Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This was the DUMPS!!! I normally try not to put so much on a review bc I understand that normally you’ll get a bad review before someone would give a positive one. And I really tried to give it the benefit of the doubt… boy was I wrong. The checkin was terrible. We didn’t get our room until 7-8pm!!!!! We got there at 3, when checkin who hid have been available. The staff was very rude and didn’t care about anything. The rooms were TERRIBLE!!! Old and dirty… I definitely would not recommend this place unless you like staying in the dumps.

This property was a dump! I wanted to exit the minute I arrived. Never! Never! Again will I stay in the place that has the feeling of the hood. People standing on the balconies smoking, trash all over the place.. Run down dump!

So close to the beach. Reasonable price, and convenient restaurants within walking distance. Kitchenette in room, bigger refrigerator very convenient.

It is a typical beachfront hotel. Clean room with bed, TV shower, essentials pool & hot tub on the beach and decent breakfast. I see other reviews knock this place a bit but it has what you need at a reasonable priced. It's not paradise but I would recommend it as affordable and practical.

Not very clean. Needs upgrade. Very poor. Dirty

Very old hotel...The man that worked there was not very friendly...would only give me one blanket.

has easy access to beach and restaurants but room need deep clean bath was very dirty when I arrive

The view was amazing. Big rooms but our heater didn't work and there was a small roach. Other than that it was great. The staff was super friendly and upbeat.

Staff (Steve) always makes your stay better. Been staying here for a few yes now & wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Ormond Beach.

I was pleased with my overall stay. Room was decent for me. My kids loved the pool. Had great access to the beach. The free breakfast was pretty good in my opinion. The parking kinda sucked in ways. I liked that I could walk to few restaurants in area and shops. I would stay at again.

It is conveniently located at the beach. About 15 mins away from Daytona Beach boardwalk. The property looked unattended. The room was okay. I did notice the bathroom door had been patched after what seemed someone had punched the door. Bathroom was very tiny. Their complimentary breakfast had very limited options and seemed like non-guest were eating there as well. Overall, I would not stay here again.

Old motel but clean, great staff. Had no problems during my stay

Location was great, but the room was nothing like pictures

Missing slates on window and no curtain...so no privacy.

Staff was AMAZING. Everyone from Steve who made sure we had a good stay, to Front office staff who proactively answered my questions on past reviews, to Tara who went above and beyond on the holiday with limited cleaning staff to ensure my environment was brought back to perfect for Thanksgiving, to Scooter and the kitchen guys who even made scrabbled eggs off the menu for my kids at breakfast! Even the Maint guys accommodated off the book requests that made my family more comfortable. They really made us feel welcome!

The people that work there are very nice. The hotel itself is getting to show its age quite a bit. Not saying it's terrible or anything but it's definitely needing maintaince. But they were painting and planting while I was there so it looks like they're working on it. I had a great view ocean view room and the beach was nice. There was no coffee maker in the room? Depressed about that I love coffee in the morning.bMy overall experience was good. But I wouldn't be able to stay there again.

South Atlantic Ave Ormond Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 2 outdoor pools

Located within a 5-minute walk of Andy Romano Beachfront Park, Makai Beach Lodge is within a 15-minute stroll of Beach at Daytona Beach. This 110-room hotel welcomes guests with 2 outdoor pools, free breakfast, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free on-the-go breakfast, served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All 110 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, free local calls, and laptop-compatible safes. Guests can expect free WiFi and cable TV. Ironing boards, desks, and free toiletries are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests staying at Makai Beach Lodge enjoy access to 2 outdoor pools, a children's pool, and a spa tub. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with dry cleaning or laundry, and answer any questions about the area. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Two Double Beds, Ocean Front (Oceanfront Double Beds)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Kitchen

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Kitchenette, Oceanfront

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Makai Beach Lodge

Everyone (22) Couples (6) Family (11)
1
Family Family with small children

This was the DUMPS!!! I normally try not to put so much on a review bc I understand that normally you’ll get a bad review before someone would give a positive one. And I really tried to give it the benefit of the doubt… boy was I wrong. The checkin was terrible. We didn’t get our room until 7-8pm!!!!! We got there at 3, when checkin who hid have been available. The staff was very rude and didn’t care about anything. The rooms were TERRIBLE!!! Old and dirty… I definitely would not recommend this place unless you like staying in the dumps.

By on Jul 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

5
Everyone

By on Jun 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 7, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

2
Partner Couples

This property was a dump! I wanted to exit the minute I arrived. Never! Never! Again will I stay in the place that has the feeling of the hood. People standing on the balconies smoking, trash all over the place.. Run down dump!

By on Jun 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 9, 2021

Thank for your review.

5
Partner Couples

So close to the beach. Reasonable price, and convenient restaurants within walking distance. Kitchenette in room, bigger refrigerator very convenient.

By on Jun 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

5
Family with small children

It is a typical beachfront hotel. Clean room with bed, TV shower, essentials pool & hot tub on the beach and decent breakfast. I see other reviews knock this place a bit but it has what you need at a reasonable priced. It's not paradise but I would recommend it as affordable and practical.

By on May 31, 2021

Review comment responded on May 31, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

1
Partner Couples Family

Not very clean. Needs upgrade. Very poor. Dirty

By on Apr 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 23, 2021

Thankyou for your feedback. Our hotel is an older hotel and is priced accordingly. We do clean every day so I apologize it was not up to your expectations. Have a nice day!

2
Family

Very old hotel...The man that worked there was not very friendly...would only give me one blanket.

By on Apr 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2021

We apologize for not being up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

1
Family

has easy access to beach and restaurants but room need deep clean bath was very dirty when I arrive

By on Mar 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

5
Partner Couples

The view was amazing. Big rooms but our heater didn't work and there was a small roach. Other than that it was great. The staff was super friendly and upbeat.

By on Feb 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2021

We are happy to hear you had a great time. We are sorry to hear of the issues you had. Thank you for taking time to leave a review.

5
Partner Couples

Staff (Steve) always makes your stay better. Been staying here for a few yes now & wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Ormond Beach.

By , from Titusville, Fl on Jan 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 11, 2021

We are happy to hear you enjoy your time here with us at the makai. We hope to see you back again soon for another stay on the beach.

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Ormond-Beach-Hotels-Makai-Beach-Lodge.h1384165-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Ormond-Beach-Hotels-Makai-Beach-Lodge.h1384165-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Ormond-Beach-Hotels-Makai-Beach-Lodge.h1384165-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions