Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Excellent room and customer service! Just be sure to double check the photos of the rooms and the information. It could have been my mistake, but I booked a different (lesser) room than I saw pictures for. I was able to upgrade to the room I expected, but of course for a fee. Otherwise great experience.

Great stay and fantastic communication by staff at the lodge. Room was clean and comfy and they were proactive with us when we were needing a late check in. Definitely recommend this spot!

The property looks very cute. It’s a short distance from Yellowstone and Mesa falls. We booked the queen bunk bed room through orbitz. When we got there we found a dirty shower that was clogged, an empty can under the bed and the hairdryer didn’t work. I went to complain and the manager did move us to a suite which was nice. The suite was very nice and clean. Free breakfast is a grab and go bag with a yogurt, apple, and cereal bar - pretty disappointing. Overall I would just say this place is average. Nothing special and maybe not worth the hassle of you have a long day at Yellowstone.

The floors were so disgusting me and my family had to wear shoes in the cabin so things didn't stick to our feet. The floors hadn't been swept or mopped in a long time We found a dead fly on the floor in the bathroom and a spider in the shower. The shower ran out of hot water after 10 minutes. The only positive thing was the sheets were clean. We only slept there at night so I didn't complain. 5 weeks later I see a charge for $150 for a deep clean. The front desk is claiming my dog left a mess. Our dog is completely trained and we clean up after every potty break, which he only went #2 one time out front! We were at yellowstone all day everyday and only slept at River Lodge. We checked out a day early so we were only there for 3 nights, and paid $989! Plus this extra $150 that we never were told about! The manager isn't returning my phone calls. We will never stay here again and will tell everyone we know to avoid this property.

Cute little cabin that was great for us to stay in for our one day in Yellowstone. Easy to find, easy to get into the park from and just an overall relaxing, quite place that is across the street from a beautiful river. Would stay there again!

Friendly, helpful staff and good location. Great place to stay!

They didn’t even have address numbers to find them by. They also had NO signage out front to name the property.

Since we never stayed in a lodge before, we decided to have a try. The name "RIVER lodge" did attract us, so we booked this lodge. However, this lodge turned out disappointing us. This lodge was clean and tidy, which we really appreciated it. However we have to say there are some areas that need to be improved. First, the check-in location is not in the lodge; rather, we had to drive to another place to check-in and then came back to the lodge. Second, the name is somehow misleading, that said, there is no river view from the lodge. Third, there is no wi-fi in the room. This is really terrible and inconvenient, at least for us. If you're the person who wants to stay away from the urban life and live uninterrupted, this lodge might be a good choice for you. Fourth, the bunk bed is too shrink or narrow and we as adults cannot even sit straight on the bed. Perhaps the bunk bed is good for kids but definitely not for us adults. Fifth, the lodge seems to be newly-renovated, so there is a strong smell of paints. Plus, even I appreciate the flowers hung out in front of the door which gives me a feeling of home, the flowers attract a lot of gnats!!!! In general, I would say the facilities do not match the price. So, we were disappointed.

Had to wait an hour to get into our room and when we we finally able to get in our key didn't work! It was a nice Cabin, it just needed a deeper cleaning, you could see cobwebs in the corners. Room was a nice size for two. Loved the porch! We would definitely give it another stay!

Could use painting. Carpet wasn’t very clean. Comfortable bed, nice comforter. No WiFi most of the time.

This hotel is very noisy. It is close to the road, so you get the road noise. Even worse are the paper thin walls.

Water temperature was unstable Bugs in the room No WiFi

I am not super picky, buy cant rate this little cabin well. The water in the shower only stays warm for a couple minutes. Carpet was dirty and do was the linoleum. The light was out on the front porch when we arrived and WiFi did not work well. Tv channels not good and the tv faced backwards from the beds. Room was way too expensive for what it was.

Highway 20 Island Park ID

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk

River Lodge places you next to Caribou-Targhee National Forest and within a 15-minute walk of Harriman State Park. This 29-room, 3-star lodge welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and a terrace.


Rooms

All 29 heated rooms feature coffee makers. Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi.


Property features

Guests staying at River Lodge enjoy free WiFi in public areas, a terrace, and barbecue grills. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. This lodge also has a picnic area.

Room options

Economy Room, Multiple Beds

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Bunk Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Triple Room

3 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Economy Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for River Lodge

Everyone (13) Couples (1) Family (6)
4
Everyone

By on Oct 11, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Sep 18, 2020

4
Everyone

By on Sep 13, 2020

5
Friends

Excellent room and customer service! Just be sure to double check the photos of the rooms and the information. It could have been my mistake, but I booked a different (lesser) room than I saw pictures for. I was able to upgrade to the room I expected, but of course for a fee. Otherwise great experience.

By , from Las Vegas on Sep 4, 2020

5
Family Partner Couples

Great stay and fantastic communication by staff at the lodge. Room was clean and comfy and they were proactive with us when we were needing a late check in. Definitely recommend this spot!

By on Aug 6, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Jul 22, 2020

1
Everyone

By on Sep 2, 2019

3
Family Family with small children

The property looks very cute. It’s a short distance from Yellowstone and Mesa falls. We booked the queen bunk bed room through orbitz. When we got there we found a dirty shower that was clogged, an empty can under the bed and the hairdryer didn’t work. I went to complain and the manager did move us to a suite which was nice. The suite was very nice and clean. Free breakfast is a grab and go bag with a yogurt, apple, and cereal bar - pretty disappointing. Overall I would just say this place is average. Nothing special and maybe not worth the hassle of you have a long day at Yellowstone.

By on Aug 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2019

Sorry for the housekeeping issue, we are constantly training new ones. Sounds like the problems was handled correctly by giving you a free upgrade. We don’t advertise breakfast at all because the property doesn’t have a breakfast area. we decided to give out complimentary breakfast bags to all our guest and have been well received. So sorry you were disappointed, we were hoping you would be happy about us providing a nice little continental breakfast. Our rates are half those of West Yellowstone and that why people drive the short 30 miles to our nice quiet motel and cabins. We really deserve more than a 3

1
Family

The floors were so disgusting me and my family had to wear shoes in the cabin so things didn't stick to our feet. The floors hadn't been swept or mopped in a long time We found a dead fly on the floor in the bathroom and a spider in the shower. The shower ran out of hot water after 10 minutes. The only positive thing was the sheets were clean. We only slept there at night so I didn't complain. 5 weeks later I see a charge for $150 for a deep clean. The front desk is claiming my dog left a mess. Our dog is completely trained and we clean up after every potty break, which he only went #2 one time out front! We were at yellowstone all day everyday and only slept at River Lodge. We checked out a day early so we were only there for 3 nights, and paid $989! Plus this extra $150 that we never were told about! The manager isn't returning my phone calls. We will never stay here again and will tell everyone we know to avoid this property.

By on Aug 2, 2019

5
Family

Cute little cabin that was great for us to stay in for our one day in Yellowstone. Easy to find, easy to get into the park from and just an overall relaxing, quite place that is across the street from a beautiful river. Would stay there again!

By on Jul 29, 2019

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Island-Park-Hotels-River-Lodge.h23378854-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Island-Park-Hotels-River-Lodge.h23378854-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Island-Park-Hotels-River-Lodge.h23378854-p2.Hotel-Reviews