Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The Location was conveinent.

Staffing was very immature and not helpful with our needs the room was very misleading and the beach was quite small the pool was not heated and the family suites with a kitchenette was a ghetto Style oven that can't on the oven make sure you asked for a balcony because the family style rooms is looking a dumpster no views of Lake George when we asked to move they gave us the policy and refused to accommodate us if it wasn't a six and a half hour ride I would have left that moment . Almost forgot the lighting at night was awful which anyone can get into the building no security and didn't have elevators also not friendly staff at all very argumentative and not knowledgeable

Amazing everything

We had a 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the Cabana Bar….the room was very nice and clean and the view of the lake was great. We got a cot for our 3 night stay and it was unbearable to sleep on and our 7th person actually booked a room across the street because there was no way they could sleep on it. Just an FYI….there are ALOT of stairs here so if you have someone older I would make sure you get a first floor room but still lots of stairs up and down to the beach area and there is no elevator. The staff was all very friendly, and just a few minutes walk to all the action.

Limited parking

I’ll start by saying that I understand why things have to be done differently during these times. That being said ,my stay was not good. No maid service (again I understand that it’s bc of covid),no restaurants were open, no price reduction on the hotels end( I prepaid my trip back in January and they did lower their rates for people who booked or paid post covid troubles), also the hotel did not seem clean despite all the talks of extra cleaning, bathroom always smelled musty,they charged for coffee, only 1 spot per room(Even though we had a suite and my adult daughter drove her own car in because she lives relatively close), and kayak rental employee was a miserable burnout. Things I liked: it was on the lake,I could walk to the village with ease ,the kayak rentals were reasonable(thought they should have been comped), the front desk employees were really nice people ,and the pool was nice.

There was a water main break and no water when we checked in which was not the fault of the desk staff, however they failed to tell us! When I called the desk I got two different stories regarding length of time we could expect to be without. Had we known there was no water and many surrounding bars, restaurants, etc were not open we would have gone to the next town. So far there has been no compensation offered by the management.

Need to provide coffee, the beds were hard. At least put a table in the restroom to place things on. It was 80 degrees out and the cabana bar was closed, very disappointing. Nice patios and spacious, however.

Canada Street Lake George NY

Hotel highlights

  • Free secured self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Private beach
  • Rooftop terrace

Surfside On The Lake places you next to Lake George and within a 10-minute walk of Adirondack Winery. This 154-room hotel welcomes guests with 2 restaurants and conveniences like a private beach and free self parking.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Club Hamilton Restaur, which specializes in American cuisine. At the end of the day, the bar/lounge is a great place to grab a drink. Cooked-to-order breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7:30 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

Surfside On The Lake's 154 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find flat-screen TVs with digital channels. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Renovated in 2020, Surfside On The Lake offers a private beach, karaoke, and a rooftop terrace. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Other amenities at this beach hotel include conference space, an arcade/game room, and a terrace.

Room options

Superior Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Accessible, Lake View

3 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Premier Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchenette

3 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Junior Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony, Lake View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Surfside On The Lake

Everyone (3) Family (8)
4
Family

The Location was conveinent.

By on Oct 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2021

Thank you for your review

1
Family

Staffing was very immature and not helpful with our needs the room was very misleading and the beach was quite small the pool was not heated and the family suites with a kitchenette was a ghetto Style oven that can't on the oven make sure you asked for a balcony because the family style rooms is looking a dumpster no views of Lake George when we asked to move they gave us the policy and refused to accommodate us if it wasn't a six and a half hour ride I would have left that moment . Almost forgot the lighting at night was awful which anyone can get into the building no security and didn't have elevators also not friendly staff at all very argumentative and not knowledgeable

By on Sep 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2021

Rachal thank you for your review. You booked a Master Suite and you did in fact stay in a master suite. The room is a 2-room unit with 2 queen sized beds and a queen sleeper sofa. The room also has a kitchenette with a 2 burner cooktop, a microwave, a small fridge, a coffee maker and a toaster. These rooms were recently renovated for the beginning of 2021. You brought your concerns about the room to the front desk and a manager did go up to the room with you. There were no issues with the room and you and your party apologized to the manager for accidentally booking the wrong room online. We tried to be as accommodating as possible, but we were sold out and didn't have any rooms to switch you into. We told you that you would be responsible for 1 night as that is our policy and that you could get your other nights refunded. Again, we tried to be as accommodating as possible but unfortunately we did not have any other rooms.

5
Family

Amazing everything

By on Sep 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 3, 2021

Thank you for your review.

4
Family

We had a 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the Cabana Bar….the room was very nice and clean and the view of the lake was great. We got a cot for our 3 night stay and it was unbearable to sleep on and our 7th person actually booked a room across the street because there was no way they could sleep on it. Just an FYI….there are ALOT of stairs here so if you have someone older I would make sure you get a first floor room but still lots of stairs up and down to the beach area and there is no elevator. The staff was all very friendly, and just a few minutes walk to all the action.

By on Jun 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 3, 2021

We are sorry for your inconvenience but glad you enjoyed our property

5
Family

Limited parking

By on Jun 23, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2021

We are glad you enjoyed your stay

3
Everyone

By on Jun 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 27, 2021

Thank you for your review

2
Family

I’ll start by saying that I understand why things have to be done differently during these times. That being said ,my stay was not good. No maid service (again I understand that it’s bc of covid),no restaurants were open, no price reduction on the hotels end( I prepaid my trip back in January and they did lower their rates for people who booked or paid post covid troubles), also the hotel did not seem clean despite all the talks of extra cleaning, bathroom always smelled musty,they charged for coffee, only 1 spot per room(Even though we had a suite and my adult daughter drove her own car in because she lives relatively close), and kayak rental employee was a miserable burnout. Things I liked: it was on the lake,I could walk to the village with ease ,the kayak rentals were reasonable(thought they should have been comped), the front desk employees were really nice people ,and the pool was nice.

By , from East Meadow on Aug 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 15, 2020

Thank you for your review.

2
Family Family

There was a water main break and no water when we checked in which was not the fault of the desk staff, however they failed to tell us! When I called the desk I got two different stories regarding length of time we could expect to be without. Had we known there was no water and many surrounding bars, restaurants, etc were not open we would have gone to the next town. So far there has been no compensation offered by the management.

By on Aug 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2019

You would not have been able to check in until 3pm. Every guest that checked in yesterday were told upon arrival. How would the hotel know how long a water main is going to take to be fixed. The water department only gave estimates and that is what guests were told. This had nothing to do with the hotel. Guests have been compensated. You did not have to check in.

4
Everyone

By on Oct 21, 2018

3

good location, pleasant looking

Everyone

Need to provide coffee, the beds were hard. At least put a table in the restroom to place things on. It was 80 degrees out and the cabana bar was closed, very disappointing. Nice patios and spacious, however.

By , from Pennsylvania on Oct 10, 2017

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Lake-George-Hotels-Surfside-On-The-Lake.h18593000-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Lake-George-Hotels-Surfside-On-The-Lake.h18593000-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Lake-George-Hotels-Surfside-On-The-Lake.h18593000-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions