Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I didnt like when I booked through Orbitz that I was booking a room in the older part of the hotel and in order to stay in the updated rooms there was an extra charge.

Friendly staff.

We used to go every year but will not go back again. Realize issues from the pandemic, but dirty and needing maintenance or attention… filthy carpets everywhere, casino machines needing attention and ignored, signage with decidedly conflicting information posted in close proximity in several areas. Employees generally friendly, but but one waitress lost it at breakfast one day screaming in the middle of the restaurant and forced all her tables out of the Market Street Cafe… probably 25-30 guests left their tables and food. There was no sign of a supervisor or manager. Food, when you could find an open restaurant, was not up to previous quality. Just an overall unpleasant stay.

Very close to fremont and dtlv! We come to explore vegas and not really stay in the room all day. So for what we get for our stay is more than enough!

The room was nice and clean. I did not know pool was not open. The pool was the reason we chose this hotel. My kids were disappointed, was nothing kid friendly for them to do. I don't advise staying at this location with children.

well maintained, clean room, great restaurant, excellent location,

The premium king room was great! I look forward to staying here during my next visit!

Poor service. The lost and found didn’t give me my charger!

Very nice sports book and bar area. Nice keno area. Room was nice and very quiet being a block away from the nightly bands on Fremont street

When we checked in and went to use the toilet, we found that it had not been cleaned properly. When they came to clean it, we saw upon check out that it was still not cleaned properly.

N/A jjjjjjjjajajajajkakaakakaknananakaiqiqnaiaiajajiai

Kinu brand shampoo, conditioner & body soap smells good. Glad they have body lotion too. Our hotel for 2 nights iin Oakland didnt provide that.

The first room we stayed in was not clean, did not have ice bucket, soap dish, sheets had stains on them second room was a little bit better but it was noisy because of the construction going on. Will not stay here again.

E Ogden Ave Las Vegas NV

Hotel highlights

  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Free valet and self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Casino

Located in Downtown Las Vegas, California Hotel and Casino is within a 5-minute walk of sights such as Fremont Street and Four Queens Casino. This 781-room, 3.5-star hotel has conveniences like a casino, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy dining at Redwood Steakhouse, one of 4 onsite restaurants. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 4:00 AM to 1:00 PM.


Rooms

The 781 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, safes, and ironing boards. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Wardrobes or closets are also included.


Property features

Guests of California Hotel and Casino enjoy a casino, an outdoor pool, and a gym. You can take advantage of free valet parking if you drive. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with luggage storage, concierge services, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include WiFi in public areas, an arcade/game room, and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Premium Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Premium Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Premium Room, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for California Hotel and Casino

Everyone (32) Couples (3) Family (11)
2
Family

I didnt like when I booked through Orbitz that I was booking a room in the older part of the hotel and in order to stay in the updated rooms there was an extra charge.

By on Sep 23, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 27, 2021

Thanks for sharing, Lisa. We appreciate the feedback.

5
Family

Friendly staff.

By on Jul 25, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 26, 2021

That's exactly what we like to hear. Thanks for the rating!

2
Friends

We used to go every year but will not go back again. Realize issues from the pandemic, but dirty and needing maintenance or attention… filthy carpets everywhere, casino machines needing attention and ignored, signage with decidedly conflicting information posted in close proximity in several areas. Employees generally friendly, but but one waitress lost it at breakfast one day screaming in the middle of the restaurant and forced all her tables out of the Market Street Cafe… probably 25-30 guests left their tables and food. There was no sign of a supervisor or manager. Food, when you could find an open restaurant, was not up to previous quality. Just an overall unpleasant stay.

By on Jul 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2021

Thank you for your review. If you have a few minutes, please reach out to us so that we can learn from your experience and resolve any issues you had with our service. We hope to see you again at the Cal.

5
Family

Very close to fremont and dtlv! We come to explore vegas and not really stay in the room all day. So for what we get for our stay is more than enough!

By on Jul 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2021

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, please come back and see us again soon!

2
Family with small children

The room was nice and clean. I did not know pool was not open. The pool was the reason we chose this hotel. My kids were disappointed, was nothing kid friendly for them to do. I don't advise staying at this location with children.

By on Jun 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2021

First of all, thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We work very hard to make every experience memorable and exceptional, and we apologize that yours was not up to our standards. We do keep our official website up-to-date on all amenities current status for the most up-to-date information. Mahalo, and please do visit us again!

5
Everyone

By on Jun 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2021

Your review means a lot to us! Thanks for visiting, and for taking the time to post this. If you have a moment to elaborate on your experience, we’d love feedback on what we can improve.

5
Family

well maintained, clean room, great restaurant, excellent location,

By on Apr 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 27, 2021

Wonderful! We are glad that you had a good experience. Your input is very valuable to us.

5
Everyone

The premium king room was great! I look forward to staying here during my next visit!

By on Apr 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2021

Awesome, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and look forward to your return.

4
Friends Family

By on Apr 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2021

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully, your next visit will be a five-star experience.

1
Family

Poor service. The lost and found didn’t give me my charger!

By , from Salt lake on Sep 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2020

Hello Marz, we are very sorry to hear that you had anything less than an exceptional experience. It is unfortunate that we were unable to locate your lost item for you. We do thank you for your visit and hope you will come back to see us again.

California Hotel and Casino

12 E Ogden Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89101
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Las-Vegas-Hotels-California-Hotel-and-Casino.h661793-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Las-Vegas-Hotels-California-Hotel-and-Casino.h661793-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Las-Vegas-Hotels-California-Hotel-and-Casino.h661793-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions