Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

the Bathroom and Kitchen area had not been cleaned and when I told the owner, she gave no response and I had to find one of the cleaning staff to clear the trash out and clean up the best he could. BOTH towel racks were falling off the walls and the carpet had not been vacuumed, let alone shampooed at all ! the Wi Fi NEVER worked the entire 6 days I was there and The Pool was off limits! DO NOT BOOK THIS STINKHOLE!! I have been in flophouses in the Mission district of San Francisco that seemed like the Ritz Carlton compared to this place! The Owner was rude insensitive and did not care at all for the safety or comfort of her guests.

Not very clean. It was the bare minimum of clean. Everything was old and brown tinted. However this is what I half way expected at a place called Roadside inn

The staff was very friendly and helpful .. I will be making a reservation with them at a later date

It was horrible they are VERY dirty (so bad we couldnt stay there) unprofessional! I would not recommend this place to anyone

Staff was friendly. Room was clean. For those complaining that they thought it was on or super close to the beach I suggest you get amap app or look at your GPS. It helps. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the beach but there is a parking place near the water. Room wifi was terrible. Couldn't connect. Beds were super firm/hard. Pool was tiny but clean. TV channel selection was great. Had a non smoking room and it didn't smell. All in all it was ok. Good deal for the price and a short stay. Would be 4 stars if not for the WiFi issues

Hotel was a rat hole. Room was not clean. The Super Strong smell of Cigarettes was BAD. Bed sheets had to be changed. Bathroom door wouldn't close because the commode was blocking it. For a charge of $150 I would expect better conditions.

The place looks abandoned and the room verified that feeling. Stay somewhere else.

Smoke infested disaster, no blankets just a bed cover. Security issues. Sleeping in my car is an upgrade.

Horrible service, room was equipped like a homeless shelter. Washcloths were toilet tissue thin. Not worth $110 a night. Beach was not in sight. Rodeway in disguise.

Worth your money. Basically just needed somewhere to sleep, since I was on a trip to the beach. So this is definitely worth it. Staff is friendly, only problem was I never received room service. But then again I didn't really need it considering I brought my own towels and ate out every night. Fair enough.

Upon our stay we expected to be right near the beach but we had to drive to get there.couldn't even swim in the pool if we chose to cause it supposedly only opened seasonal.which was not posted.room was not very clean and beds were very uncomfortable.

Hwy 17 North Surfside Beach SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Laundry facilities

Road Side Inn places you next to Magnolia Lake and within a mile (2 km) of Ocean Lakes Beach. This 33-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

The 33 rooms feature kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Free local calls are also available.


Property features

Guests of Road Side Inn enjoy features like an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and laundry facilities. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Smoking, Ground Floor

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Ground Floor

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Road Side Inn

Everyone (9) Family (3)
1
Business Business

the Bathroom and Kitchen area had not been cleaned and when I told the owner, she gave no response and I had to find one of the cleaning staff to clear the trash out and clean up the best he could. BOTH towel racks were falling off the walls and the carpet had not been vacuumed, let alone shampooed at all ! the Wi Fi NEVER worked the entire 6 days I was there and The Pool was off limits! DO NOT BOOK THIS STINKHOLE!! I have been in flophouses in the Mission district of San Francisco that seemed like the Ritz Carlton compared to this place! The Owner was rude insensitive and did not care at all for the safety or comfort of her guests.

By on Jul 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2021

Owner dont stay in town. You could have checked out after first night . Sorry for that

3
Family Family

Not very clean. It was the bare minimum of clean. Everything was old and brown tinted. However this is what I half way expected at a place called Roadside inn

By on Apr 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2021

Sorry you were not happy.

4
Everyone

By on Sep 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 11, 2020

Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate your business

4
Everyone

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2019

Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate your business.

5
Family

The staff was very friendly and helpful .. I will be making a reservation with them at a later date

By on May 19, 2019

Review comment responded on May 19, 2019

Thank you taking time to review. We appreciate your business

1
Family with small children

It was horrible they are VERY dirty (so bad we couldnt stay there) unprofessional! I would not recommend this place to anyone

By on Apr 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2019

Sorry you were unhappy with your stay we will work hard to improve the issues you have experienced with us

3

ok for the price

Everyone

Staff was friendly. Room was clean. For those complaining that they thought it was on or super close to the beach I suggest you get amap app or look at your GPS. It helps. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the beach but there is a parking place near the water. Room wifi was terrible. Couldn't connect. Beds were super firm/hard. Pool was tiny but clean. TV channel selection was great. Had a non smoking room and it didn't smell. All in all it was ok. Good deal for the price and a short stay. Would be 4 stars if not for the WiFi issues

By on Jul 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2018

thank you for staying with us

1
Everyone

Hotel was a rat hole. Room was not clean. The Super Strong smell of Cigarettes was BAD. Bed sheets had to be changed. Bathroom door wouldn't close because the commode was blocking it. For a charge of $150 I would expect better conditions.

By , from Ohio on Jul 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2018

We are sorry you were unhappy the issues you experienced. Thanks to let us know we will try to improve.

2

keep on going

Everyone

The place looks abandoned and the room verified that feeling. Stay somewhere else.

By , from Hudson, Florida on Oct 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2017

We are sorry you came at the off season as we are motel off the strip business has been quite slow so I am happy you had a nice quite stay

1

this place is a dump.

Everyone

Smoke infested disaster, no blankets just a bed cover. Security issues. Sleeping in my car is an upgrade.

By , from SC on Jul 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2017

We sorry you were unhappy. You came in busy July weekend. We will work hard to improve the issues you meantioned. Thanks for letting us know.

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Surfside-Beach-Hotels-Road-Side-Inn.h10911270-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Surfside-Beach-Hotels-Road-Side-Inn.h10911270-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Surfside-Beach-Hotels-Road-Side-Inn.h10911270-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions