Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Property is in shambles. Fire alarm went off and stayed on all night. Dirty lobby.

This place is absolutely disgusting! The rooms are not locked, all the vacant rooms had the slide locks open to keep the doors open. The bed wasn’t made and you could see where someone was clearly laying on the gross sheets. When we walked in it smelled like someone just took a s*it. The front desk said while we were checking in, that if we don’t like the room we had 15 minutes to come back down and get a refund, we weren’t even in the room longer than 5 minutes, almost 2 months later and we haven’t received it after multiple attempts but they literally don’t answer the phones! If you want bed bugs, lice, drugs or a prostitute then this is your place!! SO GROSS!

When arrived no one at front desk for 25 min, lobby locked, no bell. Door to room wouldn’t open, maintenance guy had to drop kick it twice to get us in our room. Key lock door to parking left open and broken. Literally had a shopping cart someone had used for recycling in ground floor hallway. Main light did not turn on in room. Bathroom towel had disgusting stains. Trash strewn all over hallway, looked like hadn’t been cleaned for months. Previous customers toothpaste spital in the uncleared sink. There are so many things wrong on so many levels with this location, thus shouldn’t be associated with orbits or an option for someone traveling through and unaware of area. If stayed at a lot of dingy hotels for a lot of years, I’ve never complained. This one takes the cake.

Filthy rooms and hallways. Trash everywhere outside. Guests definitely doing a ton of drugs. Staff was extremely rude. 0 stars.

Would not recommend. Property is NOT appealing.

great location, but homeless people roaming around, weed smell in entire hotel and room, no toiletries in room

The worst hotel I've ever stayed at. If you're in the area and this is your only option, sleep outside; you'd be safer. It's a trap house with multiple families living full time in there. We heard the woman next to us tell her kids shes leaving to go find weed so she can 'f***ing stand them" and didnt come back for like 5 hours. We had no toilet paper or trowels in our room, we were told to come get them in the lobby. They also wont refund me when wr left at 11pm because someone kept calling our room and hanging up and we didnt feel safe. One of the little boys that lived there drove a remote control car up and down the hall all night.

Very Stinky smell all the time and stuff never cleaning even if you request.

This property has gone down. Upon arriving we noticed an abandoned car with smashed windows right next to the motel entrance. The bed was very old and creaking. The heat didn’t work in the room. Had to remind housekeeping to make up the room. STAY AWAY!

I requested a smoking room, and I mentioned that when checking in, but there was a no smoking symbol on the door. Confusing. Big spill on the floor that hadn't been cleaned. Two bugs were crawling around. The room didn't appear to have bern cleaned. Gross. Stay away.

It is good location and friendly staff, but the room was not clean.

Was the cheapest thing in the area for 4th of July weekend. Had very low expectations but was still disappointed. Sheets were stained, one look like someone had stepped on it. There were large noticeable strands of hair in the bed and on the tables. Asked front desk to replace the sheets twice, but became clear that it wasn't going to happen. Walmart is close by, so we bought blankets and put them on top to sleep on. Whatever your expectations are, set them lower. We had to be in the area for a event and this was basically it for under $200 a night. The other choices are to stay further away and drive in.

The floor was very damp, not slippery, there was obviously water on the floor in the morning, there was no toiletries on the first day, and it was only the next day. Other is ok

The hotel had a unique smell of must, mold and smoke. The property was smoke free but a smell lingered in the lobby and 2nd floor. When

Staff was cordial and responsive. The rooms were clean and beds are decent for a motel. Location is good being 10 to 15 minute drive from most tourist attractions and major beaches, and there is an adjacent strip mall with a grocery store, Walmart and other shops. On the downside, there is an adult video store just across the street. I was traveling with family so it just felt a little creepy.

Room smells like cigarettes. No hairdryer. Restroom was dirty.

Jt Connell Hwy Newport RI

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Motel 6 Newport, RI places you within 2 miles (3 km) of popular sights like Thames Street and Newport Harbour. This 76-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and laundry facilities.


Rooms

The 76 rooms have free local calls. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and TVs with cable channels.


Property features

Guests staying at Motel 6 Newport, RI enjoy free WiFi in public areas, laundry facilities, and a vending machine. Free parking is included with your stay. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests.

Room options

Standard Quadruple Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Motel 6 Newport, RI

Everyone (15) Couples (2) Family (8)
1
Family

Property is in shambles. Fire alarm went off and stayed on all night. Dirty lobby.

By on Sep 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2021

Guest satisfaction is top priority at our hotel; for that reason we truly appreciate your comments regarding our property. Guest comments such as yours help us to continuously improve. Thank you for your business.

1
Partner Couples

This place is absolutely disgusting! The rooms are not locked, all the vacant rooms had the slide locks open to keep the doors open. The bed wasn’t made and you could see where someone was clearly laying on the gross sheets. When we walked in it smelled like someone just took a s*it. The front desk said while we were checking in, that if we don’t like the room we had 15 minutes to come back down and get a refund, we weren’t even in the room longer than 5 minutes, almost 2 months later and we haven’t received it after multiple attempts but they literally don’t answer the phones! If you want bed bugs, lice, drugs or a prostitute then this is your place!! SO GROSS!

By on Aug 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2021

"We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your recent experience and find this very distressing. Our primary goal is always to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience. For that reason we're sincerely sorry to have failed to meet your needs. Please keep us in mind for a future stay, so we may show you how we are continuously working to improve in these areas.", we certainly take this very seriously and have forwarded it to management. We appreciate that you've taken the time to leave advice for our future guests.

1
Partner Couples

When arrived no one at front desk for 25 min, lobby locked, no bell. Door to room wouldn’t open, maintenance guy had to drop kick it twice to get us in our room. Key lock door to parking left open and broken. Literally had a shopping cart someone had used for recycling in ground floor hallway. Main light did not turn on in room. Bathroom towel had disgusting stains. Trash strewn all over hallway, looked like hadn’t been cleaned for months. Previous customers toothpaste spital in the uncleared sink. There are so many things wrong on so many levels with this location, thus shouldn’t be associated with orbits or an option for someone traveling through and unaware of area. If stayed at a lot of dingy hotels for a lot of years, I’ve never complained. This one takes the cake.

By on Jun 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2021

Through feedback like yours we are able to address our weaknesses and to improve upon them and we thank you for taking the time to write. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.

1
Family

Filthy rooms and hallways. Trash everywhere outside. Guests definitely doing a ton of drugs. Staff was extremely rude. 0 stars.

By on Jun 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2021

It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Through guest feedback like yours, we are better able to address such issues quickly and to thus improve the guest experience for future visitors and for your own future visits.

1
Business Business

Would not recommend. Property is NOT appealing.

By on May 20, 2021

Review comment responded on May 22, 2021

Your review and rating are greatly appreciated; though we are sad to hear that your experience was not up to your preferences and we appreciate your feedback. Our guest satisfaction is important to us and we will be using this feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience and overall impression of our Hotel. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

2
Friends Family

great location, but homeless people roaming around, weed smell in entire hotel and room, no toiletries in room

By on Jul 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. This is certainly distressing to hear and we want you to know that we are addressing the issue as guest service and satisfaction are our top priorities. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to have your expectations exceeded; I hope that this will be the case during your next stay with us.

1
Family

The worst hotel I've ever stayed at. If you're in the area and this is your only option, sleep outside; you'd be safer. It's a trap house with multiple families living full time in there. We heard the woman next to us tell her kids shes leaving to go find weed so she can 'f***ing stand them" and didnt come back for like 5 hours. We had no toilet paper or trowels in our room, we were told to come get them in the lobby. They also wont refund me when wr left at 11pm because someone kept calling our room and hanging up and we didnt feel safe. One of the little boys that lived there drove a remote control car up and down the hall all night.

By , from SLC. UT on Jul 10, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review regarding your most recent stay. We are very sorry to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the situation you experienced. Your feedback is taken very seriously and has been forwarded to management so that appropriate steps may be taken. Thank you again for your feedback.

1
Friends Family

Very Stinky smell all the time and stuff never cleaning even if you request.

By on Jan 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2020

We appreciate the comments, especially with regards to your opinion of our hotel. We greatly appreciate the time you've taken to rate our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

1
Family

This property has gone down. Upon arriving we noticed an abandoned car with smashed windows right next to the motel entrance. The bed was very old and creaking. The heat didn’t work in the room. Had to remind housekeeping to make up the room. STAY AWAY!

By on Dec 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2019

We appreciate the comments, especially with regards to your opinion of our bed and your insights regarding our housekeeping. It is our ever present goal to provide each guest with the highest level of service; so thank you for your business and for sharing.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2019

To see that we were able to provide our guest with such a wonderful experience is the highest compliment we can receive. Thank you so much for sharing!

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Newport-Hotels-Motel-6-Newport,-RI.h1046248-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Newport-Hotels-Motel-6-Newport,-RI.h1046248-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Newport-Hotels-Motel-6-Newport,-RI.h1046248-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions