Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Small older boutique hotel. Not on the beach, it’s only a short 1/2 block away but you can hear the surf from the room. Nice quiet location. Very comfortable. Dated but clean. No TV’s in the rooms. Nice breakfast included. Would stay here again.

We booked this B&B after reading all the great reviews and seeing the lovely photos. I cannot agree with those reviews. First the positives: the B&B was clean, the staff was friendly and it had a nice outside seating area. Now the negatives: The photos make the B&B look much nicer that it actually is. Our room was extremely small (not spacious like the on-line write up says). We had to keep one of our suitcases open in the closet because there was so little room. There are no screens on the windows, which would have been nice since there is no air conditioning. The furniture in our room was old--not "charmingly antique"--just worn out and old. Our bathroom door did not stay closed because it was old and the handle and lock didn't work properly. I requested TWICE during our stay that it be fixed so that the person in the bathroom could actually have privacy. They did not fix it. The breakfast consisted every day of the same thing: berries, cold cereal, a croissant, and a piece of quiche. Different breakfast options for people staying multiple days would have been nice. We stayed at many B&Bs along the west coast. This one was the most expensive. Based on how expensive it was, it could not compare in quality or in value to the others. I would not return.

Very nice location with ample parking. Nice breakfast in morning. 1 block from beach access. 0.8 miles from ocean avenue. Stayed in cottage 18 which was situated near parking which made for rather noisy conditions. Bed was too soft for our liking so we did not sleep well. Overall nice place with great location, just needs a few upgrades.

Bay View Ave Carmel CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Spa services
  • Concierge services

Located in Carmel Point within a short stroll of Carmel Beach, Sandpiper Inn is within a 15-minute drive of Pebble Beach Golf Links. This 17-room, 3-star inn welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and concierge services.


Rooms

The 17 shared accommodations afford space to spread out with dining areas and sitting areas. Guests can expect to find free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers, free toiletries, and bathrobes. In-room massages are available, and other amenities include free bottled water and desks.


Property features

Sandpiper Inn features free WiFi in public areas, spa services, and microwave in a common area. A stay here includes free parking. Front-desk staff can help with concierge services, and provide local restaurant recommendations. Other amenities at this beach inn include a refrigerator in a common area, express check-out, and free newspapers.

Room options

Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Garden View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Superior Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, Garden View

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, Ocean View

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, Courtyard View

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Sandpiper Inn

Everyone (1) Couples (2) Family (1)
4
Family

Small older boutique hotel. Not on the beach, it’s only a short 1/2 block away but you can hear the surf from the room. Nice quiet location. Very comfortable. Dated but clean. No TV’s in the rooms. Nice breakfast included. Would stay here again.

By on Jan 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2020

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

3
Partner Couples

We booked this B&B after reading all the great reviews and seeing the lovely photos. I cannot agree with those reviews. First the positives: the B&B was clean, the staff was friendly and it had a nice outside seating area. Now the negatives: The photos make the B&B look much nicer that it actually is. Our room was extremely small (not spacious like the on-line write up says). We had to keep one of our suitcases open in the closet because there was so little room. There are no screens on the windows, which would have been nice since there is no air conditioning. The furniture in our room was old--not "charmingly antique"--just worn out and old. Our bathroom door did not stay closed because it was old and the handle and lock didn't work properly. I requested TWICE during our stay that it be fixed so that the person in the bathroom could actually have privacy. They did not fix it. The breakfast consisted every day of the same thing: berries, cold cereal, a croissant, and a piece of quiche. Different breakfast options for people staying multiple days would have been nice. We stayed at many B&Bs along the west coast. This one was the most expensive. Based on how expensive it was, it could not compare in quality or in value to the others. I would not return.

By on Jul 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. I am delighted to know that you thought highly of our staff and our location. I am sorry, however, to learn that the accommodations were not to your liking. We have accommodations of varying sizes, as all of the rooms are unique, so we may not have had the ability to offer another, more ample room. I was sorry to see that you had a maintenance issue, although we will be addressing it; I am sorry that we were unable to do so while you were with us. Our breakfast is indeed an ample continental breakfast which is included with your stay, so I hope that you were able to enjoy it. I am also happy to inform you that we will be undergoing an extensive remodel last this year which will bring with it an updated aesthetic and new amenities. We look forward to having you back. All the best, Ramon Serrano General Manager

4
Partner Couples

Very nice location with ample parking. Nice breakfast in morning. 1 block from beach access. 0.8 miles from ocean avenue. Stayed in cottage 18 which was situated near parking which made for rather noisy conditions. Bed was too soft for our liking so we did not sleep well. Overall nice place with great location, just needs a few upgrades.

By on May 25, 2019

Review comment responded on May 29, 2019

We appreciate your feed back

4
Everyone

By on Apr 28, 2019

Review comment responded on May 8, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Carmel-Hotels-Sandpiper-Inn.h34908940-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Carmel-Hotels-Sandpiper-Inn.h34908940-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Carmel-Hotels-Sandpiper-Inn.h34908940-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions