Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We enjoyed the private cabin. It was close to the lake and village.

The location was great and the bed was very comfy, but my in suite jacuzzi was broken and the carpets looked like they had not been vacuumed.

The western look was great Carpets was dirty looking and the whirlpool was dirty and the handles leaked and the shower had no pressure and the outside on porch need to be cleaned.and the umbrella on porch all torn .lots of flying bugs around whirlpool.

No A/C! So hot had to leave door and windows open all night. So did neighbors who wern't noisey, just doing their thing but I didn't want to hear it. Office staff knew nothing about the areaI asked where is good to eat they said Sizzler. So dissapointed. No DVD to rent as advertised, Cars parked so close to basketball that we did not want to play, Cornhole was dirty! WON'T go back!

Great location, comfy and super clean

Cabin 22 was good except for the heater which smelled like gas when turned on. Additionally, the shower’s floor was extremely cracked. Other than that the jet tub was great and the fire place was good.

Great location. It’s very close to the village, restaurants, activities, and right on the lake. They were doing renovations directly outside of our room which was not ideal for hanging out/relaxing on the patio area, but my kids enjoyed watching. The rooms are clean, fresh towels and bedding. They had everything we needed including pots, pans, cooking utensils, a coffee pot, a toaster, etc. Our fireplace didn’t work so that was disappointing. Overall, it was a nice stay though and our second time here. We would stay again simply because of the location and the in-room jacuzzi.

Beautiful view of the lake & Great location!

Charming cabin with lovely view of lake. Lots of blue jays, squirrels, and ducks to watch and enjoy

The cabin needs updating, carpets are torn, hot tub had aging signs and stains, was not brave enough to use it, the heater is loud, needed ear plugs to sleep well, the sink drains did not drain well, one of the kitchen chairs broke when my wife sat down on it and it was not the " Shallow Hal" case. The maintenance guy came out, sad the sink drain is " normal", did not want to replace the kitchen chair, said, I put it back together? The location is great. When called to check out, the front office girl lacked confidence in her answers. The bed was kinda soft but ok. 2 star place to spend a night.

Close to town and the lake. It had a wood burning fireplace

While it was snowing, my husband and daughter went out to the pool and hot tub. They had a blast. I on the other hand got to enjoy the snow fall from our very comfortable cabin 🙂

Parking lot was well illuminated, room we got was ok but the toilet had a leak, after reporting it I was told maintenance was going to take a look and I decided to leave and come back later. I was told it was fixed only to find a puddle of water on the bathroom floor, after going back a second time to the office to report it I was told that maintenance was going to go fix it and that i couldn’t get another room. Maintenance went only to confirm the toilet was broken and only then I got another room after 2 hours of checking in

The picnic areas and grilling sites were great! Pool and hot tub were well kept with access to restrooms.

Don’t go there. To begin with they advertise WiFi when there is none. They moved us to another room 2 days later to be “closer to the router,” we needed WiFi for the baby gear. We had to move crib, baby chairs, food that was in the refrigerator (it was a cabin), pack everything to go to another cabin that had mold and still not WiFi. Even if you were standing inside the reception, the password they give you is wrong and doesn’t log in. No one in the hotel had access to it. We asked. We had to sleep in the mold cabin for one night with a 3 month old baby. The Manager was never present, the staff was either rude and unprofessional, or unhelpful and oblivious to what was happening. I waist hours and hours of my vacation time walking into the reception or trying to call them and getting hang up on. We left one night earlier, and we were told they would reimburse us for the night plus some for our inconvenience. However our trip per night was way more than they want to refund us. When we got home we were surprised to see no refund but instead we were charged. They text me through Orbiz saying their staff reimburse us wrong, that we needed to get it from Orbitz (and we did), so they charged it back. In the end we never got the credit for not having a full size fridge, no WiFi, sleeping in a room with mold, being hang up on, be given wrong information and etc... Do yourself a favor and stay away!!!

My jacuzzi cabin on labor day weekend was $345/night. If I didn't see somewhere that the normal rates for these were around $100 on a non holiday night, I would've been very surprised at the condition of these cabins. the cabins were definitely older and in need of a remodel. The the couch had rips, the jacuzzi was cracked and looked like it wasn't usable and the floor carpet or whatever was full of stains (Since its a pet friendly motel, which is why we chose it, we had our little furbaby with us) I assume it was from previous pet poo and pee stains. My whole family immediately started to have allergic reaction to the cabin within minutes of entering. We were prepared and took allergy meds but that didn't help at all. My husband reacted so bad we couldn't wait to leave early enough the day of check out. They tried to present a clean cabin, kitchen and bedding was ok, but the overwhelming presence of previous pets (i assume from the carpet) prevailed and ruined our stay. I highly suggest ripping those old nasty carpet out and replacing with linoleum or something easy to clean and disinfect. It's time!

Big Bear Blvd Big Bear Lake CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Private beach
  • Outdoor pool

Located within a 5-minute walk of Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain, Big Bear Frontier is within a 15-minute stroll of Big Bear Marina. This 3-star hotel has 57 guestrooms and offers a private beach, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Rooms

All 57 rooms provide fireplaces, microwaves, and refrigerators. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, ceiling fans, and safes are also available.


Property features

Guests staying at Big Bear Frontier enjoy access to a private beach, an outdoor pool, and a spa tub. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. A multilingual staff is on hand to help secure valuables, and offer sightseeing advice. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, coffee/tea in a common area, and barbecue grills.

Room options

Cabin

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Cabin, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Studio With Whirlpool

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Big Bear Frontier

Everyone (17) Couples (8) Family (12)
5
Partner Couples

We enjoyed the private cabin. It was close to the lake and village.

By on Nov 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2021

Thank you for your great review, Eric. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!

3
Everyone

The location was great and the bed was very comfy, but my in suite jacuzzi was broken and the carpets looked like they had not been vacuumed.

By on Aug 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2021

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay with us. Our management team will be sure to investigate the whirlpool tub further. Please know that we have been cleaning rooms according to CDC recommendations and with EPA-approved cleaning supplies; additionally, all floors are cleaned between guests. Our management team will discuss your concerns regarding the carpet with our cleaning staff. We hope you will consider giving us another try in the future.

1
Partner Couples

The western look was great Carpets was dirty looking and the whirlpool was dirty and the handles leaked and the shower had no pressure and the outside on porch need to be cleaned.and the umbrella on porch all torn .lots of flying bugs around whirlpool.

By on Jun 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2021

We apologize that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. Please know that our cleaning staff has been thoroughly cleaning rooms according to CDC recommendations. However, our management team will be addressing your concerns here with them. We will also investigate further the problems you have experienced with the water pressure and insects. Our apologies again for your stay; we hope you will consider giving us another try in the future.

2
Partner Couples

No A/C! So hot had to leave door and windows open all night. So did neighbors who wern't noisey, just doing their thing but I didn't want to hear it. Office staff knew nothing about the areaI asked where is good to eat they said Sizzler. So dissapointed. No DVD to rent as advertised, Cars parked so close to basketball that we did not want to play, Cornhole was dirty! WON'T go back!

By on Jun 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2021

We greatly appreciate your review and feedback and apologize your stay at the Frontier was unsatisfactory. The Frontier is undergoing a few renovations, which will include adding A/C to rooms. Due to our current COVID policy listed on our website, the video and book library are unfortunately unavailable. Our apologies again for your stay; we hope you will consider giving us another try in the future.

4
Everyone

By on Jun 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2021

Thank you for the rating! We hope to welcome you back to the Frontier soon!

5
Friends

Great location, comfy and super clean

By on May 23, 2021

Review comment responded on May 24, 2021

We greatly appreciate the stellar review! We hope to welcome you back to the Frontier soon!

4
Partner Couples

Cabin 22 was good except for the heater which smelled like gas when turned on. Additionally, the shower’s floor was extremely cracked. Other than that the jet tub was great and the fire place was good.

By on Apr 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2021

Thank you for the great review and feedback! We will be sure to investigate the smell coming from the heater as well as the shower floor. We hope to welcome you back to the Frontier soon!

4
Family with small children

Great location. It’s very close to the village, restaurants, activities, and right on the lake. They were doing renovations directly outside of our room which was not ideal for hanging out/relaxing on the patio area, but my kids enjoyed watching. The rooms are clean, fresh towels and bedding. They had everything we needed including pots, pans, cooking utensils, a coffee pot, a toaster, etc. Our fireplace didn’t work so that was disappointing. Overall, it was a nice stay though and our second time here. We would stay again simply because of the location and the in-room jacuzzi.

By on Apr 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2021

We appreciate your review and feedback! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

5
Family

Beautiful view of the lake & Great location!

By on Mar 31, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2021

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Frontier. We hope to see you again soon!

5
Family

Charming cabin with lovely view of lake. Lots of blue jays, squirrels, and ducks to watch and enjoy

By on Mar 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 29, 2021

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the view of the lake and the atmosphere of the property. We hope to welcome you back soon!

url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Big-Bear-Lake-Hotels-Big-Bear-Frontier.h521927-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Big-Bear-Lake-Hotels-Big-Bear-Frontier.h521927-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Big-Bear-Lake-Hotels-Big-Bear-Frontier.h521927-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions