Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Very easy to find using Google Maps. Very musty smelling when you walk in the door. As we walked to our room we noticed lots of dehumidifiers in the hallway. Once we got in the room the smell was worse, as the carpet in the room was wet. We were in a hurry so didn't have time to complain and get another room. Husband took a shower that turned into a bath since the tub didn't drain. Got back to room 7 hours later and the tub was still full. In the morning the tub was still full so no shower for either of us. Told the manager and he said they could put a dehumidifier in the room. No breakfast either. We only stayed one night so not sure what happened with tub and wet carpet.

The hotel is out dated, dingy and dark. The room itself was nasty. One of the two beds was covered in hairs and had a few ants on it. The other bed appeared to be clean when I checked before laying down. There isn’t a comforter but instead what appears to be a rock shower curtains with burn holes and stains. The bathroom was also covered in hair. I had to wash the tub before giving my child a bath because the amount of hair that was stuck all over. The only thing I can say good about the hotel is that the family who owns it is very nice.

I was unable to go due to a covid cancelation. I also mostly did not recieve my deposits back. What ever booking site I used waas not that informative.

The first room we were in smelled like someone was smoking in it. The second room had toilet problems. The toilet will overflow when flushed, and the floor did not look clean. Even after notifying the front desk, the floor was not cleaned and we still have to wait an hour after flushing to use the toilet again. So we either all have to go on one flush or wait. Finally, we were told there was no breakfast, even though we paid extra for breakfast because they were remodeling.

Good customer service, convenient location, cheap rooms.

This hotel had bed bugs horrible rud stafff and the nastyest rooms I've ever seen plus druggis running every where

Breakfast was terrible, A/C in the room loud, rooms are roughly the size of closets.

Nothing liked about this place. As per picture of room booked nothing even close to it. Couldnt refuse the room because everything was booked in an area. Breakfast was terrible!!! Nothing positive to say about this place

We liked the friendly staff and clean rooms and very convenient location of our hotel. We didn't like the quite loud and constant air conditioner and the very minimal continental breakfast.

Three hours prior to check-in I received a call from a male from Travel Lodge stating that due to circumstances our room was no longer available. He also stated i should not have any difficulty finding a room elsewhere. I informed him that we reserved this hotel because of the reasonable price and would not be able to find a room comparable due to the late notice and was blown off. We did end up staying elsewhere at a much higher cost.

I love the breakfast in AM, the bathroom abit smaller but cleaned, the community was very quite at my favor. The most of all, the price was great...

The hotel was very dated and as a result the impression is that it's also not real clean. The room was so small that it felt cramped with just my husband and I. In the future we will gladly pay the minimal price difference for a more pleasant stay. On the plus side the staff we interacted with were wonderful!

It's what you should expect for a cheap hotel. So do not expect much. It could be that I usually stay at much nicer hotels and everything was sold out and I needed a room after my flight was cancelled. If you need a bed and that's all you need, it's ok.

Lobby and hallways smell strongly of cigarette smoke. Bathroom wall was deteriorating because of water damage. Refrigerator was very loud. We unplugged it to be able to sleep.

Staff was very respectful and accommodating. I thought the breakfast was great and the waffles were great.

Honestly, if you don't have to stay here - don't. I knew it was a two star hotel upon booking but holy cow. This place is gross. The sheets has cigarette burns in them, the towels and shower curtain look like they haven't been replaced in YEARS. Some were white and some were so old they were yellow. One day we even came back from our work meeting to find our room left open with the door stopper in the door. Our cleaning person left our door open! The breakfast was good if you got there right at the beginning but if you showed up an hour into the breakfast time most of the good stuff was already gone. Seriously, spend the extra money and go somewhere else. I wish I would have!

This was our second night as a mini-vacation with our daughter. The motel was in a good location for restaurants, but it smelled quite bad--even though non-smoking, the whole place reeked of stale cigarette smoke. Amenities? Not any that stood the test of a good motel. The room AC was fair but didn't deal with the odors.

We stayed here because it was the most inexpensive hotel within driving distance (about 7 miles) of the Chanhassen Dinner Theater. The entire hotel smelled like cigarette smoke and was quite noxious to modern sensibilities. The continental breakfast was below average with few selections. I could live with the "old" TV (they've not upgraded to flat screens), but was disappointed to find no USB stations to charge my cell phone.

1st Ave E Shakopee MN

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Business center
  • Laundry facilities

Located within a mile (2 km) of Minnesota Valley State Recreation Area, Travelodge by Wyndham Valleyfair Shakopee is within 3 miles (5 km) of Valleyfair Amusement Park. The 53 rooms at this hotel include coffee makers and TVs and guests can enjoy free breakfast.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM.


Rooms

Travelodge by Wyndham Valleyfair Shakopee's 53 rooms are air-conditioned and provide coffee makers, free local calls, and safes. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include ironing boards and desks. Housekeeping is available once per stay.


Property features

Guests of Travelodge by Wyndham Valleyfair Shakopee enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a business center. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. This hotel also has laundry facilities.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Recliner)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Upgraded, Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Travelodge by Wyndham Valleyfair Shakopee

Everyone (6) Couples (15) Business (5) Family (12) Other (3) Friends (3)
2
Partner Couples

Very easy to find using Google Maps. Very musty smelling when you walk in the door. As we walked to our room we noticed lots of dehumidifiers in the hallway. Once we got in the room the smell was worse, as the carpet in the room was wet. We were in a hurry so didn't have time to complain and get another room. Husband took a shower that turned into a bath since the tub didn't drain. Got back to room 7 hours later and the tub was still full. In the morning the tub was still full so no shower for either of us. Told the manager and he said they could put a dehumidifier in the room. No breakfast either. We only stayed one night so not sure what happened with tub and wet carpet.

By on Oct 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 6, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. If your room was not cleaned according to these standards, I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the oversight. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

2
Family with small children Business Business

The hotel is out dated, dingy and dark. The room itself was nasty. One of the two beds was covered in hairs and had a few ants on it. The other bed appeared to be clean when I checked before laying down. There isn’t a comforter but instead what appears to be a rock shower curtains with burn holes and stains. The bathroom was also covered in hair. I had to wash the tub before giving my child a bath because the amount of hair that was stuck all over. The only thing I can say good about the hotel is that the family who owns it is very nice.

By on Jul 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2021

It's our ambition to give you a five star experience, and it's disheartening to discover that this is not the impression we left you with. We understand the frustration and we want to make sure that our guests are always comfortable. We appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. We are always looking for ways to improve upon the guest experience and I hope you will return to see how we continue to grow and evolve.

1
Family

I was unable to go due to a covid cancelation. I also mostly did not recieve my deposits back. What ever booking site I used waas not that informative.

By on Sep 6, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2020

Dear guest, we are very much apologetic that you have had issues on you stay. Our team will be having inspection on this. Thank you.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2020

From all of us, thank you for the fantastic rating! It was an honor to have you as a guest. Please choose us again on your next visit to the area!

1
Partner Couples

The first room we were in smelled like someone was smoking in it. The second room had toilet problems. The toilet will overflow when flushed, and the floor did not look clean. Even after notifying the front desk, the floor was not cleaned and we still have to wait an hour after flushing to use the toilet again. So we either all have to go on one flush or wait. Finally, we were told there was no breakfast, even though we paid extra for breakfast because they were remodeling.

By on Dec 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2020

Know that your voice is of tremendous importance to us and we value your comments about our breakfast and front desk. We appreciate you for sharing your feedback as we continue to improve conveniences of our hotel for all of our guests.

5
Family Family with small children

Good customer service, convenient location, cheap rooms.

By on Nov 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 25, 2019

On behalf of our entire staff - thank you for the wonderful rating. We look forward to your next visit!

1
Partner Couples Family

This hotel had bed bugs horrible rud stafff and the nastyest rooms I've ever seen plus druggis running every where

By on Oct 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 25, 2019

I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such a usual experience. We take this quite seriously and have shared your feedback with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.

1
Business Business

Breakfast was terrible, A/C in the room loud, rooms are roughly the size of closets.

By on Aug 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2019

Thank you for sharing this honest review and feedback about our breakfast and room. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

2
Family with small children

Nothing liked about this place. As per picture of room booked nothing even close to it. Couldnt refuse the room because everything was booked in an area. Breakfast was terrible!!! Nothing positive to say about this place

By on Aug 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our area and also our breakfast. We hope to see you again to deliver you with a 5 star experience.

4
Family

We liked the friendly staff and clean rooms and very convenient location of our hotel. We didn't like the quite loud and constant air conditioner and the very minimal continental breakfast.

By on Aug 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2019

Your voice is very important to us and we are continuously striving to improve upon the guest experience. Thank you for rating your stay and providing us insights regarding our staff and remarks about our air conditioner. We appreciate you for sharing your feedback as we continue to improve conveniences of our hotel for all of our guests.

Travelodge by Wyndham Valleyfair Shakopee

1251 1st Ave E, Shakopee, MN 55379
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Minneapolis---St.-Paul-Hotels-Travelodge-by-Wyndham-Valleyfair-Shakopee.h802307-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Minneapolis---St.-Paul-Hotels-Travelodge-by-Wyndham-Valleyfair-Shakopee.h802307-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Minneapolis---St.-Paul-Hotels-Travelodge-by-Wyndham-Valleyfair-Shakopee.h802307-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions