Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This was a beutiful hotel in a beautiful setting. A great, unique place to stay in the area. I wish the walls had better insulation however. I could clearly hear snoring in the room above and next door.

It was rustic feel. Room was not bad at all. It was a little disappointing that the miniature golf was not open at this time. We did buy some equipment and use it. This way we still was able to play. Otherwise i would stay again.

good hiking trails, beautiful lake, clean simple cabins - a very safe getaway during these times of Covid

The shower did not get hot. The bathroom was not that clean and the room needs to be updated. It had an old smell to it.

Long line at check-in. After waiting over 15 minutes, a second clerk came out to help and took someone out of the middle of the line, rather than the next in line...pretty amateur move.

Three minutes of hot water then icy in the shower! No weather stripping on the bottom of the doors and I stayed on a very cold night. Used bath towels to stop the cold air from pouring in. Bed was comfortable.

Cool resort, city downtown has lots of shops, pool is clean, good hiking, room pillows small, bathroom dirty. Price is very reasonable.

I just spend one night and was okay, nothing special, friendly people, clean room. My only complaint it's the a/c, it's too loud, and the pool wasn't working.

We love staying here, mostly in the cabins. This time we were in the adjacent section of the lodge. The sink and vanity were outside of the bathroom which I don't like since other people can see you getting cleaned up, etc. The water pressure at the sink was almost nil. We have never had any problem with pressure in the cabins. The employees and waitresses are always very helpful and friendly. We will be back.

Hwy. 227 Carrollton KY

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

General Butler State Resort Park places you next to General Butler State Resort Park and within a few miles (5 km) of other popular attractions like Jefferson Community and Technical College. This 53-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free self parking, and a conference center.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat.


Rooms

All 53 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of General Butler State Resort Park have access to an outdoor pool, a children's pool, and outdoor tennis courts. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a terrace.

Room options

Room, 1 Queen Bed (Lodge)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, Accessible

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible (Lodge)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, Accessible

4 Queen Beds | Sleeps 10

Guest reviews for General Butler State Resort Park

Everyone (7) Couples (1) Family (1)
4
Family

This was a beutiful hotel in a beautiful setting. A great, unique place to stay in the area. I wish the walls had better insulation however. I could clearly hear snoring in the room above and next door.

By on May 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2021

Thanks for the feedback!!

4
Friends

It was rustic feel. Room was not bad at all. It was a little disappointing that the miniature golf was not open at this time. We did buy some equipment and use it. This way we still was able to play. Otherwise i would stay again.

By on Mar 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2021

Thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay!

5
Partner Couples

good hiking trails, beautiful lake, clean simple cabins - a very safe getaway during these times of Covid

By on Jan 23, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 23, 2021

Thank you for choosing General Butler SRP. You and your feedback is important to us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we were able to help you feel safe and secure during these times. We look forward to serving you again - Della

5
Everyone

By on Aug 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 13, 2019

Thank you - Della

3
Everyone

The shower did not get hot. The bathroom was not that clean and the room needs to be updated. It had an old smell to it.

By on Dec 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 18, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry your stay wasn't a pleasant one. We would love for you to give us another chance. We hope to serve you again!

4
Everyone

Long line at check-in. After waiting over 15 minutes, a second clerk came out to help and took someone out of the middle of the line, rather than the next in line...pretty amateur move.

By on Aug 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business. I apologize for the delay at check in. I hope everything with your stay was satisfactory - Della

2
Everyone

Three minutes of hot water then icy in the shower! No weather stripping on the bottom of the doors and I stayed on a very cold night. Used bath towels to stop the cold air from pouring in. Bed was comfortable.

By , from Kentucky on Feb 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Please give me a call. I would like to discuss your stay further and learn your room number to ensure that it is inspected properly - Della

4

pleased

Everyone

Cool resort, city downtown has lots of shops, pool is clean, good hiking, room pillows small, bathroom dirty. Price is very reasonable.

By , from Benton Harbor, MI on Aug 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a response. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our town and our resort. We look forward to seeing you again - Della

3
Everyone

I just spend one night and was okay, nothing special, friendly people, clean room. My only complaint it's the a/c, it's too loud, and the pool wasn't working.

By , from D on Jul 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad your overall stay was pleasant. I'm sorry you weren't able to enjoy our pool. Our first priority is the safety of our guests and unfortunately to ensure that, we had to close the pool. I hope you'll be able to come back to stay when it's fixed to relax and enjoy. Please give us a call regarding the room you were in so we can have maintenance check on the A/C unit. Thank you again - Della

4
Everyone

We love staying here, mostly in the cabins. This time we were in the adjacent section of the lodge. The sink and vanity were outside of the bathroom which I don't like since other people can see you getting cleaned up, etc. The water pressure at the sink was almost nil. We have never had any problem with pressure in the cabins. The employees and waitresses are always very helpful and friendly. We will be back.

By on Sep 26, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 25, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you soon.

General Butler State Resort Park

1608 Hwy. 227, Carrollton, KY 41008
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Carrollton-Hotels-General-Butler-State-Resort-Park.h1108318-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Carrollton-Hotels-General-Butler-State-Resort-Park.h1108318-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Carrollton-Hotels-General-Butler-State-Resort-Park.h1108318-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions