Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The staff was incredible! From the front desk, to security (because I locked myself out), to valet to the bartenders. The views are incredible & I loved the cottage option. The luau is on the property so you don’t have to find parking or Uber. Valet parking is only $5 more so you might as well!

It was an overall good stay for the family vacation.

I was shocked they didn’t have recycling bins. Paid parking for hotel guests when it should be included.

We loved the cottage suite. Sure it could use some updating, but it was perfect for our family of 5. Steps away from the beach.

Very closed to the beach, 2 pools in front of the hotel, room was clean, outdated property for price value, but it’s still good. Front desks were unfriendly, made our experience for checkin unpleasant. The front desk gave us a handicapped room and was reluctant to change it. Then she punished us to wait for the keys of the new room extra 40 min. No apology. Bad customer service, would stay somewhere else.

I will say the beach was pretty. The cottage that they put is in was very outdated. The smell was unpleasant when we walked in and I strongly feel it was from the carpet. They need to rip the carpet out and just put tile as a starter. The bathroom area needs a huge upgrade it looked super old. Please do not put more paint!! It looked like it had been painted at least 60 times. This place is not what was advertised on the website. I actually rented a guest room in the hotel but they placed us In the cottage instead which would have been awesome if it looked like the pictures advertised. We only stayed two days so we didn’t complain for a better room. With updates these cottages could be very nice. We didn’t spend much time at this hotel but to sleep and go to the beach one day.

The property is a little older but very clean and access to the beach, pool, restaurant cannot be beat. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond. We would definitely stay here again.

Beach was amazing- clean with no rocks. Pools were very basic. Cabanas sold out quickly- had to pay for a full day to get one at all. Waitstaff for beach and or pool areas would have been wonderful. Service in general was lacking- which was true everywhere on the island. Overall good value.

This resort is beautiful, we stayed in a cottage and we loved the view and the easy access to the beach! Definitely recommend!

Was sad we couldn’t get into the luau but other than that all good!

I love the location of the hotel and the view from the room and balcony.

This hotel was great! It was clean and quite, it has the nicest beach with super soft sand! We even saw a sea turtle right in the water!

very few amenities, poor service, food service not open late enough. no dressers to put clothes in, room was not very clean (shower doors were never cleaned)

Grounds and restaurant staff were great. Check in was a fiasco!! Royal Lahaina is blaming orbitz but they do deserve some of the blame!! My family showed up to Royal Lahaina ready to check in, but they said orbitz did not confirm with them even though I got email confirmation from orbitz. It eventually took 3 hours of being in resort lobby trying to sort this out. I was on phone in lobby for 3 hours dealing with front desk and orbitz!! Orbitz eventually told me, all they can do is cancel existing room and give me a refund? Now, I just flew to Maui and I now do not have a room to stay!! I asked Royal Lahaina for a room, hoping after 3 hours they would give me the room I already had confirmed through orbitz, but they change our original room to a cottage. The cottages are not as nice as resort rooms. Cottage bedroom was just fine, somewhat updated, but restroom needs major renovation and updating. Also, AC was a super loud wall unit, and there were paper thin walls to people next store to us. Needless to say I will not be staying at Royal Lahaina ever again, we ended up at Napili shores condos for last couple days of our trip because Royal Lahaina was trying to move us out of cottage to oceanfront room, which we did not want to pay for. I WILL NEVER USE ORBITZ AGAIN, unless they contact me to try to reconcile!!

I hd a wonderful stay. The staff is so friendly and amazing. Having to pay for the parking was the only down side its about $15 a day. With COVID-19 houskeeping isn't a thing unless you request it, which was totally fine. It was a great place to stay. The beach and amenities around the area were awesome. Theres mny running and walking trails for those who want to look around tbe island or run.

We had a great stay at Royal Lahaina Resort. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the room and views were amazing, and the location was perfect. We especially loved the beach access. Insider tip: after 5pm order the Piyi drink from the restaurant bar. You won’t regret it.

Everything was beautiful and clean. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. This was our second time staying here and both times have been wonderful. We can't wait to return again to our home away from home.

Kekaa Dr Lahaina HI

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Fitness center

Royal Lahaina Resort places you within a 15-minute stroll of popular sights such as Kaanapali Beach and Black Rock. This 441-room, 3.5-star resort welcomes guests with 3 outdoor pools, a restaurant, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the resort's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning off right with cooked-to-order breakfast served for a fee.


Rooms

All of Royal Lahaina Resort's 441 rooms are soundproofed and have an array of amenities, including furnished lanais, coffee makers, and free local calls. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, ironing boards, and desks are also available. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests staying at Royal Lahaina Resort enjoy access to 3 outdoor pools, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Parking is available for USD 15 per day (USD 20 per day for valet parking), and there's also a free area shuttle. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this beach resort include outdoor tennis courts, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space.

Room options

2 Bedroom Garden Cottage Suite

1 King Bed and 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 8

2 Bedroom Oceanfront Lanai Suite

1 King Bed and 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 6

Deluxe Ocean View Room

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Partial Ocean View Room

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Royal Lahaina Resort

Everyone (34) Couples (22) Family (17)
5
Friends

The staff was incredible! From the front desk, to security (because I locked myself out), to valet to the bartenders. The views are incredible & I loved the cottage option. The luau is on the property so you don’t have to find parking or Uber. Valet parking is only $5 more so you might as well!

By on Sep 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are so happy our staff provided you with great service and that you loved your cottage room. We hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Maui.

4
Family

It was an overall good stay for the family vacation.

By on Aug 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 30, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

4
Friends

I was shocked they didn’t have recycling bins. Paid parking for hotel guests when it should be included.

By on Aug 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 30, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback!

4
Family

We loved the cottage suite. Sure it could use some updating, but it was perfect for our family of 5. Steps away from the beach.

By on Aug 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2021

Aloha, We appreciate your review and thank you for staying with us. Mahalo!

3
Family

Very closed to the beach, 2 pools in front of the hotel, room was clean, outdated property for price value, but it’s still good. Front desks were unfriendly, made our experience for checkin unpleasant. The front desk gave us a handicapped room and was reluctant to change it. Then she punished us to wait for the keys of the new room extra 40 min. No apology. Bad customer service, would stay somewhere else.

By on Aug 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2021

Thank you for providing your feedback! We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant check-in experience. The front desk would never punish a guest. To clarify, we assigned you a room that was available when you checked in in your room type. However as this was not acceptable due to being a handicap room, we had to prepare another room to be available at that time. That required a wait time so we can prepare the room. We always need time after the guests check out to thoroughly clean the rooms and with the extra precautions taken due to the pandemic, wait times can be longer than usual. We hope that you had a lovely time in Maui.

2
Partner Couples

I will say the beach was pretty. The cottage that they put is in was very outdated. The smell was unpleasant when we walked in and I strongly feel it was from the carpet. They need to rip the carpet out and just put tile as a starter. The bathroom area needs a huge upgrade it looked super old. Please do not put more paint!! It looked like it had been painted at least 60 times. This place is not what was advertised on the website. I actually rented a guest room in the hotel but they placed us In the cottage instead which would have been awesome if it looked like the pictures advertised. We only stayed two days so we didn’t complain for a better room. With updates these cottages could be very nice. We didn’t spend much time at this hotel but to sleep and go to the beach one day.

By on Jul 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your cottage room. We would have gladly moved your room had we known you were unhappy. We are in the process of renovating all of the cottages and will keep your feedback in mind moving forward. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

3
Everyone

By on Jul 1, 2021

5
Family

The property is a little older but very clean and access to the beach, pool, restaurant cannot be beat. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond. We would definitely stay here again.

By on Jun 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and loved our oceanfront location and dining at the Royal Ocean Terrace! We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Maui!

4
Friends

Beach was amazing- clean with no rocks. Pools were very basic. Cabanas sold out quickly- had to pay for a full day to get one at all. Waitstaff for beach and or pool areas would have been wonderful. Service in general was lacking- which was true everywhere on the island. Overall good value.

By on May 31, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are sorry to read that you felt our service was lacking. We try to maintain the highest standards of service and we will try harder. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

5
Partner Couples

This resort is beautiful, we stayed in a cottage and we loved the view and the easy access to the beach! Definitely recommend!

By on May 11, 2021

Review comment responded on May 12, 2021

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo !

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Lahaina-Hotels-Royal-Lahaina-Resort.h34767-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Lahaina-Hotels-Royal-Lahaina-Resort.h34767-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Lahaina-Hotels-Royal-Lahaina-Resort.h34767-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions