Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Like I said I would like a refund I have called them and you guys and I’m just being blown off bad customers service everywhere

Great place

I did not like anything about this place ! It was horrible &’ the roof top looked nothing like the picture. My room was small like a closet . Floor felt like fr I was walking on rocks ! Worst place I’ve ever been !

hot water was sometimes worked sometimes it didnt but other than that it was a great hotel

The decor

Never check in from one question I was ask from a person sittin outside made me feel uncomfortable and not safe for me to go back and forward from location

I love how the room so clean and the pool bar was amazing

It looks good on pictures thats it. No parking or Valet parking either. Room smelled funky.

Dangerous didn’t feel safe at all the people just hanging around the hotel homless

Everything was bad from arriving to departure the room no tv no living room the pool had to wait until the last day to use awful stay .

This is HOSTEL, not hotel! No parking included! Cancellation option expires a day before reservation date. Awful and it is unfair NOT to display obviously this info. DO NOT WASTE MONEY!

It was nice and comfortable. The stuffs are nice and helpful.

W 8th St Los Angeles CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Staples Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Downtown Los Angeles within a short walk of Staples Center, Freehand Los Angeles is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Los Angeles Convention Center. This 4-star hotel welcomes guests with 226 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Relish the local and international cuisine at The Exchange Restaurant , one of 3 onsite restaurants. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 226 accommodations feature a separate bedroom. Smart TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and designer toiletries, and pillowtop beds with Egyptian cotton sheets ensure a restful night.


Property features

At Freehand Los Angeles, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and a rooftop terrace. Valet parking is available for USD 49.50 per night. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and express check-out.

Room options

Standard Room (King - Skyline)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Shared Dormitory, Ensuite (Super-Six Co-Ed)

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Shared Dormitory, Ensuite (Shared Quad Co-Ed)

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Shared Dormitory, Mixed Dorm (Super-Eight Co-Ed)

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Guest reviews for Freehand Los Angeles

Everyone (28) Couples (3) Family (10)
1
Partner Couples

Like I said I would like a refund I have called them and you guys and I’m just being blown off bad customers service everywhere

By on Aug 10, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2021

Sorry for any inconveience.

5
Everyone

Great place

By on Apr 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2021

Thank you very much. We are so happy you enjoyed your recent visit. Come back soon.

1
Family

I did not like anything about this place ! It was horrible &’ the roof top looked nothing like the picture. My room was small like a closet . Floor felt like fr I was walking on rocks ! Worst place I’ve ever been !

By on Apr 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2021

Hello Anonymous, We are very sorry you did not enjoy. We have many different room types to choose from and are sure we could have accommodated you in a larger room had you mentioned this to us. Our rooftop has definitely grown more lush with foliage overtime. We feel this gives it a much more tranquil feel and our guests seem to really enjoy it. So we agree, not exactly like when the pictures were taken but even more beautiful. Again, our sincere apologies you did not have a good visit.

5
Partner Couples Business Business

hot water was sometimes worked sometimes it didnt but other than that it was a great hotel

By on Apr 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2021

Thank you. Our apologies in regard to the hot water. Hope this will not keep you from returning.

5
Family Family

The decor

By on Apr 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2021

Thank you!

4
Everyone

By on Mar 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 29, 2021

Thank you!

5
Everyone

By on Mar 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 29, 2021

Thank you!

4
Everyone

By on Mar 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2021

Thank you!

2
Everyone

Never check in from one question I was ask from a person sittin outside made me feel uncomfortable and not safe for me to go back and forward from location

By , from Los Angeles on Oct 6, 2020

1
Everyone

By on Sep 8, 2020

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Los-Angeles-Hotels-Freehand-Los-Angeles.h16317325-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Los-Angeles-Hotels-Freehand-Los-Angeles.h16317325-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Los-Angeles-Hotels-Freehand-Los-Angeles.h16317325-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions