Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This has to be one of the worst experiences I’ve had at a hotel. From hallways full of trash for entire days, the stairwells full of trash and smelling bad, my room wasn’t ready until after 4pm, there are people living in their cars in the hotel parking lot. Do not stay here.

The rooms smelled stale. The stairwell trash cans were overflowing and smelled bad.

Would not recommend this hotel. Though low priced and well located, it was filthy. Floors sticky and room musty.

The receptionist named Mr. Young was great! He was very resourceful and welcoming.

When we checked in we were suppose to have two rooms. The hotel said Orbitz only booked one, in any case we paid 323.00 for the second room that was suppose to be 180.00

This place is a dump. Terrible rooms. Zero amenities. No maid service. Located next to an interstate that sounds like the trucks are coming in your windows. Upon check in, no remote control for TV. Given two “replacements” neither of which worked. Had to switch rooms to have an operable TV. Sounds like a hotel experience in Mexico.... only worse. And for all this luxury, a room rate like Ritz Carlton. They would have to pay me to ever stay here again. We won’t be back. Ever.

Fine except had to go ask for a hair dryer. Was only there from 11 pm to 7:30 am.

We noticed a dark stain under our sheet. When we pulled the sheet back we found a filthy mattress cover. It looked to be covered in urine and blood. We were moved to another room, but checked out first thing in the morning to find another hotel because I was too grossed out to stay any longer. In addition, the front desk is left unoccupied frequently. Our room key did not work so I went to the front desk to ask for a new key. I rang the bell a few times and no one came to the desk. Finally I started calling the hotel and it woke up the clerk who was sleeping in the side office. She came out to help us. The next morning when I spoke with the manager, he was very nice and gave me a full refund with no cancellation charge.

The internet didn't work and the staff didn't seem to know what they were doing. Big kitchen but not one cup, plate or utensil?

Hotel was hot and noisy and desk clerk was too busy to be working alone. No amenities for kitchen or room were actually in the room, you had to ask for everything at the desk. Dishes, pillows, towels, etc. Rooms are not cleaned during your stay, but you can request it for a fee. I have never heard of that. Overall stayed one night and left to another hotel for the next 3 nights. also, the lobby smelled like cleaning solution in check in, and the continental breakfast and coffee was unacceptable.

Staff was not available most of the time. They didn't seem to know how to handle things. It was freezing in the hallway. No Coffee was made by 7:30 on Fri morning. Microwave was filthy.

I simply needed a one night stay to rest my head. I choose this hotel because it was the most inexpensive in the area I was searching for. I was impressed that in addition to the standard bed, tv, and bathroom with tub that all hotels offer, there was a fully functional kitchen with full sized fridge and freezer, sink, cabinets, stove and any dishes or utensils that may be needed along with a small table and chairs. The room was clean and my sleep was extremely comfortable. The hotel staff was average- not horrible or excellent, but I only had to interact with them twice- during check in and check out. Also this hotel is located in a large circle surrounding a mall and many restaurants so food and shopping are all within walking distance. Overall great price for space if you're just looking for a comfortable place to sleep.

A pretty average place in all aspects. They were a little skimpy on their "breakfast" and had some shady characters hovering around the front desk area at night. The staff was very nice. Everything was pretty clean.

We waited too late to book a hotel in Ann Arbor for a football weekend, and had no choice but the Extended Stay - next time we will simply look outside of Ann Arbor. Desk help was indifferent at best, except for Anthony who was very pleasant. Room was never cleaned though we asked for housekeeping and agreed to the additional $3/day for the service (yes, you have to pay extra for housekeeping.) Carperting throughout hotel was filthy, upholstered chair in room equally gross.

I enjoyed my stay here as it is located in a convenient spot. The staffs are friendly although not many on site. Internet connection fee is nothing. You should bring your own soap and shampoo. Cleaning is not included, but I think it is OK with this price. Avoid game days as the fee easily doubles.

good location completely offset by no frills atmosphere. Hard pillows and mattress, unexplained pipe noise in the middle of the night that woke us. Room smelled like cigarette smoke. Bathroom door would not close. At least it was close to campus.

I stayed at the ESA in Ann Arbor while shooting a wedding in the area. So I needed a place with some room to spread my gear out and that would be secure. That was fine with this hotel. However, it was the little things that were really missing here. They did not have shampoo, which was annoying. The room was not clean (hairs in bathroom, lint balls in the carpet, etc). The ironing board leg was bent (so it was very low) and the slip cover kept coming off. When I called, they could not help me. The iron kept randomly turning off, so ironing a shirt and pants took about an hour. Also, they charge for w-fi. Yeah, the same stuff you can get for free at McDonald's, Starbucks, SUPER 8, and Motel 6. I will not be staying here again.

Briarwood Cir Ann Arbor MI

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Bryant Pattengill West within a 15-minute walk of Briarwood Mall, Extended Stay America Suites Detroit Ann Arbor Briarwood Mal is within a few miles (5 km) of Michigan Stadium. This 112-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

All 112 air-conditioned accommodations feature kitchens and space to spread out with sitting areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are also standard. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Extended Stay America Suites Detroit Ann Arbor Briarwood Mal features free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Suites Detroit Ann Arbor Briarwood Mal

Everyone (10) Business (4) Couples (6) Family (5) Other (5) Friends (2)
1
Partner Couples

This has to be one of the worst experiences I’ve had at a hotel. From hallways full of trash for entire days, the stairwells full of trash and smelling bad, my room wasn’t ready until after 4pm, there are people living in their cars in the hotel parking lot. Do not stay here.

By on Aug 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2021

Good Morning Douglas, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Rest assured that your experience is not typical and we hope to welcome you back so that we may prove to provide excellent service and accommodations. Thank you letting us know where we can improve and I hope you have a great day.

3
Family

The rooms smelled stale. The stairwell trash cans were overflowing and smelled bad.

By on Jul 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2021

Thank you for sharing your concerns. We are disappointed to know you were unhappy with your stay. We apologize for the housekeeping issues that made for a less than pleasant experience. We will discuss your concerns with the Head of our Housekeeping Department to ensure we take corrective actions. We express our genuine apologies once more and hope you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

Would not recommend this hotel. Though low priced and well located, it was filthy. Floors sticky and room musty.

By , from Ann Arbor on Sep 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2020

Allison, thank you for your candid review. We sincerely apologize that your room was not serviced and cleaned to the level it should have been, and for the inconvenience we caused you. Please be assured your concerns have been communicated to our housekeeping director who will be addressing this with his team. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Business Business

The receptionist named Mr. Young was great! He was very resourceful and welcoming.

By on Oct 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 25, 2019

Thank you for posting your kind review of Extended Stay America. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We also appreciate your kind compliments about our staff member Young, and we will be sure to share your comments with him as he will be so pleased. Thank you also for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Everyone

By on Sep 3, 2019

3
Family

When we checked in we were suppose to have two rooms. The hotel said Orbitz only booked one, in any case we paid 323.00 for the second room that was suppose to be 180.00

By on Sep 2, 2019

1
Everyone

By on Nov 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 6, 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Your experience is not representative of our usual performance, and we regret falling short of your expectations. We hope you will consider staying with us again as we would love to provide you with an excellent experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

This place is a dump. Terrible rooms. Zero amenities. No maid service. Located next to an interstate that sounds like the trucks are coming in your windows. Upon check in, no remote control for TV. Given two “replacements” neither of which worked. Had to switch rooms to have an operable TV. Sounds like a hotel experience in Mexico.... only worse. And for all this luxury, a room rate like Ritz Carlton. They would have to pay me to ever stay here again. We won’t be back. Ever.

By , from Los Angeles on Nov 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2018

Bill, we apologize that you experienced so many difficulties while you were here. It is disappointing to know we couldn't deliver you with a perfect stay. Your comments are important to us, so they have been discussed with the concerned individuals' in an effort to improve our service and facilities moving forward. Please give us a chance to redeem ourselves on a future date. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

Fine except had to go ask for a hair dryer. Was only there from 11 pm to 7:30 am.

By on Sep 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 29, 2018

Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We are happy to know you had you a fantastic stay with us. On behalf of everyone here, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

dirty and uncomfortable

Everyone

We noticed a dark stain under our sheet. When we pulled the sheet back we found a filthy mattress cover. It looked to be covered in urine and blood. We were moved to another room, but checked out first thing in the morning to find another hotel because I was too grossed out to stay any longer. In addition, the front desk is left unoccupied frequently. Our room key did not work so I went to the front desk to ask for a new key. I rang the bell a few times and no one came to the desk. Finally I started calling the hotel and it woke up the clerk who was sleeping in the side office. She came out to help us. The next morning when I spoke with the manager, he was very nice and gave me a full refund with no cancellation charge.

By , from California on Nov 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 29, 2017

Please accept our sincere apologies for the cleanliness issue in your previous room and the lack of attention from our team at the front desk. Your feedback is important so it is discussed with the concerned teams as a training tool to improve our service and to ensure this does not happen again. We understand the frustration and truly hope you will offer us another opportunity to serve you much better at a future date. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America Suites Detroit Ann Arbor Briarwood Mal

1501 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
url importing http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Ann-Arbor-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Detroit-Ann-Arbor-Briarwood-Mal.h64259-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Ann-Arbor-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Detroit-Ann-Arbor-Briarwood-Mal.h64259-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://sso-opn.orbitz.com/Ann-Arbor-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Detroit-Ann-Arbor-Briarwood-Mal.h64259-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions