Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It was ok,

Liked ot all.

This is a great motel. The design is lovely, it’s set up comfortably w a couch and table besides the bed, the heating system worked really welll, the tv actually had hbo and other watchable stations, bed comfortabke allow pets organic hair and body products good mex restaurant attached the lobby coffee was strong. . Yeahhh. 5 stars

Very kind and professional front desk. Accommodating with an early check in. Bedrooms were clean and facility was quite.

It is an older hotel but nicely kept. It didn’t feel dirty and was undergoing a paint job, so they are trying to keep it up to date. Rooms nice enough for a couple nights.

I will stay again if needed. Just didn't like the stairs and no bottled water in the room.

I went to check-in and while they were processing I used the lobby restroom. It was filthy and full of flies. I immediately went to the front desk and asked for my card back and to cancel my reservation. I told him his facility was unfit for guests and disgusting. He said proudly, "you booked through Orbitz so we will not issue a refund and you might as well stay here" I then called Orbitz and the customer service rep said he couldn't issue a refund. I will not be using your services again.

The free breakfast was outstanding, the service friendly. Call the hotel for directions navigation brought us to the rear of the property.

There was only one bar of soap (would have liked a second one for the shower). The floor wasn't the cleanest (my feet got dirty walking from the shower to the bedroom where my clothing was), and the sliding door/window to the parking lot was dirty on the outside. Overall, the property is starting to show its age. Good location, however.

The rooms are modern and clean but the building is very old. Everytime someone flushes the toilet it sounds like Chewy from Stat Wars.

Hotel was nice as we had stayed there last year and enjoyed the room as well as the breakfast in the cafe. The only reason we were dissatisfied with our stay this time was the fact that we got charged $219 that was after we had prepaid for the room. The woman who checked us in didn't alert us to this charge it was only when we went to pay for something at a store our card was declined. The staff the next morning told us that the charge would go back into our card yet we were still out the money and an overdraft fee. Would have been nice to have known the charge was going to happen. Other then that we were happy with our room and time at this hotel.

There was a big bug in the room we were given, but we notified the concierge and we were given a second room in exchange. In the second room, the coffee maker was missing a piece of the coffee basket where you put the coffee, so we were unable to make coffee.

Bad neighborhood— restroom I needed to use was awful... we did not stay

Great hotel. Very convenient, was walking distance to rabobank arena. The only bad this was housekeeping didn't knock the door prior to come in.

We used to stay here years ago and really like it then but since then they have really improved the property and the rooms are now very well decorated and equipped. The reason we stopped staying before is that the restaurant when it was "The Garden of Eatin", could almost be called a gourmet restaurant--it had excellent food and served beer and good wine and we went out of our way to make Beaver a stop on all of our trips down south--just to eat at the restaurant. If I remember right, they even served cocktails. Then it got sold or something and it went downhill. They stopped serving the alcohol and the food went way down in quality at the same time. It looks like they have new owners now as they have tried to increase the quality of the food but they still aren't at the level as before and they still don't have wine. I would probably stay at the hotel again but not sure if I would eat at the restaurant again.

I really liked it. Has all the amenities and good food at complimentary breakfast and reasonably priced dinner. Is located right in front of lovely river park which you won't notice right off, but once you find it, it is very beautiful and peaceful. Amtrak station is right across the street, so if you are travelling that way very handy. Also near a nice library and some nice historic buildings. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Great place to stay!

It was a quick trip for business purposes, but the hotel was located very close to the government offices we needed, so it made efficient use of our time. A bit out of the way if you want shopping or entertainment. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Great location near Amtrak station and downtown, yet set in a quiet part of town. Nice city park located just steps away from the hotel with paths, a flowing creek, and nice places to sit and relax.

I am a female that was traveling for business. I ended up leaving the hotel to stay somewhere else. It is incredibly shady I felt unsafe. People were smoking weed. The room smelled like cleaner so much that I had a headache after just an hour. The printer did not work. There were bugs in the hallway. No elevator. Awful experience would not recommend.

Pleasant hotel to stay at for concert. Close proximity to event. Problems with key opening door, but other than that enjoyable.

Truxtun Ave Bakersfield CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Mechanics Bank Arena
  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Downtown Bakersfield, Best Western Plus Hill House is within a 5-minute walk of Mechanics Bank Arena and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Bakersfield Museum of Art. This 97-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free full breakfast is included with your stay. In addition to a meal at the onsite restaurant, you can also enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

Best Western Plus Hill House's 97 rooms provide MP3 docks, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free newspapers, free local calls, and safes.


Property features

Guests of Best Western Plus Hill House have access to an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, express check-in, and free newspapers.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Business Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Hill House

Everyone (8) Couples (10) Business (4) Family (11) Other (1) Friends (1)
3
Family with small children

It was ok,

By on Jul 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review and rating of 3 out of 5. Kindly give us some opinion, which can be useful for us to improve our hotel service from 3 to 5. We appreciate your feedback!. Hope you will visit us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

5
Everyone

Liked ot all.

By on Jun 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 8, 2021

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways. We focus on offering a guest experience that will satisfy a wide range of travelers. When you’re in the area again, I hope you will make us your first choice. We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay that you’re sure to like again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

5
Business Business

This is a great motel. The design is lovely, it’s set up comfortably w a couch and table besides the bed, the heating system worked really welll, the tv actually had hbo and other watchable stations, bed comfortabke allow pets organic hair and body products good mex restaurant attached the lobby coffee was strong. . Yeahhh. 5 stars

By on Feb 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5-Star rating. We strive for 100 % guest satisfaction, and I’m very glad you were so satisfied. We believe to provide a great combination of comfort, convenience, amenities, and value to our guests and clearly, you agree. I hope that if your travels bring you to this area again you will stay with us. Serving guests like you make being in this business a true pleasure. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

5
Friends

Very kind and professional front desk. Accommodating with an early check in. Bedrooms were clean and facility was quite.

By , from Truxtun Ave Bakersfield Ca on Oct 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 6, 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Making you happy makes us happy! We are glad we met your expectations in all aspects, as we truly love to deliver exceptional customer service to each and every guest. Your compliments serve as an encouragement to all of us! Thanks again for making our day! We look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

5
Family Family

It is an older hotel but nicely kept. It didn’t feel dirty and was undergoing a paint job, so they are trying to keep it up to date. Rooms nice enough for a couple nights.

By , from Oceano, Ca on Mar 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 19, 2020

Dear Kristin, Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Hill House. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. We are looking to improve our overall services still better. Definitely we are improving a lot and we look forward for your next stay. Regards Hotel Manager.

4
Partner Couples Business Business

I will stay again if needed. Just didn't like the stairs and no bottled water in the room.

By on Mar 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and would stay with us again, and I hope you have the opportunity to do that soon. I apologize that you didn't like the stairs and the bottled water we didn't provide and that didn't fully meet your needs, and we'll take your feedback into consideration as we change and improve. We take pride in providing easy access to the airport and will do what's necessary to meet all guest needs in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

1
Business Business

I went to check-in and while they were processing I used the lobby restroom. It was filthy and full of flies. I immediately went to the front desk and asked for my card back and to cancel my reservation. I told him his facility was unfit for guests and disgusting. He said proudly, "you booked through Orbitz so we will not issue a refund and you might as well stay here" I then called Orbitz and the customer service rep said he couldn't issue a refund. I will not be using your services again.

By , from Ca on Mar 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2020

Dear John, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. We'd certainly regret to have lost you as our guest due to this unfortunate incident. I'm sorry to hear that you had a problem with getting a refund when you weren't satisfied because you booked through a third party. We always recommend booking directly with us to avoid these kinds of hassles. I'm sorry the room we provided did not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. When you book directly, we have complete flexibility to meet your needs in the best ways possible. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

5
Everyone

The free breakfast was outstanding, the service friendly. Call the hotel for directions navigation brought us to the rear of the property.

By on Jul 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

Thank you for your feedback!

3
Family Family

There was only one bar of soap (would have liked a second one for the shower). The floor wasn't the cleanest (my feet got dirty walking from the shower to the bedroom where my clothing was), and the sliding door/window to the parking lot was dirty on the outside. Overall, the property is starting to show its age. Good location, however.

By on Jun 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

We thank you for your feedback as we continue to strive for the very best in customer care. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

4
Partner Couples

The rooms are modern and clean but the building is very old. Everytime someone flushes the toilet it sounds like Chewy from Stat Wars.

By on May 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2019

Thank you for staying with us!

Best Western Plus Hill House

700 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Bakersfield-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Hill-House.h7588-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Bakersfield-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Hill-House.h7588-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Bakersfield-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Hill-House.h7588-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions