Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The staff was very nice and helpful. However, the property needs much maintenance and upgrades. The rooms have very badly designed electric and bath systems, such as the wall hair-dryer being placed just next from the bathtub and not GFI. The bathroom leaks water, poor water pressure, on and on, etc.,

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms were very comfortable. Hot breakfast was good. Prices were ok, considering Cancun hotspot areas. Had missed placed wallet. Talked to Oscar (hotel security), he immediately called all staff to look out for it and even made police report. Ended up finding it in my luggage...LoL. Had one too many...LMAO. Ivan, wait staff captain, was very friendly and made breakfast excellent.

Good location thank you have a nice day 🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂

The comfort was horrible ! And it smelled a lot like humid

Hubby and I found this little hidden gem a few months back so this is our second time staying here. The room was clean and the hotel location was about a 10 minute walk from downtown Cancun (not bad at all). All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to a friend for a quick inexpensive getaway. Oh, the shower was a little cold but I survived lol.

The hotel staff were very friendly and I loved the price and the location but the room while clean and the bed was comfortable, was absolutely nothing like the picture on Orbitz. I decided to book the room on special because of the sofa and desk and room set up. It was not like that at all. No carpet and no other furniture other than bed and small desk.

If you want a hotel only to sleep in a good location in Cancún...its ok! but the hotel is horrible and smell too bad!

Was an ok room. You get what you pay for. Good for short notice stay.

The overall experience was average, hotel staff excellent, rooms cleaned.The major problems we found during our stay was the smell of the sewer and no study hot water. Also be aware when you shower floor is extremely slippery. Wifi connection is bad Needs improvement, but if you are not planning on spending time at the hotel it will be a good option to consider during your stay in Cancun.

Upon arrival, they immediately put us up into different broken down hotel, that wasn't being "remodeled" as she said theirs was. This one had no pool, no balcony, no hairdryer, no coffee maker and no hot tub. Not what we signed up for.

This place is still being built so the sounds of construction are quite loud during the day. At night there is a hostel in the same building and it was super loud as well. The room was kinda cool. Artsy and heavily decorated but awkward. The bathroom was open to the main room which was fine for asndnd single person but a newly dating couple might feel strange. I would not recommend as of now

Needed a room with a bathtub for medical reasons, little did I know what a scarcity this would be in Mexico. I had reservations at another hotel but they didn't offer a tub I spent a whole night searching for a hotel offering this amenity and to my delight the Mayafair not only had rooms with bathtubs but they were really reasonably priced.

Hotel was in repair work, no amenities, fridge didn't work

Close to beaches, close to shopping. It's a great hotel.

no telephone, internet service suuuuper slow. building needs a lot of maintenance. walking distance to beach. very close to grocery store, starbucks restaurants, mall

if I come back I will def be staying here, the rooms are clean and freezing cold. the location is perfect! we walked to the clubs and parking was in front also. I loved it, I cant wait to come back!!!

Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 8.5. Zona Hotelera Cancun QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Zona Hotelera, Mayafair Design Hotel is next to Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and Plaza Caracol Mall. This 3-star hotel has 47 guestrooms and offers a full-service spa, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

This hotel is home to 3 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. At the end of the day, unwind with a drink at the bar/lounge. Start each morning with full breakfast, available for a fee from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All 47 individually decorated rooms feature desks. 40-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi.


Property features

Guests of Mayafair Design Hotel enjoy features like a full-service spa, free WiFi in public areas, and spa treatment rooms. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for MXN 1300 per room roundtrip. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage and tours/tickets. Other amenities at this spa hotel include express check-out, laundry facilities, and a convenience store.

Room options

Superior Room

2 King Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Design Room

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Design Double Room

2 King Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Mayafair Design Hotel

Everyone (17) Couples (4) Family (2) Friends (3) Other (1)
2
Partner Couples

The staff was very nice and helpful. However, the property needs much maintenance and upgrades. The rooms have very badly designed electric and bath systems, such as the wall hair-dryer being placed just next from the bathtub and not GFI. The bathroom leaks water, poor water pressure, on and on, etc.,

By on Jul 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 10, 2021

Dear Guest, I want to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments, be confident we will work on them to improve. We look forward to heve you here again. Best Regards

3
Everyone

By on Oct 19, 2019

5
Partner Couples

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms were very comfortable. Hot breakfast was good. Prices were ok, considering Cancun hotspot areas. Had missed placed wallet. Talked to Oscar (hotel security), he immediately called all staff to look out for it and even made police report. Ended up finding it in my luggage...LoL. Had one too many...LMAO. Ivan, wait staff captain, was very friendly and made breakfast excellent.

By on Apr 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2019

Good morning, thank you very much for taking your time to qualify us, we regret that you had that bad experience. Day by day we strive to be able to offer you more and better services. Greetings

4
Partner Couples

Good location thank you have a nice day 🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂

By on Mar 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2019

Thank you so much for you valuable opinion... see you soon... best regards

5
Everyone

By on Mar 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

gracias

5
Everyone

By on Mar 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

gracias

5
Everyone

By on Mar 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

gracias

1
Everyone

The comfort was horrible ! And it smelled a lot like humid

By on Jan 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2019

We appreciate your appreciable opinion, which we will take into account to improve

4

decent hotel

Everyone

Hubby and I found this little hidden gem a few months back so this is our second time staying here. The room was clean and the hotel location was about a 10 minute walk from downtown Cancun (not bad at all). All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to a friend for a quick inexpensive getaway. Oh, the shower was a little cold but I survived lol.

By , from Atlanta on May 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2018

Dear Mr. Brit Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are happy to know that your experience with us was pleasant and that we are a good option for your future reservations. We hope to continue providing you with our services My best regard

3

price is nice but not like the picture!

Everyone

The hotel staff were very friendly and I loved the price and the location but the room while clean and the bed was comfortable, was absolutely nothing like the picture on Orbitz. I decided to book the room on special because of the sofa and desk and room set up. It was not like that at all. No carpet and no other furniture other than bed and small desk.

By on Feb 6, 2018

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Cancun-Hotels-Mayafair-Design-Hotel.h2489197-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Cancun-Hotels-Mayafair-Design-Hotel.h2489197-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Cancun-Hotels-Mayafair-Design-Hotel.h2489197-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions