Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This hotel was dirty as soon as I walked in. My family and I were so tired that we just wanted to rest. We booked this hotel because of the amenities that were advertised such as a pool and a sauna but they were not operating. The room was so dirty. I can’t even begin to explain. We didn’t take a shower there because the shower clearly had mold. The A/C was antiquated and loud so we couldn’t rest, plus they left a dirty cleaning towel in the room. We needed to ask for towels and toilet paper at the reception. In short, my family and I were anxious to leave that place and never return.

Slow service, staff weren’t really much of a help, the hospitality wasn’t overall great

The place was clean and had friendly service. However, the place was old and needed much renovation. The elevator weren't working nor the AC. We asked to the AC to be fixed and nothing was done... night te was miggy. When we walk in the tub had water hafl way, we had to clean ourselves.

Everything.. from cracked doors and blood in the bathrooms and holes in the walls to broke down elevators and nothing at all open.. to charging my one night stay twice without a call back from the Hotel to make it right while I have called 3 times in the last 2 days trying to be patient.. not anymore.. place is a hell hole!! Stay away..

This property is worn out. Our air conditioner made noises all night and finally stopped working.

The only positive that stood out in regards to the property was the location. You are able to walk to many attractions and most of the nightlife. With that said, the location alone is not enough to bring me back to this hotel. In fact, we checked out early due to the terrible conditions of the hotel. The cleanliness is horrendous. Our sheets were stained, we had dirty towels, bugs in the room, wall paper and paint falling off the walls, and trash littered the halls. I typically can make an room accommodations work because when I travel I’m rarely in the room, but these conditions were simply too terrible.

Stay away . Room was dirty , no clean towels . Worst place I’ve been to

This hotel clearly was high end at some point, there’s a whole ballroom and the lobby is pretty nice. Either due to Covid or something else, it’s clear that only a small part of this hotel is in use. The stairwells are filthy and creepy (mouse traps, cigarette butts, soda cans) and there were French fries ground into the carpet when you enter from the parking garage. Overall I thought our room was clean, our linens at least smelled fresh, but in the morning I noticed someone had stuck a condom to one of the picture frames in our room. If you can lean into the creepy vibe it’s not so bad? Staff were super friendly.

None...poor service..never comeback

The property is very unsafe we were given a room where we had to take an elevator around the corner to exit the room and the floor was impossible to find.

Staff was friendly. Hotel was dirty and run down

showers were great; towels were soft Bad was peelling ceiling; dust in bathroom and console' smoke detector hanging loose off wall; light smoke smell' in room; ac had rust on side; rust flakes along bottom' several leaks from ceilng developed after a while; we had them change our room next room better; manager listened to complaints calmly and offered compensation; front desk staff at night wonderful; supplied towels upon request due to renovations all elevators closed down; first night we struggled with luggage up escalators to third floor room; after second day, we were alerted to :alternate elevator signifying one we could use but that hadnt been explained upon checkin fridge in room very cold, no usable vending machines; front desk did supply water hotel blurb said ordering was encouraged to room only to find out we had to come down to front to get it which meant dressing in a hurry and walking down the long corridors to the escalator/alternate elevator not good early in am very understaffed and hard on working staff present

Hotel was in process of undergoing renovations but we were not informed of this ahead of time. Guest elevators were not functional and we were told to use "alternate" elevators which took us through areas meant originally for staff. Our original room had both beds unmade so we asked to see another room which was fine. I would not recommend this hotel in its present condition.

Front desk suck and the way they tell you to take stairs to a third floor cause elevator is down cause of covid, i canceled my booking as soon they told me that

Main elevator was broken. Can hear other room clear as day no ice machine no pool. One cup in the room. No microwave or fridge. Terrible experience. Wouldn’t go back

The location was close to where I needed to be, and easy to find. The staff was friendly and very apologetic. Guests had to use service elevator because passenger elevators were not operating for all 4 days. I didn't mind that, but what bothered me is that the passageways to the service elevator was filthy. I walked on sticky floors every day. Due to COVID19 there was no housekeeping service - understandable, but I was not told that. There was no blanket on the bed, so I had to use bath towels to keep warm. I called the front desk twice for linen and none were delivered. The room clean, but very worn out furniture, bathroom faucet leaks, window screen torn, etc.

Church St Buffalo NY

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Business center
  • Concierge services

Located in Downtown Buffalo, Buffalo Grand Hotel is within a 10-minute stroll of sights such as Buffalo City Hall and Niagara Square. This 486-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a conference center.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's bistro, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning off right with buffet breakfast served for a fee.


Rooms

Buffalo Grand Hotel's 486 rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and safes. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport down comforters. Ironing boards and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Buffalo Grand Hotel enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a business center. Self parking is offered for USD 15 per night. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a microwave in a common area, a computer station, and free newspapers.

Room options

Comfort Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Comfort Double Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Buffalo Grand Hotel

Everyone (38) Couples (14) Family (32)
1
Family with small children

This hotel was dirty as soon as I walked in. My family and I were so tired that we just wanted to rest. We booked this hotel because of the amenities that were advertised such as a pool and a sauna but they were not operating. The room was so dirty. I can’t even begin to explain. We didn’t take a shower there because the shower clearly had mold. The A/C was antiquated and loud so we couldn’t rest, plus they left a dirty cleaning towel in the room. We needed to ask for towels and toilet paper at the reception. In short, my family and I were anxious to leave that place and never return.

By on Sep 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your experience was unacceptable and we sincerely apologize.

1
Family with small children

Slow service, staff weren’t really much of a help, the hospitality wasn’t overall great

By on Sep 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 8, 2021

Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the poor customer service experience you had. Your remarks have been noted and we appreciate you letting us know.

3
Family

The place was clean and had friendly service. However, the place was old and needed much renovation. The elevator weren't working nor the AC. We asked to the AC to be fixed and nothing was done... night te was miggy. When we walk in the tub had water hafl way, we had to clean ourselves.

By on Aug 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2021

Thank you for your time to write this review, We apologize for this poor experience. We are very disappointed to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your remarks are noted and we will make every effort to deal with all shortcomings as soon as possible.

1
Family Family with small children

Everything.. from cracked doors and blood in the bathrooms and holes in the walls to broke down elevators and nothing at all open.. to charging my one night stay twice without a call back from the Hotel to make it right while I have called 3 times in the last 2 days trying to be patient.. not anymore.. place is a hell hole!! Stay away..

By on Jul 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We will be happy to refund your payment if you were charged incorrectly.

2
Partner Couples

This property is worn out. Our air conditioner made noises all night and finally stopped working.

By on Jun 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2021

Thank you for letting us know about the air conditioner.

1
Partner Couples

The only positive that stood out in regards to the property was the location. You are able to walk to many attractions and most of the nightlife. With that said, the location alone is not enough to bring me back to this hotel. In fact, we checked out early due to the terrible conditions of the hotel. The cleanliness is horrendous. Our sheets were stained, we had dirty towels, bugs in the room, wall paper and paint falling off the walls, and trash littered the halls. I typically can make an room accommodations work because when I travel I’m rarely in the room, but these conditions were simply too terrible.

By on Jun 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 14, 2021

Thank you for your feedback.

1
Partner Couples

Stay away . Room was dirty , no clean towels . Worst place I’ve been to

By on Jun 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 13, 2021

We have received your feedback and will look into your concerns.

2
Partner Couples

This hotel clearly was high end at some point, there’s a whole ballroom and the lobby is pretty nice. Either due to Covid or something else, it’s clear that only a small part of this hotel is in use. The stairwells are filthy and creepy (mouse traps, cigarette butts, soda cans) and there were French fries ground into the carpet when you enter from the parking garage. Overall I thought our room was clean, our linens at least smelled fresh, but in the morning I noticed someone had stuck a condom to one of the picture frames in our room. If you can lean into the creepy vibe it’s not so bad? Staff were super friendly.

By on Jun 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2021

Thank you for letting us know of your experience and kind works about our staff. We are sorry you had a bad stay and hope you will try us in the future as we improve.

2
Family

None...poor service..never comeback

By on Jun 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2021

Thank you for your feedback.

1
Family

The property is very unsafe we were given a room where we had to take an elevator around the corner to exit the room and the floor was impossible to find.

By on May 17, 2021

Review comment responded on May 17, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. So sorry for the inconvenience of the elevator maintenance. We will have our elevator's upgrade completed shortly. I truly hope you will stay with us again in the future.

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Buffalo-Hotels-Buffalo-Grand-Hotel.h21284-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Buffalo-Hotels-Buffalo-Grand-Hotel.h21284-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Buffalo-Hotels-Buffalo-Grand-Hotel.h21284-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions