Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Lovely beach, very clean and quiet, plus water toys available at no charge

This is a great hotel in a great location. The staff was so kind and i loved the hotel. I will definitely be back to have a beautiful lake view room. I was here by myself but the surroundings and the hotel could create the most romantic weekend. love the Golden Arrow!

What a wonderful place. The grounds are beautiful. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. A very safe and clean environment. A lovely place for a family vacation! We will be back!

Location is awesome, amenities are fine. Hotel did nothing to blow my hair back but there was nothing wrong.

Paper thin walls and extremely loud patrons. Dogs barking at 6:00 am. Very terrible experience and we will never be back.

Location was beautiful right on Mirror Lake. You are basically in the heart of town.

Friendly staff, great service and amenities. Great location close walking distance to all the shops.

Beautiful scenery. Pool and hot tub were wonderful.

I chose this hotel based on other guests' reviews. This method of choosing a hotel has not failed me until now... I found this hotel to be dated. The room I was given was not very inviting. The water pressure in the tub was low and if I allowed it to get stronger the water in the tub wouldn't go down quickly enough. Not a very pleasant experience. The pool area was dated and unpleasant as well. The only good thing about this hotel was its location. It was in the center of Main Street, close to a variety of restaurants. And the view of the Mirror Lake from my hotel room was nice too.

The view was amazing. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I’d definitely stay here again.

Stayed only one night on a very rainy day. I loved that I had access to the entire hotel, my parked car, the restaurant and shops all without having to go outside. Beautiful location overlooking Mirror Lake. I was upgraded to a lakeside room for a very nominal fee. I was extremely pleased with this experience.

The hotel is centrally located on Main St in the center of Lake Placid near all shopping and restaurants. The hotel has it's own private beach access to Mirror Lake with beach towels and equipment for use, as well as beach chairs. However, if you get down to the beach past 10 or 11 AM finding unoccupied beach chairs will be difficult. The rooms are clean and slightly outdated in my opinion, but some might prefer to call it rustic as opposed to slightly outdated. However, the room doesn't feel cheap or dirty. The beds are very comfortable and firm. The TV has plenty of channels and programs to choose from. My only complaints would be that one day we went on a day trip to Montreal and upon returning to our hotel room the front door wasn't locked properly and anyone could have potentially walked into our room and stolen property. The balcony door was also fully open to the elements and unlocked. The next day our room wasn't cleaned at all, while we were out enjoying the town for several hours. I overall enjoyed the hotel but felt it was negligent service on behalf of the hotel employees. We didn't make an official complaint with hotel management because luckily nothing in the room was missing or damaged.

Perfect place to stay every thing is within walking distance plus it has a beautiful view big fire pit and boats and paddle boarding right next to the beach had a great time

The staff was so helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. The kids loved the lake access and the pool. The hotel is so close to everything, we were able to walk into town and walk to some hikes and sight-seeing areas too.

Main Street Lake Placid NY

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free covered self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Private beach

Lake Placid Winter Olympic Museum is within a 5-minute walk of Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort while other popular sites like Olympic Center are within a 15-minute stroll. This 3.5-star hotel has 166 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, a private beach, and an indoor pool.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All of Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort's 166 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 40-inch TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls are also available.


Property features

Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort features a private beach, an indoor pool, and a gym. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and concierge services. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a spa tub, a sauna, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Villageside Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Villageside Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Lakefront Guest Room, 1 King bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Lakefront Guest Room, 2 Queen beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Everyone (15) Couples (1) Family (3)
5
Family with small children

Lovely beach, very clean and quiet, plus water toys available at no charge

By on Jun 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2021

Thank you for the 5-star review! We’re glad you enjoyed our beach and water toys. We hope you can join us again soon!

4
Everyone

By on Jan 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 11, 2021

Thank you for the 4-star review Thomas! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

5
Everyone

By on Jan 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 11, 2021

Thank you for the 5-star review Phillip! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

5
Everyone

This is a great hotel in a great location. The staff was so kind and i loved the hotel. I will definitely be back to have a beautiful lake view room. I was here by myself but the surroundings and the hotel could create the most romantic weekend. love the Golden Arrow!

By , from Cincinnati, Ohio on Oct 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 21, 2020

Thank you for the 5-star review Elise! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was so kind. We hope you can come enjoy the beautiful views again soon!

4
Everyone

By on Oct 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2020

Thank you for the 4-star review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

5
Everyone

By on Sep 24, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 25, 2020

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

5
Family

What a wonderful place. The grounds are beautiful. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. A very safe and clean environment. A lovely place for a family vacation! We will be back!

By , from Queens on Aug 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 22, 2020

Thank you for the 5-star review Jess! We're glad you had a wonderful stay and that our staff was so friendly. We hope you will be back soon for another great visit!

3
Everyone

Location is awesome, amenities are fine. Hotel did nothing to blow my hair back but there was nothing wrong.

By , from Saratoga, ny on Feb 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 26, 2020

Thank you for the review Rob. We're sorry to hear you weren't more satisfied with your stay, but we're happy to hear you enjoyed our great location and that nothing was wrong. We hope you give us another try on your next visit to Lake Placid.

1
Family

Paper thin walls and extremely loud patrons. Dogs barking at 6:00 am. Very terrible experience and we will never be back.

By on Feb 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2020

Dear Anonymous, I was sorry to read your review. After going through the notes on your very quick 1 night visit, I do see that we offered to move you to a room at the far end of the hallway or a higher floor but that you did not wish to move. I am sorry you were disturbed by the ambient noises of the building. It is a very busy week, as you know, and we were at over 90% occupancy. There were no teams here or big groups at all. Just lots of people enjoying the Presidents Day holiday with family and friends. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us but do hope you had time to enjoy some of what Lake Placid has to offer.

4
Family Family with small children

Location was beautiful right on Mirror Lake. You are basically in the heart of town.

By on Nov 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 21, 2019

Thank you for the 4-star review! We're glad you enjoyed our beautiful and convenient location! We hope to see you again soon!

Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

2559 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Lake-Placid-Hotels-Golden-Arrow-Lakeside-Resort.h3164-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Lake-Placid-Hotels-Golden-Arrow-Lakeside-Resort.h3164-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Lake-Placid-Hotels-Golden-Arrow-Lakeside-Resort.h3164-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions