Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Newer hotel with very large rooms, very well appointed, delightful staff and reasonable rates. Home run! Very much intend to stay again.

Overall the hotel is just okay. The walls are extremely thin. I could hear the conversation in the room next to me as if I was a foot away. The same goes for any conversations that take place in the hallway. My biggest issue is that I was double charged. I paid ahead of time and then upon check in they took my card for incidentals. After checking out I saw a rather large charge and called to see what it was for and they explained for the room, when I said that I had already paid their response was, “oh yes, it looks like you’re right.” I’m still waiting to see if the refund actually comes through. It’s an okay place if you absolutely need to stay in that area, but definitely not worth paying double for.

Great place and extremely clean. The restaurant on the premises was amazing

Stayed at this hotel multiple times, everything is great. Unfortunately my most recent stay there I was very upset with an issue and the employee they had working in the front was extremely rude couldn’t provide us with management when we first asked, then when we ask for her name she replied “my name is none of your concern .. etc ”. Sad to see a great establishment have a employee like this.

Walls were thin you could hear conversations from The hall way and other rooms Like that the provide large bottles of shampoo mounted to the wall no more tiny bottles of plastic to end up in the ocean

Liked undercover parking. Liked the restaurant. Friendly staff.

Property was a serious find! Clean, comfortable, and in a quaint town. Yo wont be disappointed.

This site has changed management since the last time I stayed here in 2017 and there is a huge improvement since that last visit. The check in went so smoothly and they had our reservation ready. The king bed room was very spacious and clean, but for some reason, the AC was off and the room was roasting (we arrived in the middle of a heat wave). There's no more free breakfast with your stay, which was the only good perk from the last time I stayed here. When you check in, you get a 10 dollar voucher forthe restaurant on site for breakfast, but that's it. Other than that, I'd recommend this hotel if you're visiting the Carbondale area.

Nice clean room at good price. Amusing to see big chunks of anthracite in lobby.

The pillows are way too stiff, and no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Other than that, the hotel is great!

The only reason I had to grade at 4 due to the following miscommunication with complimentary breakfast. We booked and paid in the end of the 2017, room included breakfast. At the time of checked in hotel staff handed me a 10$ coupon for each day instead of the breakfast voucher. I had to argue! I picked this hotel only because of the included breakfast! Apparently restaurant is under the new management. But since we booked before the new management took over they honored it. But next day at the breakfast, restaurant staff didn't like the free breakfast coupon and after talking to few managers again they had to honor it. Other quests had same complaints. Other than that hotel is nice and clean, and dinner at the restaurant is good and tasty.

I was not expecting anything special in my stay but boy was I wrong. This is one of the single best hotel experiences I have had. To start with, I was late....really late. My travel was delayed and I was arriving after midnight. I called ahead and spoke with very helpful woman who said she had just been going through reservations and had seen mine and assured me a room would be waiting. Once I arrived, sure enough paperwork was already waiting, and she very quickly got me set up. She told me they had full free breakfast, but unfortunately i had to be on the road before it was ready and as such was just going to grab something on the way. She then asked me if i wanted something to take along....the shocked look on my face must have given her a chuckle.... I asked what she meant, and she said she could make me a breakfast sandwich to take with me.... Again... the shock.... she assured me there would be a sandwich at 515 am...I went to bed. The room was clean as a whistle, the bead soft and lots of great pillows, so I slept well (although a short time). Showers are killer by the way.... Next morning and sure enough she has a sandwich, a container of fresh fruit and a breakfast snack bar to take with me...(I know!!!) The coffee was great, sandwich right off the grill and at least a pound, and I started my day much better than I had expected. In short, awesome place, she was wonderful, and I know where I will stay next time I travel this way! Awesome and thanks!

We had to make a quick trip to PA to attend a funeral, we were told to book this hotel by friends. It is the best hotel in town and the price was very good. Staff was great, plus free breakfast!

Friendly staff, nice accommodations, clean and comfortable.

We are from Carbondale and just sold the family house. It is nice to know we still have a place to stay when we visit. Everything was just lovely. Had a wonderful 3 days. Food in the restaurant was great; staff were very friendly. The room was clean and large compared to some rooms. It was a nice small town feel but with a little bit of class !

Very nice staff and comfortable room. Reasonably priced as well.

We enjoyed our stay. Everything was great. Very nice staff,clean rooms,nice hotel

S Main St Carbondale PA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Hotel Anthracite places you next to Lackawanna River and Carbondale Historical Society and Museum. This 61-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

Hotel Anthracite's 61 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and safes. LED TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Phones, ironing boards, and desks are also standard.


Property features

At Hotel Anthracite, guests have access to a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours/tickets and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Suite, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hotel Anthracite

Everyone (4) Couples (6) Business (2) Family (9)
5
Everyone

Newer hotel with very large rooms, very well appointed, delightful staff and reasonable rates. Home run! Very much intend to stay again.

By on May 18, 2021

Review comment responded on May 18, 2021

Thank you for choosing Hotel Anthracite. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind compliments, we'll be sure to share them with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in Carbondale.

2
Partner Couples Family

Overall the hotel is just okay. The walls are extremely thin. I could hear the conversation in the room next to me as if I was a foot away. The same goes for any conversations that take place in the hallway. My biggest issue is that I was double charged. I paid ahead of time and then upon check in they took my card for incidentals. After checking out I saw a rather large charge and called to see what it was for and they explained for the room, when I said that I had already paid their response was, “oh yes, it looks like you’re right.” I’m still waiting to see if the refund actually comes through. It’s an okay place if you absolutely need to stay in that area, but definitely not worth paying double for.

By , from Washington, DC on Sep 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 10, 2020

Dear AW, Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at Hotel Anthracite. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed in the acoustics. We apologize for the confusion you experienced during check out and any inconvenience it may have caused. We always strive for excellence but do apologize if we fell short in this instance. If you need to discuss the issue further, please reach out to our manager, Chad, directly.

5
Family Business Business

Great place and extremely clean. The restaurant on the premises was amazing

By , from Warrington on Aug 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2020

Thanks for staying and we appreciate the great feedback. Will share with the entire team and look forward to your next visit.

3
Family Family

Stayed at this hotel multiple times, everything is great. Unfortunately my most recent stay there I was very upset with an issue and the employee they had working in the front was extremely rude couldn’t provide us with management when we first asked, then when we ask for her name she replied “my name is none of your concern .. etc ”. Sad to see a great establishment have a employee like this.

By on Feb 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2020

Hi Mary, we are sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant experience during your last stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we have spoken to our staff. Please feel free to send us any additional feedback to me directly. We hope you will let us win you over with our hospitality in the future!

5
Partner Couples

Walls were thin you could hear conversations from The hall way and other rooms Like that the provide large bottles of shampoo mounted to the wall no more tiny bottles of plastic to end up in the ocean

By on Jan 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 24, 2020

Thank you for the 5/5 review, and my apologies for any noise issues you encountered. We do have rooms that are more isolated and can attempt to assign you there in the future. Very glad you liked the bath amenities--in addition to being environmentally friendly, they're spa-quality and certified organic!

5
Partner Couples Friends

Liked undercover parking. Liked the restaurant. Friendly staff.

By on Oct 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Everyone

By on Aug 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Business Business

Property was a serious find! Clean, comfortable, and in a quaint town. Yo wont be disappointed.

By on Jul 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4
Partner Couples Family

This site has changed management since the last time I stayed here in 2017 and there is a huge improvement since that last visit. The check in went so smoothly and they had our reservation ready. The king bed room was very spacious and clean, but for some reason, the AC was off and the room was roasting (we arrived in the middle of a heat wave). There's no more free breakfast with your stay, which was the only good perk from the last time I stayed here. When you check in, you get a 10 dollar voucher forthe restaurant on site for breakfast, but that's it. Other than that, I'd recommend this hotel if you're visiting the Carbondale area.

By on Jul 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4
Everyone

Nice clean room at good price. Amusing to see big chunks of anthracite in lobby.

By on Jun 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 12, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Carbondale-Hotels-Hotel-Anthracite.h6040708-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Carbondale-Hotels-Hotel-Anthracite.h6040708-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Carbondale-Hotels-Hotel-Anthracite.h6040708-p2.Hotel-Reviews