Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great hotel for the price . We’ll come back for sure since my son lives in Charlotte and I’m frequently here.

Room was nasty and too many drug users staying in the rooms.

The room was dirty and the whole establishment is run down. Did not get the room I booked.

This was the worse hotel room I ever had. There was trash outside my door when I arrived. The hard surface floors were not swept, let alone mopped. The bathroom tub had a cord hanging from the shower head. There were pubic hairs in the tub and dirt in the bottom. The water level in the commode was set too high. There were no cups or glasses in the room to allow getting a drink of water (I had to drink from the coffee pot.) I slept in a valley on the mattress. The room phone didn't work. The Internet connection was so weak that no applications except Google's home page were accessible. I don't mind old furnishings in hotel rooms but lack of maintenance is another matter. I felt at risk for security and sanitation while staying at this property. I recommend that Orbitz remove this property from its list of those available.

I was prepared for an airport hotel. I wasn’t prepared for a sketchy complex reminiscent of late 1990s housing projects where teens and young adults from outlying areas come to throw “penthouse” (sic) parties. The staff were mean to other guests (not to me, but still ugly to witness); but then, the guests were foul too. My neighbors’ trash was accumulating on the balcony, the bed sheets were unclean, the toilet wobbled, and some parts of my room hadn’t seen soap in months. Just NOOOO.

They go through and tow random cars from their parking lot at owners expense of $300. Tow company only takes cash. And it was far too organized. Managers were extremely rude when confronted to all the guest. Not even a sorry. Nothing. The room was dirty. Stay if you want but you gable on it being a $400 a night stay. The tow company admitted that they try to take 10 cars a night.... That's $3000 cash a night. Nice profit to split with the hotel?

There was open drink bottles spilled in the refrigerator and the dead bolt was broken. There was used q-tips and beer bottle caps on the floor on the porch. They charged my card $158 without telling me. The only charge they said they were going to charge was $25. They claimed that orbitz didn’t send payment so they charged my card for what was due. They claim now that it will go back on my card since we checked out. We will see.

I liked the quiet location and easy commute to the airport

No available parking near my room. Had to park in an unsafe area and walk a far distance to the room.

Did not feel safe on this property While walking to our room at after checkin at 3am, there were two different places where intimidating figures were just standing around, it’s 3am! In fact, we had another reservation here on the backend of our trip and we didnt even bother to show up. Didnt ask orbitz for a refund either. We just ate the cost, it is that bad

Do not stay at this hotel ! If you do for some reason don’t stay in building 5 or 7 . I stayed in building 5 3 months ago and it had bed bugs. I got bit EVERYWHERE. Then I had an emergency trip and everywhere else was sold out or really expensive so I made the dumb mistake of going back and they tried to put me back in building 5 and I told them no so they moved me to building 7 which was to my surprise actually cleaner then the other , BUT I woke up and was making my bed and ANOTHER bed bug. I took it to the office to show them along with pictures and videos I took and I was told I’d revive a call and a refund in 24 hours and I still have yet to hear back or get a refund.

Nice facility all together but could use some renovating in bathrooms ceilings and cubbords

The bathroom was not clean. There was hair in the bathtub and on the floor of the bathroom. Also, the trash from the previous guest was under the sink. The cleaning crew didn’t do a good job. The hotel looked like it use to be a Residence Inn. It was old and not renovated. If I had to stay here again I could, but it’s not my first choice. Also, I was charged a $25 deposit. Later that night at 1 am my credit card was charged another $50 for no apparent reason. That was 3 days ago and I’m still waiting for this charge to be put back on my card. When I called customer service, they could not explain why this charge was taken off my card. Not the greatest experience.

We stayed a couple of years ago and had a VERY good stay, this year was fine except for the cleanliness of the room. We found out that the rooms are deep cleaned only after five guests. Most places do this after each guest. The floors where so dirty you couldn't walk around bare footed without getting gross feet. When we washed our feet the wash cloths/towels were black!

It was okay, stayed before and that experience was better

Hotel rooms were very clean. Grounds could be nicer. Breakfast was over at 9 am and you had to walk to other eating facilities. Very inconvenient. We were expecting a hotel and dId not know that this was an extended stay facility. Other guests congregated in the parking lot at night. Overall not a bad experience but I would not go back.

Had a stay from 9/5-9/7. Hotel looks as if it was recently updated. Facilities and rooms appear as advertised however roaches were observed upon arrival in my suite. Staff were immediately notified however no maintenance staff nor otherwise came to inspect my room nor offer me an alternative suite. I was bitten repeatedly during my stay and could not figure out what was doing it. On my final night I found bed bugs on my bed and took pictures as well as filmed them with my phone. I went downstairs and reported to staff and the staff took my complaint and gave me her name. The manager was not onsite at the time. Because I had not received a phone call regarding my concerns the following day I called back to the hotel to speak to the manager whom was not there. The staff I spoke to via phone denied that an employee by the name of the woman whom I initially filed complaint with, worked there. Now nearly 2 weeks later and multiple messages left for the manager I have not received a follow-up to my complaints. Each time I called during his scheduled work hours the staff reports he is not there however has not been on vacation. I filed a complaint with the Wyndham hotel group which is the Corporation for the Hawthorne Suites on 8/9/2017 . I was informed that the complaint would be resolved by the 9/15. Today is 9/20 and they have yet to contact me. I am appalled by the lack of customer service and efficiency of this hotel group.

A random stranger said to me at breakfast that this was the worst hotel he has ever stayed at, but I wouldn't go that far.

Northwoods Blvd North Charleston SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center

Located 0.6 mi (1 km) from Northwoods Mall, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham North Charleston, SC is within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like Charleston Southern University. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 96 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

For a nice break, mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception.


Rooms

The 96 accommodations feature kitchens and space to spread out with living rooms. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Pillowtop beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free long-distance calls, and free local calls. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

At Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham North Charleston, SC, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking if you drive. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with securing valuables, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and express check-in.

Room options

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Studio Suite, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Two Bedroom Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 5

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham North Charleston, SC

Everyone (23) Couples (1) Family (6)
5
Family

Great hotel for the price . We’ll come back for sure since my son lives in Charlotte and I’m frequently here.

By on Aug 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful rating. We value your business and appreciate you choosing us. We hope to have the chance to serve you again on your next visit.

1
Everyone

Room was nasty and too many drug users staying in the rooms.

By on Jul 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2021

You can absolutely rest assured that your voice is important to us and that our staff and management are truly sincere in our promise to improve upon the security measures taken to ensure the safety of guest. I assure you that we take your comfort and safety seriously, and we are addressing your comments with staff to ensure that no similar instance occurs in the future. We hope you'll return someday to see how we're improving.

1
Partner Couples

The room was dirty and the whole establishment is run down. Did not get the room I booked.

By on Jul 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 13, 2021

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I do hear your suggestions for improvement and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We hope to see you again soon and to impress you with our continuing improvements.

1
Everyone

This was the worse hotel room I ever had. There was trash outside my door when I arrived. The hard surface floors were not swept, let alone mopped. The bathroom tub had a cord hanging from the shower head. There were pubic hairs in the tub and dirt in the bottom. The water level in the commode was set too high. There were no cups or glasses in the room to allow getting a drink of water (I had to drink from the coffee pot.) I slept in a valley on the mattress. The room phone didn't work. The Internet connection was so weak that no applications except Google's home page were accessible. I don't mind old furnishings in hotel rooms but lack of maintenance is another matter. I felt at risk for security and sanitation while staying at this property. I recommend that Orbitz remove this property from its list of those available.

By on May 20, 2021

Review comment responded on May 22, 2021

Through feedback like yours we are able to address our weaknesses and to improve upon them and we thank you for taking the time to write. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.

1
Everyone

I was prepared for an airport hotel. I wasn’t prepared for a sketchy complex reminiscent of late 1990s housing projects where teens and young adults from outlying areas come to throw “penthouse” (sic) parties. The staff were mean to other guests (not to me, but still ugly to witness); but then, the guests were foul too. My neighbors’ trash was accumulating on the balcony, the bed sheets were unclean, the toilet wobbled, and some parts of my room hadn’t seen soap in months. Just NOOOO.

By , from Brooklyn on Mar 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2020

I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such a usual experience. We take this quite seriously and have shared your feedback with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.

1
Family

They go through and tow random cars from their parking lot at owners expense of $300. Tow company only takes cash. And it was far too organized. Managers were extremely rude when confronted to all the guest. Not even a sorry. Nothing. The room was dirty. Stay if you want but you gable on it being a $400 a night stay. The tow company admitted that they try to take 10 cars a night.... That's $3000 cash a night. Nice profit to split with the hotel?

By on Aug 9, 2019

2
Family Family with small children Friends

There was open drink bottles spilled in the refrigerator and the dead bolt was broken. There was used q-tips and beer bottle caps on the floor on the porch. They charged my card $158 without telling me. The only charge they said they were going to charge was $25. They claimed that orbitz didn’t send payment so they charged my card for what was due. They claim now that it will go back on my card since we checked out. We will see.

By on Jul 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2019

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We take this very seriously and are very sorry about the issues you faced; this has been forwarded to management. Thank you again for sharing and we hope to earn your business in the future by continuing to evolve and improve guest experience.

3
Everyone

By on Jun 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 11, 2019

On behalf of our entire staff thank you for staying with us and for rating your stay.

4
Business Business

I liked the quiet location and easy commute to the airport

By on May 28, 2019

Review comment responded on May 28, 2019

It means so much to have earned your business. We appreciate the feedback regarding our location. We hope to someday have another opportunity to host your stay.

3
Business Business

No available parking near my room. Had to park in an unsafe area and walk a far distance to the room.

By on Apr 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2019

Your feedback is very welcome as it helps us to continuously grow and evolve. Thank you for sharing your honest comments pertaining to our parking and area. Our goal is for every guest to have a convenient and accommodating experience so we thank you for sharing.

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham North Charleston, SC

7645 Northwoods Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29406-4033
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/North-Charleston-Hotels-Hawthorn-Suites-by-Wyndham-North-Charleston,-SC.h8703-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /North-Charleston-Hotels-Hawthorn-Suites-by-Wyndham-North-Charleston,-SC.h8703-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/North-Charleston-Hotels-Hawthorn-Suites-by-Wyndham-North-Charleston,-SC.h8703-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions