Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I did like the proximity of restaurants, stores, and highway. I didn't like the noise of vehicles in the street while sleeping, I didn't like the amount of towels that they provided us for two people (It was more for one of us), the vending machines were almost empty, and the breakfast was awful. The food was cold and the sausages had an awful flavor. I don't like to throw food away, but in this case we had to. Finally, I went to the front reception to ask about the check out time and I stand there for fifteen minutes and no one to be found. I noticed another person waiting and no one. I had to come back and then walk through a hallway and there was a gentleman sitting at his computer all the way in the back. Don't think this was a great service. We like staying at the Holiday Inn Express, but at this one it's the first and last. We stayed at the one in Romeoville, IL and you can't compare. This one was awesome! The owner at Downers Grove should get some tips of how to provide a better service.

Overall stay was fine but the put me in a handicap room without asking me, then in the room the toilet hadn’t been cleaned and the carpet hadn’t been vacuumed. I was too tired to say anything, but didn’t feel like I got my money’s worth. At least the bed linen was clean so I was actually able to sleep okay.

Nice location. Hotel needs major renovations inside. Looks dingy amd outdated. Old carpet. Bathrooms are old and toilet would barely flush. Black front service desk guy had an attitude and seemed annoyed and dry when asked a question.

Well priced place. Crib needs to be requested while booking ( not mentioned in Orbitz). Room was freezing at 54F when we arrived at 11 pm. Not sure why they would freeze the room before guests arrive

Rooms all smelled of smoke. Asked for adjoining rooms, with plenty of notice. Was told when we checked in that it was too difficult to get adjoining rooms. Were not even given rooms next to each other. We only reserved 2 rooms and they were not accommodating at all. When I complained at check out the girl could have cared less.

Great staff, very comfortable beds & good breakfast. Hotel is very dated & needs an update, but clean.

When I first arrived, the check in staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When I got to my room, however, soap to wash my hands was missing, the shower wasn’t fully cleaned, and I didn’t have any cups for coffee or water. Luckily the staff fixed this right away. Then I went to workout and the two treadmills weren’t working, nor the bike. There were no wipes to clean the equipment etc and the staff was completely unaware of these issues until I brought it to light. I just overall felt for as much money as I spent to stay, I was disappointed in the upkeep.

First of all, the room is not worth the price. The room is dirty and you can see dust everywhere. Second, the wall is very thin. You hear the sound from the next door, TV, loud talking and laughing. Third, the service is horrible. They give you the key with WRONG room number! Finally, they DOUBLE CHARGE you. Be careful about your bill. You will get bill from Orbitz and from the hotel for the same room!!!!

I had good experience in holiday inn hotel, room were clean. I enjoyed 3 days

I reserved a smoke free room and was assigned on that cleatly had been smoked in, so that was very frustrating. However, the staff was very friendly.

My fiancée and I took a weekend trip to Chicago for Riot Festival. We planned on staying with some friends, but ended up wanting to get a place of our own, so we booked this last minute. We didn't read reviews prior to booking and a great handful of them were horrible so we got scared. Upon arriving the front desk clerk was very polite and had us in our hotel within 5 minutes of walking trough the doors. The complimentary breakfast buffet was fantastic, don't listen to other reviews. Wide selection of options including cereal, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, oatmeal, and muffins. The attendants at the buffet were very polite and super talkative. Housekeeping staff was just as friendly. Our check out process took under 2 minutes. We would more than likely stay at this hotel again.

Booked this hotel for 2 days on a business trip. In addition to proximity to many businesses, the location is excellent with lots of shopping and restaurants. The standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast fare (pretty wide variety).

very nice and simple hotel. I booked a wrong hotel in wrong place. My office biz was in the AVON building, but my secretary booked way off and too far for me.

This was the most affordable hotel in miles, but a bit far away from town. The breakfast is usually good too. This time not so much. The omelets were cold as in frozen almost on the inside, which was a bit disappointing, but no worries, I will still come back.

I have stayed at this hotel once a month for the last three months and would return again, if I needed to stay in the area.

Finley Rd Downers Grove IL

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located within 2 miles (3 km) of Yorktown Shopping Center, Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Downers Grove, an IHG Hotel is within 3 miles (5 km) of Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital. This 121-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like a 24-hour gym and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

The 121 rooms have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers. Desks are also included.


Property features

Guests of Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Downers Grove, an IHG Hotel enjoy a 24-hour gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with tours or tickets, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a meeting room, express check-in, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Communication, Accessible Tub)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible (Comm, Tran Shwr)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Downers Grove, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (10) Couples (6) Business (7) Family (13) Other (2)
2
Partner Couples

I did like the proximity of restaurants, stores, and highway. I didn't like the noise of vehicles in the street while sleeping, I didn't like the amount of towels that they provided us for two people (It was more for one of us), the vending machines were almost empty, and the breakfast was awful. The food was cold and the sausages had an awful flavor. I don't like to throw food away, but in this case we had to. Finally, I went to the front reception to ask about the check out time and I stand there for fifteen minutes and no one to be found. I noticed another person waiting and no one. I had to come back and then walk through a hallway and there was a gentleman sitting at his computer all the way in the back. Don't think this was a great service. We like staying at the Holiday Inn Express, but at this one it's the first and last. We stayed at the one in Romeoville, IL and you can't compare. This one was awesome! The owner at Downers Grove should get some tips of how to provide a better service.

By on Nov 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 6, 2021

Dear Salvador, Thanks for the stay. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your visit. I am extremely disappointed that you had an unfavorable experience due to all the reasons you have mentioned. Please be assured that I have taken this up very strongly and the concerned team has been told to ensure that such an incident is not repeated in the future. In particular, I have made a note of your concerns regarding the issues you had and such customer feedback from valued guests as yourself will be monitored from my office. A detailed investigation will be made and appropriate actions will be taken. Though it is our endeavor to provide the highest levels of product and service to our discerning guests, this is an unusual happening and we seem to have fallen short in this instance. Please do let me know when you plan to visit our hotel so that we can ensure your next experience is very special. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 26, 2021

3
Family

Overall stay was fine but the put me in a handicap room without asking me, then in the room the toilet hadn’t been cleaned and the carpet hadn’t been vacuumed. I was too tired to say anything, but didn’t feel like I got my money’s worth. At least the bed linen was clean so I was actually able to sleep okay.

By on Apr 25, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Jan 25, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Jun 23, 2020

2
Family Family

Nice location. Hotel needs major renovations inside. Looks dingy amd outdated. Old carpet. Bathrooms are old and toilet would barely flush. Black front service desk guy had an attitude and seemed annoyed and dry when asked a question.

By , from Atlanta on Oct 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2019

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback. I would like to start by apologizing to you for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.

3
Family

Well priced place. Crib needs to be requested while booking ( not mentioned in Orbitz). Room was freezing at 54F when we arrived at 11 pm. Not sure why they would freeze the room before guests arrive

By on Aug 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2019

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback. I would like to start by apologizing to you for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 13, 2019

Thank you for your 5-star review and kind words. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay. We're flattered to hear that you chose to stay with us again while in the area and hope to see you again soon!

2
Family

Rooms all smelled of smoke. Asked for adjoining rooms, with plenty of notice. Was told when we checked in that it was too difficult to get adjoining rooms. Were not even given rooms next to each other. We only reserved 2 rooms and they were not accommodating at all. When I complained at check out the girl could have cared less.

By on May 24, 2019

Review comment responded on May 25, 2019

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback. I would like to start by apologizing to you for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.

4
Everyone

By on Jan 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 23, 2019

Thank you for rating your stay! We truly appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Downers Grove area. Thank you.

Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Downers Grove, an IHG Hotel

3031 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Chicago-Downers-Grove,-an-IHG-Hotel.h11257-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Chicago-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Chicago-Downers-Grove,-an-IHG-Hotel.h11257-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Chicago-Downers-Grove,-an-IHG-Hotel.h11257-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions