Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The property was listed as having a full kitchen, but it didn’t have an oven and no kitchenware. You had to go check them out at the service desk. Also, in the two weeks that I was there, no service was provided, no clean towels, linen change, nor did anyone come to vacuum or tidy. There was a note on the counter stating to the effect that service would not be provided.

We asked for a non smoking room and our room smelled terrible like smoke there was an actual cat scratch mat in the middle of our room with a huge hole that looked like a cat tore up the carpet. So we were able to switch rooms. Lady at the front desk was very nice. So the next room we received all the cabinets, drawers microwave door were open when we walked in. It looked like maybe they had sprayed for bugs or something. It was very late and we were so tired. Definitely feel like we wasted our money. Didn’t even get a good night sleep at all.

I mean we had a place to stay coming from Pennsylvania but the sheets were not clean and to get more towels you guys said you had to pay for it. The extended stay in Pennsylvania has nvr chrged for extra towels! I did not like that animals were there! We were in the third floor and people had there dogs. I just hope the dogs are not sleeping in the beds yikes !

The room was not restocked. The floor was very sticky and old bandage wrapper was in the corner of the room.

Helen and Keshia both have great with customer service . They were great on get me all set up The room was amazing

I’ll never book through orbitz again we had 5 rooms reserved and they only had 4 rooms for us we travel together and ride together when we book like this I better not be charged for the 5 room because it was not our fault we didn’t take it

Easy access to Hampton Roads Venue, Clean, and helpful staff

Staff was very friendly. Room had a dirty odor. Shower stopped working the morning I checked out.

I only had 1 issue with the property during my stay. The water in the tub was running non-stop. Although the lever was in the off position, it did not stop the water from running. Front desk staff was notified and we were told that maintenance would take care of it. They did not. During our entire stay, the water ran at a steady speed. The bathroom felt like a sauna. Wasn’t happy about this, however this was the only issue I had with the property.

After driving 4.5 hours and getting there late, we entered the hotel lobby and immediately smelled second hand smoke. The front desk person was friendly and had us sign a no-smoking agreement. We entered our room to find outdated decor and more second hand smells coming through the vents. We were too tired to complain or find another hotel, so braved it there for one night. At least the mattress was firm and clean and the hot water worked. (P.S. Bring your own hair dryer.)

Staff went above and beyond the call of duty .Friendly and Nice ......

My room was clean but it felt like I was in super 8 with a Kitchen. Didn't feel too comfortable.

Nothing special. Just a place to stay for a night. Price was lowest I could find. Breakfast was muffin or granola bar only. Coffeemate ran out. Not good.

Needed a place to stay overnight after driving 8 hours. The room was comfortable for the price. I liked that the fact that it had a stovetop, microwave and large refrigerator.

My stay at this hotel would have been fine, if the first room I was in didn't smell like cigarette smoke! That was very unpleasant. Once a guest checks-out, housekeeping is supposed to clean and make sure the room smells fresh, right? Regardless of how long a guest stays, their room should be cleaned everyday. Trash emptied, bed changed and bathroom supplied with clean towels, tissue and soap. Someone should be at the front desk at all times.Altough the staff was curtious, at this time I would not recommend Extended Stay America to anyone until things improve.

Commerce Dr Hampton VA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Hampton Coliseum and Hampton Roads Convention Center
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking

Located in Coliseum Central, Extended Stay America Suites Hampton Coliseum is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as Hampton Roads Convention Center and Hampton Coliseum. This hotel has 104 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 104 accommodations feature kitchens and space to spread out with dining areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards are also standard. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

At Extended Stay America Suites Hampton Coliseum, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Suites Hampton Coliseum

Everyone (15) Couples (7) Business (3) Family (9) Other (2) Friends (1)
1
Everyone

The property was listed as having a full kitchen, but it didn’t have an oven and no kitchenware. You had to go check them out at the service desk. Also, in the two weeks that I was there, no service was provided, no clean towels, linen change, nor did anyone come to vacuum or tidy. There was a note on the counter stating to the effect that service would not be provided.

By on Jul 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2021

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are sorry you were inconvenience by our hotel policies for kitchenware and housekeeping. Please note, to ensure the cleanliness of kitchenware, brand standards require us to keep them at the front desk. Please also know, keeping the safety of our guests in mind, we have modified our housekeeping processes to provide you with choices for when we clean your suite. Our front desk is available to make arrangements based on your requirements. We hope you will reconsider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Family Friends

By on Sep 23, 2019

5
Everyone

By on Aug 8, 2019

3
Family Family

We asked for a non smoking room and our room smelled terrible like smoke there was an actual cat scratch mat in the middle of our room with a huge hole that looked like a cat tore up the carpet. So we were able to switch rooms. Lady at the front desk was very nice. So the next room we received all the cabinets, drawers microwave door were open when we walked in. It looked like maybe they had sprayed for bugs or something. It was very late and we were so tired. Definitely feel like we wasted our money. Didn’t even get a good night sleep at all.

By on Aug 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2019

Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations with both of your rooms and regret the inconvenience caused. Your feedback has been shared with the respective teams to improve our accommodations moving forward. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so we can provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family Family

I mean we had a place to stay coming from Pennsylvania but the sheets were not clean and to get more towels you guys said you had to pay for it. The extended stay in Pennsylvania has nvr chrged for extra towels! I did not like that animals were there! We were in the third floor and people had there dogs. I just hope the dogs are not sleeping in the beds yikes !

By on Jul 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2019

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the less than spotless condition of your guest suite and for the housekeeping service issues you experienced. This does not meet our standards, and steps have already been taken to address and correct our performance. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back our way. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

By on Jul 17, 2019

2
Everyone

By on Jul 6, 2019

3
Everyone

The room was not restocked. The floor was very sticky and old bandage wrapper was in the corner of the room.

By on Jul 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2019

Lisa, thank you for your review. We are sorry for not living up to our commitment to clean, fresh accommodations during your stay and for your disappointment with the amenities not in the suite. Your feedback will be shared with our housekeeping staff for review and action. We value your comments and hope to have another chance to redeem ourselves. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Business Business

Helen and Keshia both have great with customer service . They were great on get me all set up The room was amazing

By on Jun 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 13, 2019

Gibson, thank you for sharing your comments online. It is a delight to know you were impressed with how well-kept our property is and that you were awed with the service provided by our associates. Your compliments are shared with Helen and Keshia. Thank you once more for staying at Extended Stay America, and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

I’ll never book through orbitz again we had 5 rooms reserved and they only had 4 rooms for us we travel together and ride together when we book like this I better not be charged for the 5 room because it was not our fault we didn’t take it

By on May 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 24, 2019

Thank you for your review. We apologize for not being able to accommodate you in all the rooms you booked. Regarding your concern regarding the charges, please feel free to reach out to our front desk so that they can assist you further. We hope this unfortunate situation will not prevent you from staying with us again. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America Suites Hampton Coliseum

1915 Commerce Dr, Hampton, VA 23666
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Hampton-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Hampton-Coliseum.h922138-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Hampton-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Hampton-Coliseum.h922138-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Hampton-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Hampton-Coliseum.h922138-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions