorld® Orlando. This 298-room hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant and conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a to-go breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

All 298 air-conditioned accommodations feature sitting areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and 40-inch LED TVs with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. IPod docks, microwaves, and refrigerators are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests staying at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel enjoy an outdoor pool, a gym, and 2 spa tubs. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a theme park shuttle. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a business center.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Everyone (70) Couples (17) Family (29)
2
Everyone

The Hotel room is very clean. But, request to deposit $50.00 dollars. If, use any thing in The hotel room the deposit will not return, and also early morning hang the paper telling check out, if check out after at 11:00am may delay.

By on Oct 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 16, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We will be addressing your concerns.

2
Family with small children

*

By on Sep 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 1, 2021

Thank you for your review. If you would like to discuss your scoring in further detail. Please, don't hesitate to reach out to one of our management team members.

3
Everyone

Bathroom lights too dim. Lights over wet bar were brighter. Perhaps the bulbs should be switched. No tv channel guide. ABC not available on TV system. Rattling noise from AC unit. Cabinet door access to fridge needs attention. Only one small trash can (in the BA). I didn't understand the sheet covering the bed comforter. I admit, i was traveling on a budget. Everything appeared clean and the bed was comfortable. 2.5 stars.

By on Sep 10, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 11, 2021

Please, accept our apologies for any short-comings you encountered during your stay with us. We will address the issues you are reporting immediately, with the appropriate departments. Once again we apologize that our property did not meet your expectations. If you like to discuss this further with a member of our management team please reach out to us directly here at the hotel.

5
Friends

Good

By , from Orlando on Sep 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.

2
Everyone

Front desk staff member was excellent! Very personable & engaging, knowledgeable, and efficient. Witnessed him jump in to assist another Spanish-speaking guest as well when others could not. However, wouldn’t recommend this hotel. Carpet was dirty & sticky (as in feel & see dirt on your feet after getting out of the shower and walking across the carpet, plus the sticky parts), mold/mildew very present in the shower (and on the ceiling although someone had tried to paint over it), key-entry only exterior doors where left open frequently (if that is a concern to you), and AC when turned all the way down would not cool the room past 73 (for any cold-room sleepers).

By on Aug 13, 2021

5
Friends

I haven’t seen a hotel with such kind staff in a while. The were always smiling and up to do whatever to make us feel comfortable. Also, many of them are brazilian so you have English, portugues, and Spanish at the front desk at all times. No complains at all!

By on Jul 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2021

Thank you for the great compliments regarding our team. We are very blessed to have such wonderful employees who are bi-lingual. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

2
Family Family with small children

The front desk staff was very kind and offered us an early check-in. They also responded quickly to quiet down an unruly group of teenagers in the pool late at night. The pool stays open until 11:00 p.m., so beware pool side rooms if you plan to sleep before pool closing. The hotel is in desperate need of a deep clean. The room was humid and musty, the carpet was not vacuumed thoroughly, the curtains had large stains, and there was mold and mildew growing in the corners of the bathroom and the exposed sink drain pipes. We made it work for a few nights but I wouldn't recommend.

By on Jun 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2021

Please, accept our apologies for any short-comings you experienced during your stay with us. Please, feel free to contact a member of our management team should you desire to provide a more clear understanding so that we can improve. Thanks again and have safe travels

5
Everyone

Like that the rooms was clean

By on Jun 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2021

Thank you for your review.

3
Everyone

By on Jun 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2021

Thank you for your review.

2
Family

The rooms smelled like cigarettes and marijuana. My rug in between the bed became wet at night. Bathroom door gets stuck when closed. Fromt desk would not answer the phone. Called them multiple times for a tv remote

By on Jun 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 8, 2021

Hello, as you chose to post your review anonymously, we are unable to appropriately reply to this survey. Nor, can we confirm that you stayed with us. A review of our concerns log does not indicate any abnormalities resembling what you have described. Please, feel free to contact a member of our management team should you desire to provide a more clear understanding so that we can improve.

Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Orlando-Hotels-Best-Western-Orlando-Gateway-Hotel.h40265-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Orlando-Hotels-Best-Western-Orlando-Gateway-Hotel.h40265-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Orlando-Hotels-Best-Western-Orlando-Gateway-Hotel.h40265-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions