Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I travel alot and for many years. This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I was there for 15 nights, not once did house keeping come to my room. I had to fumigate the room for bugs myself. Outside is disgusting. Save your money and sleep in your car.

I picked this place because it was a suite with a full kitchen. We arrived to a room with a visibly broken couch, a stopped up sink, and a q-tip on the floor. I called the front desk to report the damages and was assured we would not be charged for their replacement. It was late, we were tired, and the sheets were clean, so we didn’t change rooms. We only stayed the one night. Still, it was not a great experience.

The back of the property was not maintained it was Dog poop everywhere it was not worth the money

We were in town for a funeral and the car was packed and we had to move from room to room to get a halfway decent room for the weekend. None of the appliances work properly we had to clean for ourselves before we can even put our things in the room it’s just a horrible experience and I will never stay at the facility again again

The fact that my son had to pay $35 to security just to park and he was not my guest but a paying customer. I had his "free" parking pass with me in the hotel room but he came a few hours after I checked in. How was I supposed to know that I had to let him know, "don't pay $35 to security, I have your pass"? My son said there was 3 security guards there when he came and that there were other cars behind him and he felt pressured to pay.

I ordered a handicapped room. They gave me a regular room and I have MS. Nobody answered the phone and I called using both my cell phone and the hotel phone. Customer service was HORRIBLE. Frankly nobody cared or cares. I never even got an apology. And I've stayed there before and even had family stay there. DO NOT go here. And I will NEVER go back.

I did not like anything about this hotel. The room was disgusting. Makeup on the headboard, red carpet stains, dirty chairs, telephone dirty, remote didn't work, sheets and curtains dirty. This room was the pits, and the front desk informed me sometimes housekeeping doesn't clean too well. This is unacceptable during Covid.

Reeked of marijuana. Had to be in 3 different rooms on my 2 night stay because air conditioning wasn’t working. Slept in an 84 degree room. All three rooms were disgusting. Stains on all carpet surfaces. All seating was stained. All three rooms stunk terribly. Bathtubs in all three rooms were gross, dirt streaks, drain plugs broken. Smoke alarm kept beeping. Someone had removed the battery. Called the office for over half an hour straight and nobody ever answered. Worst hotel experience of my life

There is no where to park, it looks like the people live there. The room was nice, but it looks like they just did some improvements the construction wasn't that good is still with paint and other stuff on the floors did not use the shower and did not look clean

Generally a good place to stay - spacious, clean and convenient. The only problem was that we were surrounded by partying guests - both above us and next door, the front door to the suite was warped and did not close properly, the sink drained very slowly, and the shower water was a bit anemic and luke warm.

I had to change rooms 5 times because the rooms were filthy. I ended up leaving because once I pulled back the blanket on bed it had little hairs (that resemble pubic hair)all over the sheets. The room was so nasty.

They took money off my card, without me even staying there!!

Property was old and extremely dusty. No television in the entire suite Counter was broke Saw rat droppings in window seal of another room

I received a non-renovated room by choice, once I arrived the room was in filthy condition. The mattress was stained with no bedding, the kitchen counters were broken and dirty. This was a horrible experience and another customer was complaining that they wouldn’t give him his deposit back because he complained “too late”. Overall, either only allow renovated rooms for stay or none at all!

Central Park Blvd Southfield MI

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Onsite dining

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Southfield places you within 2 miles (3 km) of DMC Sinai-Grace Hospital and Lawrence Technological University. This 144-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like a 24-hour fitness center and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free full breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM. The onsite restaurant is a great place to grab a bite to eat, or mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception.


Rooms

The 144 accommodations feature kitchens and space to spread out with living rooms. TVs come with satellite channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Sofa beds, coffee makers, and free local calls are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Southfield, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, a spa tub, and an outdoor tennis court. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a business center.

Room options

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Mobility)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Suite, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking (Two-level)

2 King Beds | Sleeps 5

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Southfield

Everyone (6) Couples (2) Family (12)
1
Business Business

I travel alot and for many years. This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I was there for 15 nights, not once did house keeping come to my room. I had to fumigate the room for bugs myself. Outside is disgusting. Save your money and sleep in your car.

By on Aug 13, 2021

2
Family Business Business

I picked this place because it was a suite with a full kitchen. We arrived to a room with a visibly broken couch, a stopped up sink, and a q-tip on the floor. I called the front desk to report the damages and was assured we would not be charged for their replacement. It was late, we were tired, and the sheets were clean, so we didn’t change rooms. We only stayed the one night. Still, it was not a great experience.

By on Jul 9, 2021

2
Family

The back of the property was not maintained it was Dog poop everywhere it was not worth the money

By on Jun 22, 2021

1
Family Family

We were in town for a funeral and the car was packed and we had to move from room to room to get a halfway decent room for the weekend. None of the appliances work properly we had to clean for ourselves before we can even put our things in the room it’s just a horrible experience and I will never stay at the facility again again

By on Apr 8, 2021

Review comment responded on May 3, 2021

So very sorry that you experience with us was not better than this. Please let us know what we can do to improve so that way future visits will be better for you.

1
Family

The fact that my son had to pay $35 to security just to park and he was not my guest but a paying customer. I had his "free" parking pass with me in the hotel room but he came a few hours after I checked in. How was I supposed to know that I had to let him know, "don't pay $35 to security, I have your pass"? My son said there was 3 security guards there when he came and that there were other cars behind him and he felt pressured to pay.

By on Mar 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2021

We're sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. We do inform you of the policies at the time of check in, including the parking policy. We also hand you a paper to sign and a copy for yourself. You do not pay the extra parking fee to security, you pay it to the front desk. Their is no pressure, but if their is no pass present then we can not let anyone in until they have one.

1
Everyone

I ordered a handicapped room. They gave me a regular room and I have MS. Nobody answered the phone and I called using both my cell phone and the hotel phone. Customer service was HORRIBLE. Frankly nobody cared or cares. I never even got an apology. And I've stayed there before and even had family stay there. DO NOT go here. And I will NEVER go back.

By , from Southfield, MI on Dec 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 8, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience and that the service was subpar. Please accept our apology.

1
Family

I did not like anything about this hotel. The room was disgusting. Makeup on the headboard, red carpet stains, dirty chairs, telephone dirty, remote didn't work, sheets and curtains dirty. This room was the pits, and the front desk informed me sometimes housekeeping doesn't clean too well. This is unacceptable during Covid.

By , from Oak Park, MI on Nov 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 8, 2020

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The issues you describe are not a hotel standard. We work on a daily basis to improve our guest overall experience.

1
Everyone

By on Jul 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2020

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay we continue to strive to improve our guest experience.

1
Business Business

Reeked of marijuana. Had to be in 3 different rooms on my 2 night stay because air conditioning wasn’t working. Slept in an 84 degree room. All three rooms were disgusting. Stains on all carpet surfaces. All seating was stained. All three rooms stunk terribly. Bathtubs in all three rooms were gross, dirt streaks, drain plugs broken. Smoke alarm kept beeping. Someone had removed the battery. Called the office for over half an hour straight and nobody ever answered. Worst hotel experience of my life

By on May 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry your experience was not a positive one. We will do our best to address these issues and concerns.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2020

Thank you for a wonderful rating! Hope to have you back soon.

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Southfield

26700 Central Park Blvd, Southfield, MI 48076
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Detroit-Hotels-Hawthorn-Suites-by-Wyndham-Detroit-Southfield.h2396-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Detroit-Hotels-Hawthorn-Suites-by-Wyndham-Detroit-Southfield.h2396-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Detroit-Hotels-Hawthorn-Suites-by-Wyndham-Detroit-Southfield.h2396-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions