Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Terrible and dirty

Room was pretty bad. What looked like a blood stain on the bed sheet, a hunk of frozen meat left in the fridge and cockroaches in the bathroom. At 5:30am, apparently the entire motel got up and made as much noise as possible: feet stomping, children crying, doors slamming.

Dirty, no towels, no cups, stained furniture, only 1 full sized pillow. Toilet full of crap, and poor breakfast.

Asked for a non smoking room. Sign on door said non smoking but room smelled like someone just got done smoking a pack in it. Room was dirty and from previous guest.

Mold and roaches in the room towels looked old and dirty chair in front of the desk in the room was missing a wheel and we almost fell several times. Just because I booked through a website doesn't mean I should be paying for a room which was over priced and nasty

The staff was courteous and tried to be accommodating, but the years of been smoked in smell of the room permeated incessantly.

Hotel is too small and the rooms needs improvement.

Nondescript little place from the outside but was clean and staff was friendly. I'm sure place could be upgraded if they charged more, but for an inexpensive stay it's a sure bet.

A no frills yet convenient and clean motel, with adequate parking. It's about an 8 minute drive to UF and 15-20 minutes to the Gainesville Airport. There is a CVS and Steak n Shake close.

No frills but I have stayed there in the past it is comfortable I will go back agian

4 stars for the price. Located on 13th St near the intersection of SW 16th Ave. next door to the historic Bambi motel. 5-10 minutes by car from campus and downtown. Not walking distance but for the price an excellent choice. Furnishings dated but well--maintained and very clean.

Room was ok, only needed a place to sleep. Could have refrained from the baby powder smell in the room being so strong.

Old motel =not very clean Race weekend overcharged

A very run down place to stay. Bed compaired to sleeping on a piece of plywood. Will never stay here again.

Sw 13th St Gainesville FL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Shands at the University of Florida
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • 24-hour front desk

Shands at the University of Florida is within a mile (2 km) of Econo Lodge University, and other popular sites like University of Florida are within a couple of miles (3 km). This 53-room hotel has in-room conveniences like refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Rooms

Econo Lodge University's 53 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other standard amenities include desks and free toiletries.


Property features

Econo Lodge University features free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and free newspapers. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Senior Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Econo Lodge University

Everyone (5) Couples (2) Business (1) Family (4) Friends (1) Other (3)
2
Family Business Business

Terrible and dirty

By on Sep 17, 2021

1
Everyone

Room was pretty bad. What looked like a blood stain on the bed sheet, a hunk of frozen meat left in the fridge and cockroaches in the bathroom. At 5:30am, apparently the entire motel got up and made as much noise as possible: feet stomping, children crying, doors slamming.

By , from Richmond, VA on Aug 26, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2020

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to complete our review, we do apologize for the inconvenience that you had encountered during your stay.

1
Everyone

Dirty, no towels, no cups, stained furniture, only 1 full sized pillow. Toilet full of crap, and poor breakfast.

By on Mar 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2020

Good Morning, First and foremost I would to apologize for what you had encountered during your stay. I am the new GM and me and the team are working very hard to make improvements. Thank you

5
Everyone

By on Feb 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 10, 2020

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

1
Family

Asked for a non smoking room. Sign on door said non smoking but room smelled like someone just got done smoking a pack in it. Room was dirty and from previous guest.

By on Nov 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what we are doing wrong. It helps us improve on your lodging experience. We are under new management and we are striving to improve, for your lodging needs. Please accept our apologizes. Hope you will give us a second chance.

1
Partner Couples Family

Mold and roaches in the room towels looked old and dirty chair in front of the desk in the room was missing a wheel and we almost fell several times. Just because I booked through a website doesn't mean I should be paying for a room which was over priced and nasty

By on Oct 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2019

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. As we strive to deliver a flawless guest experience

1
Family with small children

The staff was courteous and tried to be accommodating, but the years of been smoked in smell of the room permeated incessantly.

By on Sep 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2019

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. As we strive to deliver a flawless guest experience

3
Everyone

By on Sep 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2019

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

2
Everyone

Hotel is too small and the rooms needs improvement.

By on May 1, 2016

4

surprising

Other

Nondescript little place from the outside but was clean and staff was friendly. I'm sure place could be upgraded if they charged more, but for an inexpensive stay it's a sure bet.

By on Sep 20, 2015

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Gainesville-Hotels-Econo-Lodge-University.h22209-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Gainesville-Hotels-Econo-Lodge-University.h22209-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Gainesville-Hotels-Econo-Lodge-University.h22209-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions