Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The dirtiest, most disgusting hotel I've ever gone to.

To be honest there wasn’t much to like. We arrived at check in time and were told our room wasn’t ready and to come back in an hour. When we returned, they told us the room we reserved was no longer available and they would have to put us in a smaller room. They only deducted $10. When we entered the room, we saw that the room was not cleaned ( there were false eyelashes and debris on the counter) and the bathtub appeared to have something brown smeared in it. We attempted to call down to the front desk but the room phone was not attached or plugged in. It was not functioning. We called the front desk using our cell phone to report the dirty bathtub/room and were told they would send someone up. We waited over an hour and no one came. They came hours later. Very disappointing experience.

Hotel was nice for the price (half the cost of any other place in Carlsbad) but was incomplete bc it looks like my room was missing towels and coat hangers. I did like having a full sized fridge and being close to my car. Checkin time is early at 2:30 so that was nice

Nice property! Room has everything you need. Front desk staff wasn't pleasant at all.

Pros: Convenient location to Legoland and beach. Not expensive. People at front desk were nice. Cons: dirty floors, bathroom in disrepair, no maid service.

Liked, however the pool was dirty and cold. No food or coffee available which was a disappointment. Front desk was nice however one employee did not smile or greet guests. Will book king suite again for multiple days.

1st room we went in smelled super strong of cigarettes. Had to switch rooms. 2nd room toliet ran. Shower door would not stay closed. Hallway smelled like dirty vacuum and absolutely no reason why the pool and hot tub should still be closed especially when most the staff and guests don't wear masks or social distance

Interior needed update..carpet and hallways smelled..understaffed...room still had dishwasher running..No TV Remote..No Hair Blow Dryer..No Kleenex.. Dusty...when front desk called told their rooms were full and to come down for items, no staff to deliver. The girl attitude at front desk appeared she did not wanna be there

Check in was easy and the staff was nice. The pool was closed, but we understood the reason.

I prepaid for this stay, or I would have left after the first night or two. There was a plugged toilet issue, and the first time I called the desk I was put on eternal hold. I hung up and called from my cell phone, and asked for help. More than 30 minutes later I had to call again in order to get someone to come up. I asked that the same person bring coffee packets up for the following morning, but was advised that the person coming up is from another department and could not bring the coffee. The "maintenance" person was wearing fancy shoes, a jacket, and slacks. Obviously NOT a maintenance person, but one who could have easily brought coffee. I set out our trash and dirty towels today, but did not receive replacements. When I asked to have them brought up, I was told that, even though we set out four towels, their policy was to replace them with two. I said that, no, if they gave us four we wouldn't need to get any additional before leaving. I did receive four, but no wash cloths or hand towels. We booked this room for a week because we moved across country, and our house is not ready for another week. We had two rooms for two nights, and in total I paid well over $1,000 for basic lodging sans housekeeping services of any sort. Something tells me they did not discount my stay though they use covid as an excuse to provide fewer services than pre-covid. Disappointing at best.

The separate bedroom was exactly what I was looking for. Rooms definitely need a upgrade but overall okay.

Great setup for families with the kitchen however that’s where the positives end. Hotel was in poor repair (although room itself was adequate), towels had holes in them, understaffed and could not get anyone to answer the phone during my stay, unprofessional staff (no uniforms, etc), seemed to be a parking lot for transients to hang out or stay. In addition pool and breakfast were completely unavailable due to COVID, however this was not communicated to me prior to my stay and was very disappointing.

I loved the kitchenette!! I just wish the pool and hot tub was open.

Very good use of space. Shower cabin is very clean and comfortable. Kitchenette is a big plus. However, we couldn't sleep due to freeway's noise. Advertisement was very misleading. I saw two beds on the photo and ended up reserving a room with one bed and a sofa (look for yourself!).

Convenient - close to outlet and Legoland. Good rate. Definitely needs updating.

Avenida Encinas Carlsbad CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • 24-hour fitness center

Carlsbad Suites places you within a mile (2 km) of popular attractions like Carlsbad Premium Outlets and Flower Fields of Carlsbad. This 3.5-star vacation home has 98 guestrooms and offers an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and free in-room WiFi.


Rooms

The 98 individually furnished homes feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and dishwashers. Guests can enjoy free WiFi and TVs. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Coffee makers, free local calls, and safes are also standard. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests staying at Carlsbad Suites enjoy an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and a spa tub. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with securing valuables and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

King Studio Accessible

1 King Bed and 1 Twin Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Queen Studio

1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

King Studio

1 King Bed and 1 Twin Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Queen Studio Accessible

2 Queen Beds and 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Carlsbad Suites

Everyone (37) Couples (28) Business (8) Family (82) Other (1)
1
Family with small children

The dirtiest, most disgusting hotel I've ever gone to.

By on Sep 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 11, 2021

Dear Adrianna, I apologize your stay wasn't the greatest. As we are transitioning to a better name and a better stay for everyone in these months to come. We hope you think of us in the near future. Covid-19 has hit us pretty hard this past year. We have high hopes from now until this upcoming year to make things better for you and everyone else, who choses to stay with us. Thank you! Please stay safe and health from all of us at Carlsbad Suites.

1
Family

To be honest there wasn’t much to like. We arrived at check in time and were told our room wasn’t ready and to come back in an hour. When we returned, they told us the room we reserved was no longer available and they would have to put us in a smaller room. They only deducted $10. When we entered the room, we saw that the room was not cleaned ( there were false eyelashes and debris on the counter) and the bathtub appeared to have something brown smeared in it. We attempted to call down to the front desk but the room phone was not attached or plugged in. It was not functioning. We called the front desk using our cell phone to report the dirty bathtub/room and were told they would send someone up. We waited over an hour and no one came. They came hours later. Very disappointing experience.

By on Sep 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We will work harder to address the issues you have reported.

3
Partner Couples

Hotel was nice for the price (half the cost of any other place in Carlsbad) but was incomplete bc it looks like my room was missing towels and coat hangers. I did like having a full sized fridge and being close to my car. Checkin time is early at 2:30 so that was nice

By on Aug 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. Please stay safe.

4
Everyone

Nice property! Room has everything you need. Front desk staff wasn't pleasant at all.

By on Aug 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2021

Thank you for your feedback.

3
Family

Pros: Convenient location to Legoland and beach. Not expensive. People at front desk were nice. Cons: dirty floors, bathroom in disrepair, no maid service.

By on Aug 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We will work harder to resolve the issues you have reported.

5
Family with small children

Liked, however the pool was dirty and cold. No food or coffee available which was a disappointment. Front desk was nice however one employee did not smile or greet guests. Will book king suite again for multiple days.

By on Jun 25, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2021

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. We will look into the issues you have reported and work hard to fix them. Thank you for your feedback, stay safe and healthy.

3
Partner Couples

1st room we went in smelled super strong of cigarettes. Had to switch rooms. 2nd room toliet ran. Shower door would not stay closed. Hallway smelled like dirty vacuum and absolutely no reason why the pool and hot tub should still be closed especially when most the staff and guests don't wear masks or social distance

By on May 25, 2021

Review comment responded on May 27, 2021

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. We will look into the issues you have reported and work hard to fix them. Thank you for your feedback, stay safe and healthy.

2
Family Partner Couples Friends

Interior needed update..carpet and hallways smelled..understaffed...room still had dishwasher running..No TV Remote..No Hair Blow Dryer..No Kleenex.. Dusty...when front desk called told their rooms were full and to come down for items, no staff to deliver. The girl attitude at front desk appeared she did not wanna be there

By on May 24, 2021

Review comment responded on May 27, 2021

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. We will look into the issues you have reported and work hard to fix them. Thank you for your feedback, stay safe and healthy.

5
Partner Couples

Check in was easy and the staff was nice. The pool was closed, but we understood the reason.

By on Apr 30, 2021

Review comment responded on May 1, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. Please stay safe and healthy.

2
Family Friends

I prepaid for this stay, or I would have left after the first night or two. There was a plugged toilet issue, and the first time I called the desk I was put on eternal hold. I hung up and called from my cell phone, and asked for help. More than 30 minutes later I had to call again in order to get someone to come up. I asked that the same person bring coffee packets up for the following morning, but was advised that the person coming up is from another department and could not bring the coffee. The "maintenance" person was wearing fancy shoes, a jacket, and slacks. Obviously NOT a maintenance person, but one who could have easily brought coffee. I set out our trash and dirty towels today, but did not receive replacements. When I asked to have them brought up, I was told that, even though we set out four towels, their policy was to replace them with two. I said that, no, if they gave us four we wouldn't need to get any additional before leaving. I did receive four, but no wash cloths or hand towels. We booked this room for a week because we moved across country, and our house is not ready for another week. We had two rooms for two nights, and in total I paid well over $1,000 for basic lodging sans housekeeping services of any sort. Something tells me they did not discount my stay though they use covid as an excuse to provide fewer services than pre-covid. Disappointing at best.

By on Apr 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2021

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. We will look into the issues you have reported and work hard to fix them. Thank you for your feedback, stay safe and healthy.

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Carlsbad-Hotels-Carlsbad-Suites.h868459-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Carlsbad-Hotels-Carlsbad-Suites.h868459-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Carlsbad-Hotels-Carlsbad-Suites.h868459-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions